Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Doctoral Degree of Chiropractic

1 Examination

4,000 Hours of Classroom & Laboratory Instruction

3 Continuing Education Hours Required

$105.00 Initial Fee

$225.00 Renewal Fee

A licensed practitioner of chiropractic. Chiropractic is a branch of the healing arts dealing with the relationship between the articulations of the vertebral column, as well as other articulations, and the neuro-musculoskeletal system and the role of these relationships in the restoration and maintenance of health.

Degree Requirement: 

Doctoral Degree of Chiropractic - An applicant must have graduated from an approved chiropractic college.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination - An applicant must pass parts I, II, III, & IV of the National Board Examination.


4,000 Hours of Classroom and Laboratory Instruction- An applicant for licensure must graduate from an approved college of chiropractic, with successful completion of not less than the minimum number of hours of classroom and laboratory instruction required by regulation of the board, which minimum shall be at least 4,000 hours.

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 

24 Hours Required (when renewing license)

All licensees will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education within the two-year period before the renewal period. A licensee is not required to complete continuing education during the biennium in which the licensee is first licensed. 

Initial Licensing Fee: 


Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$225.00 Biennial renewal of license

Licensure by Reciprocity & Licensure by Act 41:

The board may grant licenses without further examination to individuals from other states and provinces of Canada if all of the following conditions are met: (1) The standards for licensing in such states or provinces are substantially the same as those provided in this act. (2) Similar privileges are accorded persons licensed in this Commonwealth. (3) The applicants hold valid licenses. (4) The applicable rules and regulations prescribed by the board are complied with. 

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.