Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Master's Degree

1 Examination

1,260 Hours of Experience

3 Hours of Continuing Education 

$50.00 Initial Fee

$65.00 Renewal Fee

Any person who is qualified by education, training and clinical experience and is licensed to engage in the practice of speech-language pathology. The practice of speech-language pathology involves the application of principles, methods and procedures of prevention, screening, consultation, identification, assessment and evaluation, determination of disorders and service delivery model, nonmedical treatment and intervention, counseling, collaboration and referral services for persons with known or suspected language, cognitive and linguistic, social, speech (resonance and voice, fluency and sound production), feeding and swallowing, orofacial disorders or communication disorders.

Degree Requirement:

Master's Degree or Higher
Applicants for a license as a Speech-Language Pathologist must possess a master's degree or higher in speech-language pathology from an academic program accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the State Board of Examiners in Speech Language Pathologist & Audiologists.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
Applicants for licensure must pass the Praxis examination in speech-language pathology as a requirement for licensure.


 1,260 Hours of Experience
The applicant shall begin the supervised professional experience within 4 years of conferral of the degree and shall complete no less than 1,260 hours in no less than 9 months, but no more than 2 years.

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 


20 Hours (when renewing license)

A speech-language pathologist or audiologist must complete 20 hours of continuing education per license during each preceding biennial renewal period. The 20 hours must include 2 hours of the mandated Act 31 child abuse reporter training.

Initial Licensing Fee: 


Licensure Renewal Fee:

 $65.00 Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Reciprocity & Licensure by Act 41:

To apply by reciprocity, an applicant must present proof of a currently valid license to practice speech-language pathology or audiology in a state which has standards determined by the board to be at least equal to those for licensure in this Commonwealth. 

To apply by waiver, an applicant must hold current ASHA (American Speech Language Hearing Association) certification. 

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.