Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

High School Graduate and Professional Real Estate Courses

2 Examinations

3 Years of Experience

14 Hours of Continuing Education (when renewing license)

$169.50 Initial Fee

$126.00 Renewal Fee

Brokers negotiate with or aids a person in locating or obtaining for purchase, lease or acquisition of interest in real estate. Negotiate the listing, sale, purchase, exchange, lease, timeshare and similarly designated interests, financing or option for real estate and manage real estate.

Degree Requirement: 

High School Graduate and Professional Real Estate Courses

A candidate must be a high school graduate or equivalent and must be 21 years of age or older. In addition, the candidate must have acquired 16 credits, or 240 hours of instruction, in professional real estate education as determined by the State Real Estate Commission. 

A candidate with a Juris Doctor degree, bachelor's degree in real estate, or a bachelor's degree that included coursework equivalent to a major in real estate will be deemed to have met the education requirement.

Examination Requirement: 

2 Examinations

A candidate for licensure must pass both portions of the Broker Examination (National and PA State). 

An applicant who has been actively licensed as a broker by another state within the last five years shall take and pass only the Pennsylvania portion of the examination. A reciprocal licensee who is converting that license to a standard broker’s license is only required to pass the state portion of the examination.


3 Years
Candidates shall have been engaged as a license real estate salesperson for at least three years or possess equivalent educational or experience qualifications which the Commission deems to be equivalent.

Continuing Education: 

14 Hours (when renewing license)
A Real Estate broker holding a standard license who desires to renew a current license shall complete 14 hours of Commission-approved continuing education during the preceding 2-year license period. Completion of continuing education is not required for inital license. 

Initial Licensing Fee: 

Application and license fees vary based on the type of license: 

Broker Sole-Proprietor = $169.50

Broker Corporation, LLC, or Partnership = $179.50

Broker Multi-licensee (Broker of Record) = $119.50

Associate Broker = $97.00 

Broker Examination Fee = $40.00 


Licensure Renewal Fee:

Biennial renewal of license for Broker Sole-Proprietor, Broker Corporation, LLC, or Partnership, and Broker Multi-Licensee (Broker of Record) 

Associate Broker

Licensure by Reciprocity & Licensure by Act 41:

Any person who holds a current license to provide real estate services issued by another state and whose principal place of business for the provision of those services is outside of this Commonwealth may be issued a reciprocal license under the Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act. 

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories, or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.