Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Basic Real Estate Courses

2 Examinations

No Experience Requirement

14 Hours of Continuing Education (when renewing license)

$97.00 Initial Fee

$96.00 Renewal Fee

A licensed individual who sells or offers to sell real estate, or list real estate for sale under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker. 

Degree Requirement:

Basic Real Estate Courses

Applicant must be a high school graduate or equivalent.  Additionally, an applicant must complete 75 hours (5 credits) of basic real estate courses from an accredited college or an approved real estate education provider. The applicant must be 18 years of age or older.

A candidate with a Juris Doctor degree, bachelor's degree in real estate, or a bachelor's degree that included coursework equivalent to a major in real estate will be deemed to have met the education requirement.

Examination Requirement: 

2 Examination

A candidate for licensure must score a passing grade on each part of the salesperson's licensing examination (National and PA State) within 3 years prior to the submission of a properly completed license application.

An applicant who has been actively licensed as a broker or salesperson by another state within the last five years shall take and pass only the Pennsylvania portion of the examination. A reciprocal licensee who is converting that license to a standard broker's license is only required to pass the state portion of the examination.


No experience required for licensure. 

Continuing Education:

 14 Hours (when renewing license)

A broker or salesperson holding a standard license who desires to renew a current license shall complete 14 hours of Commission-approved continuing education during the preceding 2-year license period. Completion of continuing education is not required for inital license. 

Initial Licensing Fee:


Includes $72.00 licensure fee and a $25.00 application fee 

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Reciprocity & Licensure by Act 41:

Any person who holds a current license to provide real estate services as a salesperson or broker issued by another state and whose principal place of business for the provision of those services is outside of this Commonwealth may be issued a reciprocal license under the Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act.

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories, or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.