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Use tax is the counterpart to sales tax and applies to purchases of 
taxable items and services when Pennsylvania sales tax was not paid.

Sales and Use Tax

How do I report and pay use tax?

Is Use Tax new?

What if use tax is not paid?
Why is use tax important?

If your business purchases items subject to sales tax for 
which the seller does not charge and collect sales tax on 
the invoice or receipt, your business is responsible for 
remitting the use tax directly to the PA Department of 
Revenue.

Use tax is often due when sales tax was underpaid or not 
paid on purchases made over the Internet, through toll-
free numbers (800, 888, 866 and 877), from mail order 
catalogs and from out-of-state locations. Use tax also 
applies to purchases of taxable items and services used in 
Pennsylvania when sales tax was not paid. The use tax rate 
is the same as the sales tax rate: 6 percent state, with an 
additional 1 percent local tax for items purchased or used 
in Allegheny County. Two percent local tax applies to items 
purchased or first used in Philadelphia on or after Oct. 8, 
2009. Prior to Oct. 8, 2009, the Philadelphia local tax was 
1 percent. 

Any business that incurs use tax liabilities on a regular 
basis is encouraged to register for a sales/use tax account 
number by completing the Pennsylvania Online Business 
Tax Registration at mypath.pa.gov. Businesses currently 
registered for the collection of sales tax are required to 
report and remit use tax liabilities when filing sales and 
use tax returns. Use tax is reported on line 6 of the sales 
and use tax return. Sales and use tax returns are filed via 
myPATH at mypath.pa.gov.

All other use tax liabilities can be reported via 
the department’s Online PA-1 Use Tax Return at 
mypath.pa.gov. Liabilities are due, along with the payment 
of tax on or before the 20th day of the month after the 
month in which the purchase was made. 

No. Pennsylvania first imposed use tax in 1953. All states 
that impose sales tax also impose use tax. 

The department identifies businesses that owe use 
tax through routine audits, self-assessment programs, 
complaints, investigations and lists of out-of-state 
purchases from vendors and other states. The department 
can also identify businesses that report minimal amounts 
of use tax. Underreporting of use tax can trigger an audit 
by the department.

The PA Department of Revenue may issue an assessment 
for a use tax liability, on which both penalty and interest 
charges may be imposed. These additional charges can 
exceed 30 percent of the tax amount. 

Use tax is an important source of revenue for the 
Pennsylvania General Fund. Every dollar collected is a 
dollar available for government and public services. Equally 
as important, uniform collection and enforcement of use 
tax provides for fair competition between out-of-state 
and Pennsylvania-based businesses. Failure to pay use tax 
puts Pennsylvania businesses at a disadvantage against 
out-of-state businesses that do not charge sales tax. This 
disadvantage results in loss of sales for Pennsylvania 
businesses and potentially job loss for Pennsylvania 
residents. 
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USE TAX FOR BUSINESS

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Is there a credit for tax paid on an item 
in another state?

Yes. Pennsylvania grants a credit for sales tax paid to 
another state, provided the tax is legally due and paid, 
and that state offers reciprocal credit to Pennsylvania.  

For example, if a Pennsylvania business purchases and 
takes delivery of a taxable item in another state and pays 
a 5 percent sales tax there, the purchaser is responsible 
for reporting and remitting the 1 percent difference (use 
tax), due to Pennsylvania upon the use of the property in 
Pennsylvania.

Credit against use tax is not granted for value-added taxes 
or sales taxes paid to foreign countries. Also, taxes paid to 
the federal government, such as customs duties, cannot be 
claimed as a credit against use tax. 
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USE TAX FOR BUSINESS cont.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

continued from previous page

PRICES ARE SHOWN ON AN IDENTICAL PURCHASE MADE FROM
A PENNSYLVANIA BUSINESS AND AN OUT-OF-STATE BUSINESS

EXAMPLE:

Quantity Unit PriceDescription
ABC Office Direct

Out-of-State Businesses
XYZ Office Products

Allentown, PA

	 1	 Executive Desk Set	 $1,800	 $1,800	 $1,800

	 6	 L-Shape Desk Sets	 $850	 $5,100	 $5,100

	 1	 Leather Chair	 $650	 $650	 $650

	 2	 Hideaway Chairs	 $200	 $400	 $400

	 6	 Desk Chairs	 $300	 $1,800	 $1,800

			   Freight	 $350	 $250

			   Sales Tax	 0	 $600

			   Total	 $10,100	 $10,600

It appears the out-of-state vendor offers the better deal. However, when use tax is applied to the purchase made in 
the other state, it becomes clear the Pennsylvania vendor offered the lower, more competitive price. As shown here, 
proper remittance of use tax levels the playing field for Pennsylvania businesses by allowing them to compete with 
out-of-state vendors that do not charge sales tax. 

KNOW
WHO
TO
CONTACT
For additional information about use tax or to 
register for a Sales and Use Tax License, visit 
www.revenue.pa.gov/usetax.

Online Customer Service Center
https://revenue-pa.custhelp.com/

Taxpayer Services & Information Center
Personal Taxes:	 717-787-8201

Business Taxes:	 717-787-1064

e-Business Center:	 RA-btftebusiness@pa.gov

1-888-PATAXES (728-2937)
Touch-tone service is required for this toll-free 
call. Call to order forms or check the status of a 
personal income tax account or property tax and 
rent rebate.

Automated Forms Ordering Service
1-800-362-2050

For Revenue district office locations and 
information, visit www.revenue.pa.gov.

EXAMPLES OF PURCHASES SUBJECT 
TO USE TAX

BUSINESS PURCHASES SUBJECT TO 
USE TAX

All examples presume no sales tax was paid at the time of 
purchase and the item will be used within Pennsylvania.

Example 1:
A Harrisburg business purchases computer equipment 
from an out-of-state vendor on Feb. 10, totaling $6,100, 
including shipping. A use tax payment of $366 ($6,100 X 
6 percent) is due on or before March 20.

Example 2:
A Pittsburgh business orders $2,050 of office supplies 
(including shipping) online on Aug. 27. A use tax payment 
of $143.50 ($2,050 x 7 percent), which includes 1 percent 
local use tax, is due on or before Sept. 20. 

Many common business purchases are subject to use tax. 
Use tax follows the same rules for sales tax and therefore 
does not apply to items directly and predominantly used in 
tax-exempt business activities.

Taxable items include: 
•	 Office equipment
•	 Administrative supplies
•	 Furniture
•	 Cleaning supplies
•	 Computers 

This list is not all-inclusive. See the Retailers’ Information 
Guide (REV-717) for a detailed list of taxable items. 
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