Practitioner of Oriental Medicine Licensure Requirements Snapshot

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Master's Degree

1 Examination

No Experience Requirement

3 Hours of Continuing Education

$30.00 Initial Fee

$40.00 Renewal Fee

An acupuncturist who is licensed by the Board to use herbal therapy. Herbal therapy is the application of Chinese herbology to the treatment of acupuncture patients.

Degree Requirement: 

Master's Degree
An applicant must successfully complete an acupuncture education program that includes the study of Chinese herbology. 

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
An applicant must pass the National Certification Commission For Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine

(NCCAOM) examination component on Chinese herbology.


No Experience requirement for licensure. 

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 


2 Hours (when renewing license)

As a condition of biennial renewal, 2 hours of training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting must be completed.

Initial Licensing Fee: 


Licensure Renewal Fee: 

Biennial renewal of license

Licensure by Act 41:

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.