Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Certificate of Mortuary School Education

No Examinations

No Experience Requirement

3 Hours of Continuing Education

$50.00 Initial Fee

No Renewal Fee

Any person operating under or with a funeral director for the purpose of learning the profession, to the end that they may become a licensed funeral director.

Degree Requirement: 

Certificate of Mortuary School Education - A certificate of mortuary education from the school of mortuary science (a one year course at a mortuary college or university accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education) and a preprofessional certificate issued by the Department of Education.  To qualify as a resident intern, an applicant shall present satisfactory evidence of having completed college requirements, as a student trainee.


No examination requirement for licensure.


No experience requirement for licensure.

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 

Initial Licensing Fee: 

$ 50.00 - Annual registration for student intern..

Funeral Intern application fee - $25.

Preceptor application fee - $25.

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

Cannot renew intern license. 

Licensure by Act 41:

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.