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TO: FOREIGN REINSURERS 

SUBJECT: FILING INSTRUCTIONS TO ESTABLISH OR MAINTAIN 
STATUS AS QUALIFIED UNLICENSED REINSURER IN 
PENNSYLVANIA 
[31 Pa. Code § 161.3(2)] 

FROM: COMPANY LICENSING DIVISION 
 

This memorandum identifies the criteria your company must meet and the documents you 
must submit to establish or maintain qualified reinsurer status in the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania. These requirements are set forth in 31 PA Code Chapter 161, which are 
available on The Pennsylvania Code website at: Requirements for Qualified Unlicensed 
Reinsurers. 

 
 

PLEASE NOTE FILING FEES ARE DUE WITH THE FILINGS. 
 

FILING REQUIREMENTS 

DOCUMENT COPIES DUE DATE 

Annual Statement (Hard Copy) 1 March 1 

QR-1 Form 
(Properly executed using the blank form linked at QR-1) 

 
Please note that the lawful agent designated in the QR-1 Form 
needs to be a corporate officer such as the Corporate Secretary; it 
cannot be simply the name of the Company. 

 
 
 

1 

 
 
 

March 1 

 
CPA Audited Financial Report (Hard Copy) 

 
1 

 
June 1 

 
 

 
 

1. Filing Fees - The annual filing fee is currently $750. Please remit with your annual 
filing. Checks should be made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”. 

 
2. Extensions - The insurance laws of Pennsylvania make no provision for granting 
filing date extensions for the documents listed above. 

 

FILING INFORMATION 

https://www.insurance.pa.gov/
https://www.insurance.pa.gov/
mailto:ra-in-companylicense@pa.gov
http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/031/chapter161/chap161toc.html
http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/031/chapter161/chap161toc.html
http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/031/chapter161/chap161toc.html
https://www.insurance.pa.gov/Companies/FilingRequire/Pages/Qualified-Unlicensed-Reinsurers.aspx
https://www.insurance.pa.gov/Companies/FilingRequire/Pages/Qualified-Unlicensed-Reinsurers.aspx
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In addition to the filing requirements outlined above, each reinsurer must maintain the following 
criteria to keep their qualified reinsurer status: 

 
1. Be licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one accredited state or in the 
case of a United States branch of an alien assuming insurer, be entered through and licensed 
to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one accredited state. 

 
2. Maintain a surplus as regards policyholders in an amount that is not less than $20 million. 

 
 
 

 
 

Qualified Unlicensed Reinsurers 
Company Licensing Division 
Pennsylvania Insurance Department 
1345 Strawberry Square 
Harrisburg, PA 17120 
 
Phone: 717.787.2735   
FAX: 717.787.8557 
E-mail: ra-in-companylicense@pa.gov 

CRITERIA 

SEND INQUIRIES, PAYMENTS AND FILINGS TO: 

https://www.insurance.pa.gov/
https://www.insurance.pa.gov/
mailto:ra-in-companylicense@pa.gov
mailto:ra-in-companylicense@pa.gov

