Pennsylvania State Police Near Closing of Cadet Application Cycle With No College Credits Required, Average Number of Eligible Applications Per Month Increased 240 Percent

PSP continues to see an increased number of cadet applications after removing the college degree requirement to expand opportunities for Pennsylvania workers – and encourages Pennsylvanians interested in serving to apply for the current cadet application cycle before tonight's deadline.

Harrisburg, PA – The Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) reminds individuals wishing to serve as state troopers that the current cadet application cycle – with no college credit requirement - ends today, October 24. Those wishing to participate in this cycle should complete an application now at  

"We eliminated the college credit requirement on a trial basis for this period of cadet applications to expand opportunities for a rewarding career as a state trooper," said Colonel Christopher Paris, Commissioner of the State Police. "This will help us attract quality talent for the comprehensive and rigorous training that prepares cadets for a place among our ranks."

The PSP received a total of 1,545 eligible applications for the Academy since college credit requirements were removed on August 28. In comparison, 1,374 eligible applications were received during the previous hiring cycle, which was open for a full six months. (The current two-month cycle allows cadets to graduate in the current fiscal year.) During this current cycle, PSP received an average of 779 eligible applications per month, compared to only 229 eligible applications during the previous cycle – representing a 240 percent increase.

Of those who applied, 659 applicants hold a high school diploma or equivalent and previously would not have been eligible.

The change to the college credit requirement will be re-evaluated pending the results of multiple application cycles.

Cadet applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED certificate and a valid driver's license from any state. Applicants must be at least 20 years old at the time of application, and they must be at least 21 years old and cannot have reached age 40 upon entry into the training academy. Cadets must be a Pennsylvania resident and possess a valid Pennsylvania driver's license at the time of graduation.

Applicants who meet all eligibility requirements move on to a qualifying written examination. Applicants who pass the qualifying exam must have a polygraph examination, background investigation, physical readiness test, medical screening, and psychological screening before training at the academy.

Cadet training lasts approximately 28 weeks. The paramilitary-style training includes coursework in Pennsylvania's crimes and vehicle codes, law enforcement principles and practices, firearms and special equipment training, and physical fitness activities.

Upon completion of the training academy, cadets are promoted to trooper and receive an increase in salary, currently set at $66,911 annually.

Governor Josh Shapiro, on his first full day in office, announced that 92 percent of state government jobs - about 65,000 positions - do not require a four-year college degree. Governor Shapiro also ordered all state agencies under his jurisdiction to take steps to emphasize work experience in their hiring.

For more information on becoming a Pennsylvania State Police trooper, visit

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit

# # #

Media Contacts

Adam Reed

State Police Media

Myles Snyder

State Police Media