Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Associate or Bachelor's Degree

1 Examination

Clinical Experience Required

16 Hours of Continuing Education (when renewing license)

$35.00 Initial Fee

$100.00 Renewal Fee

Technicians perform medical tests under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian to assist in diagnosing the injuries and illnesses of animals.

Degree Requirement: 

Associates or Bachelor's Degree in Veterinary Technology
In general, veterinary technicians obtain 2-4 years of post-high school education and have an Associate's or Bachelor's degree in veterinary technology. Evidence of graduation from an approved school or college of veterinary technology sent directly from the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited program.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
Applicant must pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE)

Experience Requirement: 

Clinical Experience
A period of clinical experience in a veterinary practice is required for all students in an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program.

Continuing Education Requirement: 

16 Hours (when renewing license)
16 hours of continuing education required for each biennial license renewal. Completion of continuing education is not required for inital license. 

Initial Licensing Fee: 


Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$100.00 Biennial renewal of license

Certification By Endorsement & Licensure by Act 41:

An applicant for certification as an veterinary technician by endorsement shall complete and file with the Board an application for certification by endorsement on forms prescribed by the Board.

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.