A native of Pittsburgh, Khadija T. Diggs, Esq., received her Bachelor of Arts Degree in Psychology, with honors, from Fisk University in Nashville, Tennessee, and earned her Juris Doctorate from Howard University School of Law in Washington, D.C. Ms. Diggs has worked in various facets of the criminal justice system. She began her legal career with the Allegheny County Office of the Public Defender and moved to the position of Assistant City Solicitor in the City of Pittsburgh Law Department, during which time she also served as the Acting Police Legal Advisor for the City of Pittsburgh Police Department. Ms. Diggs was the Project Coordinator for the implementation phase of YouthWorks’ "BluePrint" a very successful and innovative juvenile offender reentry demonstration project in Pittsburgh with a $3 million-dollar budget funded by the Federal Department of Labor. Her legal career continued to advance as an Assistant Federal Public Defender in the Western District of Pennsylvania and then as a Deputy Public Defender in Allegheny County. Beginning in 2005, until her appointment to the Board, Ms. Diggs served as a member of the Pennsylvania Interbranch Commission for Gender, Racial and Ethnic Fairness and chaired the Criminal Justice Committee, which among other matters, has had initiatives focused on: the death penalty in Pennsylvania, overhauling the public defender system in Pennsylvania, reviewing the sentencing and re-sentencing of life without parole for juveniles, automating expungement of juvenile delinquency records, expanding “ban the box,” and student loan forgiveness for public interest attorneys. After a brief solo practice, Ms. Diggs became the Deputy Director for the Southwest Regional Office of Pennsylvania Governor Tom Wolf. Leading up to her appointment as a Parole Board Member, Ms. Diggs was an Assistant Counsel in the Governor’s Office of General Counsel, with a focus on Corrections, Probation and Parole. After her nomination by Governor Wolf to become a Parole Board Member, Ms. Diggs was unanimously confirmed by the State Senate on May 13, 2020, to serve a six-year term.