



PA State Fire Academy PSFA LOCAL LEVEL INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

For Application Period June 1 to COB on June 15, 2025

INSTRUCTIONS:

Thank you for expressing an interest in becoming a Pennsylvania Fire Service Local-Level Instructor. Please refer to the document entitled <u>Pennsylvania State Fire Academy Instructor Policy</u>. This policy sets the requirements to become a local-level instructor, details the instructor classification and credential maintenance requirements, and defines the instructor Code of Professionalism.

Carefully follow all instructions and complete the application. You must read this in its entirety, this documented timeline is specific, you may get an alternate dates or notifications from ACADIS with a different criteria, that is a setting beyond our control at the PSFA, please follow the established timeline as indicated in this packet or your application will be rejected.

All requirements for the level you are applying **MUST** be completed **PRIOR** to making application.

Applications will only be accepted electronically through the ACADIS system with the PSFA.

If rejected, you can re-apply during the next Instructor Application opening.





Application Process

- 1. All applications to become a PSFA Local Level Instructor will be made within the ACADIS system.
- ALL uploaded documents shall be in PDF, word or JPEG format or it will not be accepted.
- 3. All prerequisites required by this directive *must be fully completed* and uploaded before final submission.
- 4. All submitted applications must be **100% complete**. *Reference letter requests are sent via ACADIS after the application information is reviewed. The References must return the letters on the supplied template by the submission deadline (close of business) or the application is considered incomplete and rejected. An application may **NOT** be edited once submitted.
- Applications will be accepted from <u>June 1 to close of business June 15</u>.
 <u>No NEW applications will be issued after June 10</u>.
- 6. The application review process will be completed by August 15, 2025, a TEAMS meeting, will be scheduled for approved applicants.
- 7. A policy acknowledgment and Code of conduct signed and returned (Electronically) will be collected via a webform.
- 8. Applicants dissatisfied with their application determination may appeal to the Fire Academy Administrator. Any such appeal shall be received in writing at the PSFA within 5 days of the date of their notification of disposition. The appeal shall detail the reasons for the appeal.





Mandatory information:

You MUST have an active ACADIS account with the PSFA.

https://psfa.acadisonline.com/

(Please review your account information for accuracy.)

 You must have a FEMA student identification number which must be acquired prior to requesting an Acadis Portal Account

https://cdp.dhs.gov/femasid/

- You must be 26 years old by beginning of the application period.
- You must upload a valid/active government issued ID Card (ie, driver license, passport, ID card).
- You must upload your proof of education. (G.E.D., High school or higher diploma)
- You must upload your Completion certificate of an acceptable Educational Methodology:

PA State Fire Academy Course <u>Educational Methodology for Local Level</u> <u>Instructors</u> (EMLL).(Only in person delivery accepted currently)

PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources <u>Instructor Trainer Course</u> (30 hours – Sir Stanford Fleming College).

National Fire Academy Resident Course R – 114 <u>Fire Service Course Design</u> or its predecessor <u>Fire Service Instructional Methodology</u>.

A formal post-secondary collegiate-level course in adult education methodology awarding at least 1 college credit.

A formal course of instruction in adult educational methodology and instructing adults of at least 30 hours duration conducted by another state's fire training system, the military services, state/federal agency, or other organization (i.e., PSP Instructor Development, DOC TST,MOPETC-General Instructor, WMD Instructor Training-COBRA)

OR





Certification course certificate (not challenge examination or virtual delivery) as a Fire Instructor I & II by an entity accredited by the National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications (NBFSPQ) *or* the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC).

OR

Certification as public-school teacher by the Pennsylvania Department of Education; secondary or post-secondary certification preferred.

OR

Certification as an Instructor by the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

- Prepare/upload a resume which indicates ALL fire, rescue, and/or emergency
 medical training you have completed. Include military and college level training
 accomplished during your time as an emergency service responder.
- List two references the State Fire Academy can expect to speak on your behalf, one must be a current PSFA Local Level Instructor in good active standing, and the second must be associated with emergency services. Both are required to have an active Acadis portal account, prior to your.

All applicants must upload a Criminal Record Check and Child Abuse History Clearance dated within 1 year of application receipt.

Criminal History Check –

Use the following site to obtain criminal history check:

1) Web site: https://epatch.state.pa.us/





• PA Child Abuse History Clearance -

Call 1-877-343-0494 to request form and instructions

OR

go to: https://www.compass.state.pa.us/CWIS/Public/Home

For "Purpose of Clearance" check the "INDIVIDUAL" box.

Acceptance Flow Process:

Applicant is accredited as a Local Level Instructor in a Mentoring Status, either suppression or non-suppression. (Assigned ISET class)

Applicant is allowed to submit no more than two "Course Upgrade Request" webforms located on the Academy Resources webpage. Awarded levels will be done so with a mentoring status. (Except Suppression)

If upgrades are reviewed and have the required prerequisite documentation the upgrades are approved in a Mentoring Status

Initial Mentoring is completed, and the Local Level Status is changed to Active, and the course Mentored is changed to Active.

Applicant may submit for another upgrade (Max of 2 courses in a Mentoring Status, exception is initial ZFID class completion assignment)

An incomplete application will not be processed. All requirements for the level of instructor you are applying must be met PRIOR to making application.