FACT SHEET

Odometer Information

PURPOSE

This fact sheet provides information regarding the odometer laws and odometer disclosure requirements.

GENERAL INFORMATION

It is illegal to disconnect, reset or replace an odometer for the purpose of changing the number of miles on it. Federal and state laws give protection to consumers who suspect they have purchased a car with a rolled back odometer.

ACCORDING TO LAW

- When a vehicle is transferred, the new owner must be given an odometer statement disclosing the vehicle's true mileage at the time of transfer, the date of transfer, the buyer's name and address, the seller's name and address, and the vehicle's make, year, body type and vehicle identification number. The odometer disclosure information is also found on the vehicle's certificate of title.
- It is illegal to tamper with an odometer; sell, use or advertise any device for tampering; or operate a vehicle with a disconnected or non-functional odometer with intent to defraud.
- If the seller knows that the mileage has exceeded the odometer's mechanical limit (i.e. 999,999 miles), the seller must provide that information to the buyer.

RECORDING ODOMETER READINGS

- When the actual odometer reading (mileage) is known, record the mileage reading as displayed on the odometer. The mileage will be recorded on the vehicle record exactly as listed on the odometer disclosure.
- When the mileage is over the odometer's mechanical limits (odometer only records the last five digits of the actual mileage and the odometer has "rolled over"), record the mileage reading as displayed on the odometer and check the "Reflects the amount of mileage in excess of its mechanical limits" block. The mileage listed will be recorded on the vehicle record and an odometer status code "1" will be listed on the Pennsylvania Certificate of Title to indicate the mileage is in excess of mechanical limits.
- When there is mileage displayed on the odometer, that is not the true mileage and the true mileage is unknown, record the mileage reading displayed on the odometer and check the "Warning Odometer Discrepancy" block. The mileage listed will be recorded on the vehicle record and an odometer status code "2" will be listed on the Pennsylvania Certificate of Title to indicate there is an odometer discrepancy and it is "not actual mileage."
- When no mileage can be ascertained from the odometer, and the true mileage is unknown, record the mileage reading as "999,999" and check the "Warning – Odometer Discrepancy" block. The mileage of "999,999" will be recorded on the vehicle record and an odometer status code "2" will be listed on the Pennsylvania Certificate of Title to indicate there is an odometer discrepancy and it is "not actual mileage."

February 2025

- over -



If a vehicle model year 2011 or newer must be over 20 years old, for the seller of the vehicle opt to "exempt" the vehicle from odometer disclosure. Record the mileage as "exempt." The vehicle record will reflect "exempt" and an odometer status code "4" will be listed on the Pennsylvania Certificate of Title to indicate the vehicle is exempt from mileage disclosure. Please be aware, if a vehicle model year 2011 or newer has already been branded exempt by another jurisdiction, PennDOT will record the vehicle's odometer reading on the PA record and apply the odometer status code as "2 - not actual mileage".

NOTE: Once mileage is exempt, there is no way to revert back to true mileage in the future.

- If a vehicle model year 2010 or older is over 10 years old, the seller of the vehicle may opt to "exempt" the vehicle from the odometer disclosure. Record the mileage as "exempt". The vehicle record will reflect "exempt" and an odometer status code "4" will be listed on the Pennsylvania Certificate of Title to indicate the vehicle is exempt from mileage disclosure.
- **NOTE:** Once mileage is exempt, there is no way to revert back to true mileage in the future.
- In instances where PennDOT received information that the mileage recorded on a vehicle record is the not the actual mileage and odometer tampering has been verified, PennDOT will change the odometer status code to "3" to indicate "Not actual mileage – odometer tampering verified."

VEHICLES EXEMPT FROM DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

- Vehicles with a model year of 2010 or older are exempt when they are 10 years old, vehicle beginning in model year 2011 or newer are eligible to be exempt when they are 20 years old
- Vehicles titled as Implement of Husbandry or Commercial Implement of Husbandry
- Vehicles titled as Special Mobile Equipment
- Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or higher
- Trailers

WHEN IS A SEPARATE ODOMETER STATEMENT REQUIRED

A separate odometer statement is required when the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement is not included on the Certificate of Title for vehicles that are not exempt from odometer disclosure requirements.

CORRECTING AN ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

In order to have a correction made to the mileage on a vehicle record, you will need to provide the last two years of the vehicle's inspection records or VIN-specific vehicle repair bills, which indicate the mileage at the time of the inspection or repair. If it is determined that there was an error and the mileage needs to be corrected on the vehicle record, you will need to submit to PennDOT, a completed Form MV-41, "Application for Correction of Vehicle Record or Verification of Vehicle Identification Number," the Pennsylvania Certificate of Title and the inspection or repair records that indicate the discrepancy. PennDOT will review the information and if it determined an error was made, the vehicle record will be corrected and an updated Certificate of Title will be issued.

REQUESTING ODOMETER HISTORY

If you believe your vehicle's odometer has been rolled back, you can obtain the vehicle's title history information from PennDOT by submitting a completed <u>Form DL-135</u>, <u>"Request for Vehicle</u> <u>Information."</u> This form is available online through PennDOT's Driver and Vehicle Services website at <u>www.pa.gov/dmv</u>, at any messenger service office or a PennDOT Driver and Vehicle Service Center location.

A separate <u>Form DL-135</u> and fee is required for each record requested. Only one form is required when requesting a title/odometer history, however, there is a charge for each vehicle record pulled. Vehicle record information is available for the past 10 years only. When requesting a title or odometer history, more than one transaction may be available on that particular vehicle.

Please include a check or money order made payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania." Attach your check or money order to the form and send to: Department of Transportation, Bureau of Driver Licensing, Vehicle Record Services, P.O. Box 68691, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8691.