

### Pennsylvania's School Bus Stopping Law

Pennsylvania's School Bus Stopping Law requires motorists to stop at least 10 feet away from school buses that have their red lights flashing and stop arm activated.

Who are we trying to reach? All permitted and licensed drivers.

**How can you help?** Do you engage with the audience digitally or in-person? Share what you can! Help bring awareness to this law and the consequences of passing a stopped school bus.

We appreciate any shares of the content provided in this toolkit on social media, email newsletters, or websites.

# **Download Assets**

Click to download high quality assets from PennDOT's Media Resources.

For more information on school bus safety, visit <u>penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus</u>.

### Social Media

Suggested captions to pair with graphics. FB (Facebook), IG (Instagram), X (Formerly Twitter)

Suggested caption	Suggested graphic
<b>FB/IG</b> Do you know when and where to stop for school buses along your commute?	
Motorists must stop at least 10 feet away from school buses with red lights flashing and stop arm activated.	
Motorists in the opposing lanes may only proceed without stopping if physical barriers such as grassy medians, guide rails or concrete median barriers separate oncoming traffic from the bus.	When to STOP for School Buses
More info: penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus #BeSafePA	
X Do you know when and where to stop for school buses?	(School Bus Laws GIF)
Watch below to learn when to stop on roads without a median, roads with a center turning lane, and other roadway scenarios.	
Find more info at penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus. #BeSafePA	
<b>FB/IG/X</b> Do your part to keep PA students safe! Remember to always stop when a school bus's stop-arm is out.	STOP
Learn more at penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus. #BeSafePA	Always STOP when the stop-arm is activated.

Suggested caption	Suggested graphic
<ul> <li>FB/IG</li> <li>Another Monday means another week of seeing school buses along your daily commute. Follow these tips to share the road safely with school buses.</li> <li>Failing to obey PA's school bus stopping law comes with serious consequences, including up to a \$300 fine, 60-day license suspension, and 5 points being added to your driver's license.</li> <li>Learn more at penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus.</li> <li>#BeSafePA</li> <li>X</li> <li>Follow these tips to share the road safely with school buses.</li> <li>Failing to obey PA's school bus stopping law has serious consequences, including up to a \$300 fine, 60-day license suspension &amp; 5 points being added to your driver's license.</li> <li>More info: penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus.</li> <li>#BeSafePA</li> <li>#BeSafePA</li> </ul>	<image/> <image/> <image/> <image/> <image/> <image/> <image/>
FB/IG/X Did you know? If you reach an intersection where a school bus is loading or unloading students, all traffic must stop – even when the intersection is not marked with a stop sign! Learn more at penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus. #BeSafePA	Suncession   You MUST STOP at an intersection, whether it is or is not marked with a stop sign. All traffic MUST STOP.

Suggested caption	Suggested graphic
<b>FB/IG/X</b> Yellow lights on a school bus indicate the bus is preparing to stop.	Prepare to stop on YELLOW. Completely stop on RED.
If you're driving, slow down, stay alert, and watch out for children.	IT'S THE LAW.

#### Newsletter

Suggested newsletter article.



#### **Keeping Children Safe**

Most drivers know that they are required to stop for stopped school buses with their red lights flashing and stop arm activated. But sometimes, it can be confusing knowing when to stop! Read on for answers to some frequently asked questions about <u>Pennsylvania's School Bus Stopping Law</u>!

# I know I must stop on a two-lane roadway, but what about a four-lane roadway?

When a school bus is stopped on a four-lane roadway with their red lights flashing and stop arm activated, all traffic from both directions must stop.

For more information on school bus safety, visit <u>penndot.pa.gov/schoolbus</u>.

### I heard that drivers don't have to stop when there is a barrier in the center of the road. Does a turning lane count?

If a physical barrier, such as a grassy median, guide rail, or concrete median barrier separates oncoming traffic from the school bus, motorists passing in the opposite direction do not have to stop for the stopped school bus. A turning lane is not considered a physical barrier.

### If a bus is stopped at an intersection and I'm turning in the opposite direction and don't have a stop sign, do I have to stop?

If a school bus is stopped at an intersection with their red lights flashing and stop arm activated, all traffic must stop in all directions, even if the intersection is not marked with a stop sign.

**Is there a way to know ahead of time when a school bus is going to stop? I don't want to cause a crash by slamming on my brakes at the last minute!** Yes! School buses activate flashing yellow lights to indicate they will be coming to a stop. When you are approaching a school bus with flashing yellow lights, slow down and be prepared to stop.

#### What are the penalties for passing a stopped school bus?

Aside from putting school children at risk, if you are stopped by police for passing a stopped school bus, you could pay a \$250 fine, receive five points on your driving record, and a 60-day license suspension. Pennsylvania law also allows school districts to install automated school bus enforcement cameras on their school buses. If you receive a violation through the automated enforcement program, you will receive a \$300 fine. These civil violations only include the fine and don't reflect any points or insurance rates.

Remember, you are required to stop at least 10 feet from school buses that have their red lights flashing and stop arm activated. You must wait until the red lights have stopped flashing and the stop arm has been withdrawn before moving.

Our children's safety is in your hands, so if you are ever in doubt, just stop!