Certified Nurse Midwife Licensure Requirements Snapshot

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Completion of an approved Midwifery Program

1 Examination

No Experience Requirement

3 Hours of Continuing Education


$50.00 Initial Fee

$40.00 Renewal Fee

A nurse licensed by the State Board of Medicine to practice midwifery. The practice involves the management of care of essentially normal women and their normal neonates. This includes antepartum, intrapartum, postpartum and non-surgically related gynecological care. A Certified Nurse Midwife must be licensed as a registered nurse in this Commonwealth. 

Degree Requirement: 

Completion of an approved Midwifery Program
Applicants must have successfully completed a midwife program which has been approved by the Board or by an accrediting body recognized by the Board.  The Board recognizes the American College of Nurse-Midwives and the American Commission for Midwifery Education or their successor organization as an accrediting body of programs of study in midwifery.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
An examination offered or recognized by the Board to test whether an individual has accumulated sufficient academic knowledge with respect to the practice of midwifery to qualify for a nurse-midwife license. The Board recognizes as midwife examinations the certifying examinations of the American College of Nurse-
Midwives (ACNM), the ACNM Certification Council, Inc. (ACC), and AMCB, or their successor organizations.

Experience Requirement: 

No Experience Requirement
No experience requirement for licensure.

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 


30 Hours (for renewal of license)

30 hours of continuing education required for licensure renewal. 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.

Initial Licensing Fee: 

Application for nurse-midwife license (includes one collaborative agreement).

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Act 41:

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.