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IRRC Number: 

(1) Agency 

 

Pennsylvania Milk Board 

(2) Agency Number:   47 

      Identification Number:  21 

(3) PA Code Cite:  7 Pa. Code Chapter 150 

(4) Short Title:  Milk Marketing Fees 

 

(5) Agency Contacts (List Telephone Number and Email Address): 

Primary Contact: Doug Eberly, 717-836-3115, deberly@pa.gov 

Secondary Contact: Betsy Albright, 717-772-2752, elabright@pa.gov 

 (6) Type of Rulemaking (check applicable box): 

         X   Proposed Regulation 

          Final Regulation 

          Final Omitted Regulation                        

 Emergency Certification Regulation; 

          Certification by the Governor   

          Certification by the Attorney General 

(7) Briefly explain the regulation in clear and nontechnical language. (100 words or less) 

 

7 Pa. Code section 150.12 is proposed to be amended to increase the per hundredweight license fees paid by 

milk dealers. 

 

7 Pa. Code section 150.22 is proposed to be amended to increase one tier of the subdealer quart-equivalent 

license fee because that tier was inadvertently omitted when subdealer license fees were updated effective 

with the 2020-2021 license year. 

 

(8) State the statutory authority for the regulation.  Include specific statutory citation. 

 

The Milk Marketing Fee Act, 31 P.S. section 700k-1 et. seq., provides that the Board shall charge and 

collect license fees.  Section 700k-3(c) provides the Board authority to establish dealer and subdealer 

fees by regulation. 

 

(9) Is the regulation mandated by any federal or state law or court order, or federal regulation?  Are there 

any relevant state or federal court decisions?  If yes, cite the specific law, case or regulation as well as, 

any deadlines for action. 

 

Milk Marketing Fees are mandated by the Pennsylvania Milk Marketing Fee Act.  They are not 

mandated by any federal law or regulation or any court decision. 
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(10) State why the regulation is needed.  Explain the compelling public interest that justifies the 

regulation.  Describe who will benefit from the regulation.  Quantify the benefits as completely as 

possible and approximate the number of people who will benefit. 

 

Per the Pennsylvania Milk Marketing Law (31 P.S. section 700j-101 et. seq.) the Board regulates the 

economics of milk transactions in Pennsylvania.  The Board is almost entirely funded through license 

fees paid by the regulated community, with approximately 98% of the Board's receipts coming from 

license fees.  All funds collected or received by the Board are paid into the State Treasury and placed in 

the Milk Marketing Fund (31 P.S. section 700j-1101) and used to pay the Board's expenses (31 P.S. 

section 700j-1102).  The Board has not received a general fund appropriation since the 1996-1997 fiscal 

year. 

 

The Fund's balance at the end of the 2023-2024 license year is projected to be approximately 

$4,391,000.00, with receipts less disbursements of $76,000.00.  If the requested fees become effective 

with the 2025-2026 license year, we still project receipts decreasing almost 5% through the 2028-2029 

license year.  We further project personnel and operating costs increasing over 7% during the same 

period.  This will lead to an operating deficit of over $275,000.00 during the 2028-2029 license year, 

with a projected Milk Marketing Fund balance of $4,157,200.00 at the end of the license year. 

 

The Board was established by the Legislature with "the power to supervise, investigate and regulate the 

entire milk industry of this Commonwealth . . . ." (31 P.S. section 700j-301)  The Board establishes 

minimum producer, wholesale, and retail milk prices.  The Board assures timely and correct payment to 

milk producers.  The Board enforces the Pennsylvania Milk Producers' Security Act, which requires 

buyers of producer milk to post security to ensure producers are paid for their milk.  All Pennsylvanians 

benefit from the Board's existence, because it helps to provide stability and security to the dairy industry 

in Pennsylvania, which contributes more than $11.8 billion annually to Pennsylvania's economy and 

supports 47,000 jobs. 

 

(11) Are there any provisions that are more stringent than federal standards?  If yes, identify the specific 

provisions and the compelling Pennsylvania interest that demands stronger regulations. 

 

There are no applicable federal standards. 

 

(12) How does this regulation compare with those of the other states?  How will this affect 

Pennsylvania’s ability to compete with other states? 

 

Pennsylvania has the most comprehensive economic milk regulation program in the country.  Only two 

other states (Maine and North Dakota, both of which produce much less milk than Pennsylvania) 

regulate producer, wholesale, and retail prices.  Therefore, other states may have lower fees. 
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However, this regulation is not expected to negatively affect Pennsylvania's ability to compete with 

other states.  This regulation will impact milk dealers and milk cooperatives.  During informal 

discussions with dealers and cooperatives there has been no indication of opposition to the increase.  

During the public hearing to consider the fee increase no testimony was provided in opposition. 

 

Milk dealers and milk cooperatives that would be impacted by the fee increase have substantial local, 

regional, and national interests that would be adversely impacted if the regulation made Pennsylvania 

less competitive.  Their non-opposition demonstrates that this regulation is not expected to be 

disadvantageous for Pennsylvania. 

 

The milk subdealer quart-equivalent fee increase will affect four subdealers.  Their fees will increase 

$50.00 per year.  There has been no indication that the subdealer fee increase that was effective for the 

2020-2021 license year has adversely affected any subdealer's ability to compete with other states.  

Updating the volume tier that was omitted from the 2020-2021 increase should have no adverse impact. 

 

(13) Will the regulation affect any other regulations of the promulgating agency or other state agencies? 

 If yes, explain and provide specific citations. 

 

No 

 

(14) Describe the communications with and solicitation of input from the public, any advisory 

council/group, small businesses and groups representing small businesses in the development and 

drafting of the regulation.  List the specific persons and/or groups who were involved.  (“Small 

business” is defined in Section 3 of the Regulatory Review Act, Act 76 of 2012.) 

 

The Board held a public hearing on April 3, 2024, regarding the requested fee increases.  Betsy Albright, 

the Board Secretary, provided a statement supporting the proposed amendments.  Representatives of the 

Pennsylvania Association of Dairy Cooperatives (PADC) and the Pennsylvania Association of Milk 

Dealers (PAMD) attended the hearing.  Cooperatives and dealers each pay approximately 50% of the per 

hundredweight license fees collected by the Board.  Neither opposed the increases. 

 

Secretary Albright also spoke to the members of the Pennsylvania Association of Milk Dealers at two of 

their member meetings.  No individual dealer indicated opposition to the fee increases. 

 

(15) Identify the types and number of persons, businesses, small businesses (as defined in Section 3 of 

the Regulatory Review Act, Act 76 of 2012) and organizations which will be affected by the regulation. 

 How are they affected? 

 

The regulation will impact the 200-205 licensed milk dealers and four of the licensed subdealers. 

 

NAICS codes applicable to the businesses affected are 112210 (Dairy Cattle and Milk Production), 

311351 (Chocolate and Confectionery Manufacturing from Cacao Beans), 311511 (Fluid Milk 

Manufacturing), 311512 (Creamery Butter Manufacturing), 311513 (Cheese Manufacturing), 311514 

(Dry, Condensed, and Evaporated Dairy Product Manufacturing), and 311520 (Ice Cream and Dessert 

Manufacturing). 

 

The four subdealers are small businesses. 
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Of the milk dealers, the vast majority are small businesses.  The largest dairy cooperatives (Dairy 

Farmers of America, Land O' Lakes, Lanco-Pennland, Maryland & Virginia Milk Producers 

Cooperative) are not small businesses.  The largest dairy manufacturers and distributors (Hershey, 

Saputo, Nestle, Chobani) are not small businesses overall; however, individual plant locations may not 

exceed the number of employees threshold to not be a small business. 

 

All of the affected licensees currently pay the same per hundredweight license fee and all will pay the 

same per hundredweight license fee if the regulation is adopted. 

 

(16) List the persons, groups or entities, including small businesses, that will be required to comply with 

the regulation.  Approximate the number that will be required to comply. 

 

As noted in item 15 above, all licensed milk dealers and four licensed milk subdealers will be required 

to comply with the regulation. 

 

Given normal industry turnover, in the neighborhood of 200-205 milk dealers are licensed at any given 

time.  Approximately 190-195 of the milk dealers are small businesses. 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

(17) Identify the financial, economic and social impact of the regulation on individuals, small 

businesses, businesses and labor communities and other public and private organizations.  Evaluate the 

benefits expected as a result of the regulation. 

 

The impact of the regulation will be financial.   

 

Subdealer fees will increase for the four affected businesses $50.00 each annually. 

 

The universe of milk dealers will pay a combined total of $299,925.00 more in license year 2025-26 

than under the current fee structure.  Because we project declining volumes of price-controlled milk 

beyond 2025-26, the combined total of additional milk dealer fees will decrease to $201,453.00 by 

license year 2028-29. 

 

The benefit is the continued functioning of the Milk Board.  The Board is "the instrumentality of the 

Commonwealth for the purpose of administering the provisions of [the Milk Marketing Law] and to 

execute the legislative intent [of the Milk Marketing Law] . . ." and is "vested with power to supervise, 

investigate and regulate the entire milk industry" of Pennsylvania.  The Board is funded through license 

fees.  Without adequate license fee levels, the Board cannot function.  Item 10 above provides further 

detail regarding benefits. 

 

 

(18) Explain how the benefits of the regulation outweigh any cost and adverse effects. 

 

As stated in more detail in item 10, the Board's activities help provide stability and security for the 

multi-billion dollar Pennsylvania dairy industry.  This fee increase will help assure the agency can 

continue to carry out the functions delegated to it by the legislature. 

 

(19) Provide a specific estimate of the costs and/or savings to the regulated community associated with 

compliance, including any legal, accounting or consulting procedures which may be required.  Explain 

how the dollar estimates were derived. 
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The direct cost to the regulated community to comply with the regulation will be and additional 

$300,125.00 ($299,925 for dealers and $200 for subdealers) in license fees in the 2025-26 license year.  

As noted above, this will decrease to $201,653.00 in additional license fees by the 2029-2029 license 

year. 

 

All of the affected dealers and subdealers already pay license fees, so there should be no additional cost 

or saving to the regulated community to comply with the regulation. 

 

(20) Provide a specific estimate of the costs and/or savings to the local governments associated with 

compliance, including any legal, accounting or consulting procedures which may be required.  Explain 

how the dollar estimates were derived. 

 

No costs or savings to local governments are anticipated. 

 

(21) Provide a specific estimate of the costs and/or savings to the state government associated with the 

implementation of the regulation, including any legal, accounting, or consulting procedures which may 

be required.  Explain how the dollar estimates were derived. 

 

No costs or savings to state government are anticipated because the agency is already assessing and 

collecting these fees. 

 

(22) For each of the groups and entities identified in items (19)-(21) above, submit a statement of legal, 

accounting or consulting procedures and additional reporting, recordkeeping or other paperwork, 

including copies of forms or reports, which will be required for implementation of the regulation and an 

explanation of measures which have been taken to minimize these requirements.    

 

No additional legal, accounting, or consulting procedures will be required.  No additional reporting, 

recordkeeping, or other paperwork will be required. 

 

(22a) Are forms required for implementation of the regulation? 

 

The Board licenses approximately 200-205 milk dealers at any given time.  16 of those licensees file 

monthly paper reports, the remainder submit monthly electronic reports.  These reports will not change.  

The reports currently do not note the per hundredweight license fees, or indeed any license fees, and will 

not note the new license fees.  The Board's Milk Accounting and Regulatory System calculates annual 

per hundredweight license fees based on the submitted information. 

 

(22b) If forms are required for implementation of the regulation, attach copies of the forms here.  If 

your agency uses electronic forms, provide links to each form or a detailed description of the 

information required to be reported.  Failure to attach forms, provide links, or provide a detailed 

description of the information to be reported will constitute a faulty delivery of the regulation. 

 

Each year with license renewals, the Board provides a "dealer fee calculation sheet" so that licensees 

may see how we calculated their license fees.  This calculation sheet notes the per hundredweight fee 

rates.  This sheet is attached. 

 

New milk dealer licensees pay a monthly license fee until they have been licensed for one full calendar 

year (at which time they begin to pay an annual license fee based on a calander year's activity).  The 
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"monthly dealer license fee calculation sheet" notes the per hundredweight fee rates.  This sheet is 

attached. 

 

Finally, the subdealer fee tiers are part of the online renewal application.  A copy of this page is 

attached. 

 

(23) In the table below, provide an estimate of the fiscal savings and costs associated with 

implementation and compliance for the regulated community, local government, and state government 

for the current year and five subsequent years.  

 Current FY 

Year 

FY +1 

Year 

FY +2 

Year 

FY +3 

Year 

FY +4 

Year 

FY +5 

Year 

SAVINGS: $ $ $ $ $ $ 

Regulated Community 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Local Government 0 0 0 0 0 0 

State Government 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Total Savings 0 0 0 0 0 0 

COSTS:       

Regulated Community 0 300,125 266,296 233,482 201,653 Not 

calculated 

Local Government 0 0 0 0 0 0 

State Government 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Total Costs  300,125 266,296 233,482 201,653 Not 

calculated 

REVENUE LOSSES:       

Regulated Community 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Local Government 0 0 0 0 0 0 

State Government 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Total Revenue Losses 0 0 0 0 0 0 

 

(23a) Provide the past three year expenditure history for programs affected by the regulation. 

 

Program FY -3 FY -2 FY -1 Current FY 

Milk Board 

Personnel and 

Operating 

$2,570,000 $2,407,000 $2,840,000 $2,539,343 

 

 

     

     

     



 

 7 

     

     

     

 (24) For any regulation that may have an adverse impact on small businesses (as defined in Section 3 of 

the Regulatory Review Act, Act 76 of 2012), provide an economic impact statement that includes the 

following: 

 

(a) An identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation. 

(b) The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance 

with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation 

of the report or record. 

(c) A statement of probable effect on impacted small businesses. 

(d) A description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the proposed regulation. 

 

(a) We estimate that 190-195 small business will be subject to the regulation at any given time. 

(b) The affected licensees currently pay these license fees.  The fees are being increased, but no 

additional reporting, recordkeeping, or other administrative costs will be necessary to comply. 

(c) Impacted small businesses will pay a higher license fee. 

(d) There are no less intrusive or less costly alternative methods to achieve the purpose of the proposed 

regulation.  The Board is funded by license fees.  To remain functional the Board must occasionally 

increase license fees. 

 

(25) List any special provisions which have been developed to meet the particular needs of affected 

groups or persons including, but not limited to, minorities, the elderly, small businesses, and farmers. 

 

The fee increases have been kept as limited as possible while still providing better financial viability for 

the agency. 

 

(26)  Include a description of any alternative regulatory provisions which have been considered and 

rejected and a statement that the least burdensome acceptable alternative has been selected. 

 

The Milk Marketing Fee Act requires the Board to assess license fees to fund its operations.  Those fee 

increases have been kept as limited as possible while still providing better financial viability for the 

agency.  The least burdensome acceptable alternative has been selected. 

 

(27) In conducting a regulatory flexibility analysis, explain whether regulatory methods were considered 

that will minimize any adverse impact on small businesses (as defined in Section 3 of the Regulatory 

Review Act, Act 76 of 2012), including: 

 

a) The establishment of less stringent compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses; 

b) The establishment of less stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting 

requirements for small businesses; 

c) The consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small 

businesses; 

d) The establishment of performance standards for small businesses to replace design or operational 
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standards required in the regulation; and 

e) The exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements contained in the 

regulation. 

 

(a), (b), and (c).  The compliance and reporting requirements relevant to license fees are part of the 

required Milk Dealer Monthly Report, which the Board uses to ensure producers are paid timely and 

accurately.  The Milk Dealer Monthly Report also contains information necessary to carry out the 

Board's minimum price setting responsibilities.  The information needed to calculate license fees is 

already collected for other reasons. 

 

(d).  There are no relevant performance standards. 

 

(e).  The per hundredweight license fees are based on volume.  The smaller the business, the smaller its 

fee.  Therefore no exemptions are included in the proposed regulations. 

 

(28) If data is the basis for this regulation, please provide a description of the data, explain in detail how 

the data was obtained, and how it meets the acceptability standard for empirical, replicable and testable 

data that is supported by documentation, statistics, reports, studies or research.  Please submit data or 

supporting materials with the regulatory package.  If the material exceeds 50 pages, please provide it in 

a searchable electronic format or provide a list of citations and internet links that, where possible, can be 

accessed in a searchable format in lieu of the actual material.  If other data was considered but not used, 

please explain why that data was determined not to be acceptable. 

 

The Board used its own data accumulated through required and audited licensee reports to project future 

receipts.  The Board used historical and new union contracts to forecast future costs.  The spreadsheet is 

attached. 

 

(29) Include a schedule for review of the regulation including: 

 

           A.  The length of the public comment period:                                          30 days 

 

           B.  The date or dates on which any public meetings or hearings  

                 will be held:                                                                                        April 3, 2024 

 

           C.  The expected date of delivery of the final-form regulation:               November 8, 2024 

 

           D.  The expected effective date of the final-form regulation:                  July 1, 2025 

 

           E.  The expected date by which compliance with the final-form  

                 regulation will be required:                                                                July 1, 2025 

 

           F.  The expected date by which required permits, licenses or other 

                approvals must be obtained:                                                                July 1, 2025 

 

 

(30) Describe the plan developed for evaluating the continuing effectiveness of the regulations after its 

implementation. 
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The Board will continue to closely monitor it finances, including the impact of these fee increases, and 

the Board's careful stewardship of its finances will continue. 

 
 



Milk Board
Budget FYE 23‐24 FYE 24‐25 FYE 25‐26 FYE 26‐27 FYE 27‐28 FYE 28‐29

Forecast
Beginning Cash Balance 4,315,000                         4,391,000                    4,472,183                   4,587,841                4,575,568                4,432,555                

Receipts
Dealer ‐ Cwt Fees 2,072,547                         1,865,314                    2,165,239                   2,131,410                2,098,596                2,066,767                 Fee change FY 25‐26
Hauler ‐ Cwt Fees 588,260                             557,137                       557,137                      557,137                    557,137                    557,137                     Fee unchanged
Subdealer ‐ Quarts Fees 29,097                               32,000                         32,000                        32,000                      32,000                      32,000                       Fee unchanged
Dealer ‐ Fixed Fees 22,500                               22,500                         22,500                        22,500                      22,500                      22,500                       Fee unchanged
Hauler ‐ Fixed Fees 5,355                                 5,530                            5,180                           5,180                        5,005                         5,005                         Decrease of 5 haulers every two years (est) Fee unchanged
Subdealer ‐ Fixed Fees 7,900                                 7,900                            7,900                           7,900                        7,900                         7,900                         Fee unchanged
Weigher/Sampler ‐ Fixed Fees 30,647                               32,525                         31,250                        30,950                      30,625                      30,300                       Decrease of 1% per year fee unchanged
Tester ‐ FixedFees 828                                     990                               800                              800                            800                             800                             Fee unchanged
Examination Fees 3,866                                 3,810                            3,600                           3,600                        3,600                         3,600                         Fee unchanged
Fines/Other Fees 5,000                                 5,000                            5,000                           5,000                        5,000                         5,000                        
Interest 150,000                             87,820                         67,083                        68,818                      45,756                      44,326                       Decrease in rates
Misc ‐                                     ‐                                ‐                               ‐                             ‐                             
TOTAL Receipts 2,916,000                         2,620,525                    2,897,688                   2,865,294                2,808,918                2,775,334                

Salary & Benefits 2,404,000                         2,115,823                    2,347,923                   2,432,606                2,495,847                2,583,202                 2% increase 2024, 2.25% 2025, 2% 2026

Total Operating 436,000                             423,520                       434,108                      444,960                    456,084                    467,486                    

Total Personnel & Operating 2,840,000                         2,539,343                    2,782,030                   2,877,567                2,951,931                3,050,688                

Receipts less Disbursements 76,000                               81,182.93 115,657.75 (12,272.58) (143,013.03) (275,354.16)

Ending Cash Balance 4,391,000                         4,472,182.93              4,587,840.67             4,575,568.09           4,432,555.07           4,157,200.90           

Receipts Detail FYE 23‐24 FYE 24‐25 FYE 25‐26 FYE 26‐27 FYE 27‐28 FYE 28‐29

Controlled LBS 1,597,932,004                 1,549,994,044            1,503,494,223           1,458,389,396         1,414,637,714         1,372,198,583          3% decrease annually
Controlled Rate/Cwt 0.060                                 0.060                            0.075                           0.075                        0.075                         0.075                        
Uncontrolled LBS 14,614,336,568               14,614,336,568           14,614,336,568         14,614,336,568      14,614,336,568      14,614,336,568      
Uncontrolled Rate/Cwt 0.006                                 0.006                            0.007                           0.007                        0.007                         0.007                        

Hauler LBS 11,142,730,000               11,142,730,000           11,142,730,000         11,142,730,000      11,142,730,000      11,142,730,000       Average of last 2 years
Hauler Rate/Cwt 0.005                                 0.005                            0.005                           0.005                        0.005                         0.005                        
Sub‐dealer Qt Fee % Increase

2021‐22
Fixed Fees per Dealer 100.00                               225                               199
Fixed Fees per Sub‐dealer 50.00                                 158                               162
Fixed Fees per Hauler 35.00                                 158                               190
Fixed Fees per Weigher Sampler 25.00                                 1,301                            1639
Fixed Fees per Tester 30.00                                 33                                 65
Examination Fees per Exam 30.00                                 127                               200
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Pennsylvania Milk Board 
Proposed Regulations 

7 Pa. Code Ch. 150 – Milk Marketing Fees 
Identification No. 47-21 

 
Instructions for submitting public comments to the Agency 
 
 Interested persons are invited to submit written comments, suggestions, support, or 
objections about this proposed rulemaking to the Board, to the attention of Doug Eberly, Chief 
Counsel, Pennsylvania Milk Board, 2301 N. Cameron Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110, or by email 
to ra-pmmb@pa.gov within 30 days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.  Anyone who 
requires this information in a different format may call (717) 787-4194 or (800) 654-5984 (the 
PA relay service for TDD users). 



Preamble 
 

Pennsylvania Milk Board 
 

[7 Pa. Code Ch. 150] 
 

Milk Marketing Fees 
 
 The Pennsylvania Milk Board (Board) proposes to amend Chapter 150 (relating to milk 
marketing fees) by increasing the license fees for milk dealers and one group of subdealers. 
 
A. Effective Date 
 
 This proposed rulemaking will be effective upon final form publication in the 
Pennsylvania Bulletin.  There is no sunset provision. 
 
B. Statutory Authority 
 
 The Milk Marketing Fee Act (31 P.S. sec. 700k-1 et. Seq.) gives the Board the authority 
to impose and collect license fees.  Sections 700k-3 addresses milk dealer and milk subdealer 
fees generally.  Section 700k-4 address milk dealer license fees for milk dealers not engaged in 
the milk business at the commencement of the license period. 
 
C. Purpose and Explanation 
 
 The Board is self-funded, primarily by license fees.  The Board has not received any 
general fund appropriation since the 1996-97 fiscal year.  License fees and other funds received 
by the Board are paid into the State Treasury and placed in the Milk Marketing Fund (Fund).  
Despite the Board's careful stewardship, expensed have increased and are projected to continue 
to increase, while income is not.  The Fund is being eroded by the resulting deficits.  Without 
this fee increase, the Board's financial viability will become uncertain. 
 
D. Description of the Amendments 
 
 The Board licenses approximately 200-205 milk dealers at any given time, with normal 
industry turnover.  This amendment increases the per hundredweight fee milk dealers pay (the 
fixed license fee remains unchanged).  The fee for price-controlled milk will increase from 
$0.060 to $0.075 per hundredweight.  The fee for non-price-controlled milk will increase from 
$0.0064 to $0.0071 per hundredweight. 
 
 The Board licenses approximately 140-150 milk subdealers at any given time, with 
normal industry turnover.  Subdealers pay a fixed license fee, which remains unchanged.  
Subdealers also pay a volume-based fee (designated as the "quart-equivalent fee").  When the 
Board last amended the subdealer quart-equivalent fee for license year 2020-21, one volume tier 
was inadvertently omitted.  The amendment will impact four subdealers, increasing their quart-
equivalent fee by $50.00 annually. 



 
E. Fiscal and Administrative Impact 
 
 Milk dealers and four milk subdealers are the persons and parties affected by this 
proposed rulemaking. 
 
 The milk dealers are projected to pay a combined total of $299,925.00 more in license 
year 2025-26 than under the current fee structure.  Because we project declining volumes of 
price-controlled milk beyond 2025-26, the combined total of additional fees will decrease to 
$201,453.00 by license year 2028-29. 
 

The milk subdealers will pay $50.00 more, for a combined total of $200.00. 
 
These fees are not new fees – they are increases in existing fees.  Therefore the 

administrative impact is not expected to be significant.   
 
F. Public Hearing 
 
 A public hearing was held on April 3, 2024.  Notice of the hearing was published in the 
Pennsylvania Bulletin, posted on the Board's website, and sent to those who have requested 
emailed notification of Board hearings.   
 
 The hearing was attended by the Board and Board Staff, an attorney representing the 
Pennsylvania Association of Dairy Cooperatives, and the Executive Director of the Pennsylvania 
Association of Milk Dealers. 
 
 The Board Secretary testified regarding the need for the fee increase.  There was no other 
testimony. 
 
G. Regulatory Review 
 
 On ____________, 2024, the Board submitted a copy of this proposed rulemaking and a 
copy of the Regulatory Analysis Form to the Independent Regulatory Review Commission 
(IRRC) and to the Chairs of the House and Senate Committees on Agriculture and Rural Affairs, 
in accordance with section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S. sec. 745.5(a)).  A copy of 
this material is available to the public upon request. 
 
 Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, the IRRC may convey any comments, 
recommendations, or objections to the proposed rulemaking within 30 days after the close of the 
public comment period.  The comments, recommendations, or objections must specify the 
regulatory review criteria which have not been met.  The Regulatory Review Act specifies 
detailed procedures for review, prior to final-form publication of this proposed rulemaking, by 
the Board, the General Assembly, and the Governor of comments, recommendations, or 
objections raised. 
  



 
H. Public Comments and Contact Person 
 
 Interested persons are invited to submit written comments, suggestions, support, or 
objections about this proposed rulemaking to the Board, to the attention of Doug Eberly, Chief 
Counsel, Pennsylvania Milk Board, 2301 N. Cameron Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110, or by email 
to ra-pmmb@pa.gov within 30 days after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.  Anyone who 
requires this information in a different format may call (717) 787-4194 or (800) 654-5984 (the 
PA relay service for TDD users). 
 
       Robert N. Barley 
       Chairman 



PENNSYLVANIA MILK BOARD  

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO 7 PA. CODE CHAPTER 150 

 

 

LICENSE FEES OF MILK DEALERS 

***** 

§ 150.12. Hundredweight fees. 

 (a)  In addition to the fixed fee imposed under §  150.11 (relating to fixed fees), a milk dealer that 
was licensed for the entire calendar year preceding license renewal shall pay an annual 
hundredweight fee as set forth in paragraphs (1) and (2).  

   (1)  For milk for which the Board has fixed a minimum wholesale or retail price, received, 
produced or brought into this Commonwealth during the calendar year preceding the period for 
which the license is issued, the fee is $.075 $.060 per hundredweight.  

   (2)  For milk for which the Board has not fixed a minimum wholesale or retail price, received, 
produced or brought into this Commonwealth during the calendar year preceding the period for 
which the license is issued, the fee is $.0071 $.0064 per hundredweight.  

 (b)  In addition to the fixed fee imposed under §  150.11, a milk dealer that was not licensed for 
the entire calendar year preceding license application or renewal shall pay a monthly 
hundredweight fee as set forth in paragraphs (1) and (2).  Monthly payments shall continue until 
the milk dealer has been licensed for an entire calendar year and for each month thereafter until 
the next license year begins. Annual payments shall then commence under subsection (a).   

   (1)  For milk for which the Board has fixed a minimum wholesale or retail price, received, 
produced or brought into this Commonwealth during the preceding month, the fee is $.075 $.060 
per hundredweight.  

   (2)  For milk for which the Board has not fixed a minimum wholesale or retail price, received, 
produced or brought into this Commonwealth during the preceding month, the fee is $.0071 $.0064 
per hundredweight.   

***** 

  



 

LICENSE FEES OF MILK SUBDEALERS 

 

***** 

 
§ 150.22. Quart-equivalent fee. 
 
(a)  In addition to the fixed fee imposed under §  150.21(b) (relating to fixed fees), an applicant 
for annual renewal of a subdealer’s license shall pay an annual quart-equivalent fee calculated by 
dividing the total quarts of milk sold during the previous calendar year by the number of months 
in which the subdealer engaged in business. The Board will assess the fee in accordance with the 
following schedule:  
 

Ave. Qts. Sold Per Month Annual Fee 

***** 

120,000—149,999      250      200  
  

 
***** 
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