Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements

Master's Degree


1 Examination

No Experience Requirement

3 Hours of Continuing Education

$50.00 Initial Fee

$75.00 Renewal Fee

An individual who is licensed to practice genetic counseling by the State Board of Medicine. Genetic counseling is the counseling of individuals with established or potential genetic problems, concerned with inheritance patterns and risks to future offspring.

Degree Requirement: 

Master's Degree
An applicant must hold a master's degree or doctoral degree in human genetics or genetic counseling from an American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC)-accredited or American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG)accredited educational program or has met the requirements for certification by the ABGC or the ABMG.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Exam
An applicant must pass the examination for certification as a genetic counselor by the ABGC or the ABMG or has passed the examination for certification as a Ph.D. medical geneticist by the ABMG.


No Experience Requirement for licensure

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 


30 Hours (when renewing license)

30 hours of continuing education for licensure renewal. 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.

Initial Licensing Fee: 


Licensure Renewal Fee: 

Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Act 41:

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.