



## APPLICATION FOR SHARE THE ROAD REGISTRATION PLATE (JY) FEE REQUIRED

(The space above is for Department use only) Bureau of Motor Vehicles • 1101 S. Front St. • Harrisburg, PA 17104-2516

Α	VEHICLE DESCRIPTION AND APPLICANT INFORMATION - Complete this section exactly as information appears on current registration card.									
	Title Number		Vehicle Identifi	cation Nur						
	Registration Plate Number	Expirat	tion Date		Make of Vehi	cle		Year	Year Date of Birth	
	Last Name (or Full Business Name) F	I First Nan	ne	Middle N	lame	PA DL/Photo I or BUS. ID#	D#	Date of Birth		
	Co-Owner Last Name F	First Na			lame	PA DL/Photo II	D#	Date of Birth	Date of Birth	
	Street Address			City			State	Zip Code		
	Telephone Number:  HOME:  (  )									
	NOTE: In conjunction with replacement of your registration plate, you will receive one registration card. If additional registration cards are desired, there is a \$2 fee for each registration card. Number of duplicate registration cards requested @ \$2 each:									
в	OPTIONAL PERSONALIZATION REQUEST - NOTE: Additional fee required.									
	Personalized Share the Road registration plate of as part of the <b>FIVE</b> available spaces for person- instructions are listed on the reverse side of this registration plate and cannot be changed. Thes FIRST CHOICE <b>B</b> <b>K</b> <b>NOTE:</b> When requesting a numeric character form, after printing the form please be sure an	alizatio s applic e letter of zero	n. No other sp cation. <b>NOTE:</b> s will appear of SECO <b>B</b> K	n your p ND CHOIC	racters are a ded boxes w ersonalized r E	vailable. Please us th a pre-printed let egistration plate.	e capital lett ter configura TH <b>B</b> K	ters and print clearly. Addition ation of " <u>BK</u> " are specific to th	nal	
С	APPLICANT(S) SIGNATURE									
	I/We hereby certify under penalty of law that ALL information contained herein is TRUE and CORRECT and that I/we understand that any misstatement of fact is a misdemeanor of the third degree punishable by a fine up to \$2,500 and/or imprisonment up to 1 year (18 Pa.C.S. Section 4904[b]).									
	Signature of Applicant						Date			

Signature of Co-Applicant

Date

## SHARE THE ROAD

Show your support of bicycling by displaying Pennsylvania's Share the Road registration plate. This registration plate was established by Act 36, referred to as the David (Dave) Bachman Act, which was enacted in June 2016 in memory of a PennDOT employee who served as the Department's first Bicycle/Pedestrian Coordinator. All proceeds from the purchase of this registration plate will help fund the Department's Bicycle & Pedestrian safety efforts, as well as highway infrastructure signage for bicyclists with the purpose of wayfinding and/or safety.

## **GENERAL INFORMATION**

- This form requires a fee. Please review the instructions below carefully prior to submitting the application. For a complete listing of motor vehicle fees, refer to <u>Form MV-70S</u>, "Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees," found on our website at <u>www.pa.gov/dmv</u> or scan the QR code on the front of this application. Payment is to be made by check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. DO NOT SEND CASH. NO REFUND of the fee will be issued when an applicant cancels the request for (name of plate) registration plate after the registration plate is issued.
- To replace a lost, stolen or defaced registration plate that is damaged, but not beyond recognition, complete and submit Form MV-44, "Application for Duplicate Registration Card or Replacement of Lost, Stolen or Defaced Registration Plate," along with a photograph or tracing of the registration plate for identification purposes. A registration plate is considered to be defaced when the registration plate is damaged by a specific incident such as a traffic accident, cutting, scraping or damaged caused by intense cleaning or harmful chemicals. There is a fee to replace a defaced standard issue or specialty registration plate. If your defaced registration plate is a personalized registration plate, it will be replaced with the same configuration as before at no cost. Personalized registration plates that are lost or stolen are not able to be replaced with the same configuration. If your personalized registration plate was lost or stolen, we will replace it with the same style of registration plate, however, customers will be required to select a new configuration. The registration plate will be produced with the new configuration if it is available. Please make sure to indicate that you are replacing a defaced personalized registration plate, please complete and submit a second Form MV-44, and the replacement registration plate fee. A standard issue registration plate will be issued until the replacement personalized, lost or stolen registration plate can be provided. NOTE: The replacement personalized registration plate will take approximately 6-8 weeks to receive in the mail from the time PennDOT receives and processes the application. NOTE: The replacement standard issue registration plate will take 7-10 business days to receive in the mail from the time PennDOT receives and processes the application.
- To apply for a free registration plate, due to current plate being illegible, the vehicle owner should visit our website at www.pa.gov/dmv and take Form MV-46, "Application to Replace an Illegible Registration Plate," to any official Pennsylvania inspection station for verification that their registration plate is illegible OR have a law enforcement official verify the need for a replacement registration plate on Form MV-46. The vehicle owner is then responsible for signing and returning the completed Form MV-46 to PennDOT in order to receive a replacement registration plate free of charge. Your registration plate will be replaced with the next registration plate in the series and with the same style of registration plate you are replacing. If your registration plate is currently personalized, PennDOT will replace it with the same style and configuration as the registration plate you are replacing. If replacing your personalized registration plate is needed while waiting for your illegible personalized registration plate, please complete and submit Form MV-44, "Application for Duplicate Registration Card or Replacement of Lost, Stolen or Defaced Registration/Plate," and the replacement registration plate fee. A standard issue registration plate will take approximately 6-8 weeks to receive in the mail from the time PennDOT receives and processes the application. NOTE: The replacement registration plate will take approximately 6-8 weeks for delivery of personalized plates.
- To apply for a never received product, the vehicle owner should visit our website at <u>www.pa.gov/dmv</u> and complete Form MV-50, "Application for Replacement of a Never Received Product." By law, customers are entitled to a free reissuance of a product they never received if an application for a never received product is submitted within 90 days of the original issuance date. If a customer submits the application outside of the 90 days, the customer must submit the required fee for each never received registration card requested and the required fee for each never received registration plate requested, along with the application.
- Requests for the Share the Road registration plates are restricted to passenger cars or trucks with a registered gross weight of not more than **14,000 pounds** or a motor home.
- This application, completed in full, along with a check or money order should be mailed to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Special Tag Unit, P.O. Box 67900, Harrisburg, PA 17106-7900.
- All telephone numbers will be held in confidence and used only in the event of a problem with your application.
- To avoid possible problems with citations with your old registration plate, return it to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Return Tag Unit, P.O. Box 68597, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8597.

## IF PERSONALIZING YOUR REGISTRATION PLATE

• Personalized Share the Road registration plates may contain up to **FIVE** letters and numbers in combination.



**NOTE:** A preprinted letter configuration of "**<u>BK</u>**" will precede your personalized configuration on your registration plate and cannot be changed.

If a hyphen or space is used as part of the registration plate configuration, it counts as one of the available spaces for personalization. Only one hyphen or space is permitted, but not both. **NOTE:** No additional special characters are available.

Please use capital letters and print clearly. When requesting a numeric character of zero, please list as "Ø" instead of the alpha character of "O".

- PennDOT reserves the right to limit or reject certain requests.
- There is a fee to personalize your registration plate, and the registration on your vehicle must be current in order for PennDOT to process your request. The additional fee covers the cost of your personalized registration plate order only and will not renew your vehicle's registration. If your registration has expired or expires in the next three months, please include your completed renewal application, Form MV-105, "Pennsylvania Registration Renewal Application," or Form MV-140, "Request for Registration," and a separate check or money order in the amount of your registration renewal fee. Payment is to be made by check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH.
- To check personalized registration plate availability, visit PennDOT's Driver and Vehicle Services website, <u>www.pa.gov/dmv</u>, and select Vehicle Services then Registration Plates and select <u>Personalized Registration Plates</u>. Personalized registration plates will not be reserved until PennDOT receives payment and a completed application, and approves your requested registration plate configuration [number(s) and/or letter(s)]. Please note that registration plate requests are processed on a first-come, first-served basis. Although a requested registration plate configuration may show as being available on the website, it is possible that a request for the same registration plate configuration may have already been submitted by another customer and may not be available when making application.
- Personal registration plates will be manufactured on the basis of this application. **NO REFUND** of the fee will be issued when an applicant cancels a request after the order is placed with the manufacturer.
- Allow 8 to 10 weeks for delivery.