Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Bachelor's Degree

1 Examination

3,800 Hours of Experience

3 Hours of Continuing Education

$50.00 Initial Fee

$75.00 Renewal Fee

An individual who is licensed by the State Board of Medicine to practice orthotics. Orthotics is the practice of evaluating, measuring, designing, fabricating, assembling, fitting, adjusting or servicing an orthosis for the correction or alleviation of neuromuscular or musculoskeletal dysfunction, disease, injury or deformity pursuant to a written prescription of a licensed prescribing practitioner.

Degree Requirement: 

Bachelor's Degree

Applicant must hold a bachelor's degree, post-baccalaureate certificate or higher degree from a Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) accredited education program with a major in orthotics or prosthetics/orthotics.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
An applicant must receive a passing grade on the national certification examination and provide proof that they have met the qualifications and have received certification from the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics & Pedorthics (ABC) or, the Board of Certification/Accreditation (BOC).


3,800 Hours
The applicant must complete a minimum of 3,800 hours of experience in providing direct patient care services in orthotics or in prosthetics and orthotics over a 2-year period.

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 


24 Hours (when renewing license) 

As a condition for biennial renewal, an orthotist shall complete at least 24 hours of ABC-approved or BOC-approved continuing education applicable to the practice of orthotics. 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.

Initial Licensing Fee: 


Licensure Renewal Fee: 

Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Credentials & Licensure By Act 41:

An applicant must hold current certification as an orthotist, or as a prosthetist and orthotist, from ABC, BOC or another orthotic credentialing organization approved by the Board. An applicant shall demonstrate this requirement by having the organization send verification of certification directly to the Board.

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.