Freedom to Choose

Accessing Abortion Care in Pennsylvania

You have the right to choose in Pennsylvania. 


You have the Right to Choose in Pennsylvania

Abortion is legal in Pennsylvania, no matter if you live here or if you are traveling from another state seeking care. 

Despite actions in other states or in federal courts taking away reproductive freedoms, Pennsylvania’s laws empower women to make decisions over their own bodies — and as Attorney General, Governor Shapiro went to court time and time again to keep it that way.

Now, as Governor, he’s working to expand access to care and ensure reproductive health care decisions can be made between patients and doctors, not politicians. Under Governor Shapiro’s leadership, Pennsylvania is part of a nationwide Reproductive Freedom Alliance to safeguard abortion access and protect abortion providers. Providers and out-of-state patients are also protected by our Commonwealth’s executive order ensuring that out-of-state patients seeking abortion care in Pennsylvania can do so without fear of being arrested or detained at the request of another state.

Patients seeking an abortion will always be protected here in Pennsylvania under the Shapiro Davis Administration — and you have options on how to receive the best care for you and how to pay for it. 



Abortion is Legal in Pennsylvania

Abortion remains safe, accessible, and legal in the Commonwealth. The U.S. Supreme Court’s decision overturning Roe v. Wade does not change residents’ and non-residents’ right to access abortion services in Pennsylvania. Under Pennsylvania law, abortions are legal through the end of the 23rd week of pregnancy, and can occur after that time when the health of the pregnant woman is in danger. Both procedural and medication abortions are still legal in Pennsylvania. Further information on Pennsylvania’s abortion law can be found here

Medication Abortion

Medication abortion is often known as the “abortion pill” and is often an option up to 10 or 11 weeks of pregnancy. The abortion pill often uses two medications, mifepristone and misoprostol, usually taken around 24-48 hours apart. You can take the medication in a clinic or at home, and your health care provider will give you detailed instructions on how to take the medication.

For more information, review Pennsylvania’s Department of Health’s website.  

Young people under the age of 18 require parental consent or court approval through a judicial bypass process to get an abortion in Pennsylvania.  


In-Clinic Procedure Abortion

In-clinic abortion is a medical procedure in a medical clinic or hospital. The kind of procedure you’ll need depends on your pregnancy stage, medical needs, and medical preferences.

Did the Texas Decision Impact Abortion Access?

On April 7, 2023, a federal judge of the Northern District of Texas reversed the Federal Drug Administration’s decades-long approval of abortion pill regimen of mifepristone followed by misoprostol. Medication abortions often use a two-step regime of mifepristone and misoprostol at abortion clinics, pharmacies, or through the mail.

Even with the ruling, medication abortion is still legal and available in Pennsylvania. You can receive a medication abortion at a licensed clinic. Your medical provider can discuss the best option for you.


Find a Provider

Many of the providers listed offer Telehealth appointments for abortion services. Review their website for more details. This map will update with additional providers as relevant.

Make your Plan

If you choose to have an abortion, you can follow these steps to find a health care provider that’s right for you

  1. Use the Pennsylvania abortion services finder to search for a provider near you.  
  2. Start planning how to pay for an abortion and if you need any other support services, such as transportation or child care.   
  3. After an abortion, reach out to your medical provider with concerns or questions for any appropriate aftercare.  


How to Pay

You have multiple options to help cover the cost of an abortion. 


Private Health Insurance

Some private health insurance plans cover the cost of an abortion. Check with your provider to verify insurance coverage and benefits related to abortion care.  

Pennsylvania Insurance Plans

In Pennsylvania, Medicaid (a.k.a. Medical Assistance) and plans purchased through the Affordable Care Act or Pennie – Pennsylvania’s insurance exchange marketplace – do not cover the cost of an abortion, except for cases of a pregnant person’s life endangerment, rape, or incest.  

Out-of-State Insurance Plans

Check with your insurance plan or provider to see if it will cover out-of-network reproductive healthcare services like abortion.

Help Paying for Abortion Costs

You can get help paying for an abortion, including other services such as transportation and lodging. Many providers and clinics offer sliding-scale payment or reduced costs. If you have issues paying for your abortion care, you can talk to your clinic about funding support in addition to support from the below organizations:  

Other Services

If you need other services, such as language support, judicial bypass support, or emotional support: 

Disclaimer: This website does not provide legal and medical advice. Its purpose is to provide information only.