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APPLICATION FOR A PENNSYLVANIA 
BOATING SAFETY EDUCATION CERTIFICATE

Please check the appropriate box and follow the instructions below.

CURRENT INFORMATION (Please PRINT)

PA Certificate No.
(Leave blank if not known)

#

NAME
Last: First: Middle Initial:

MAILING ADDRESS E-mail:

CITY/STATE/ZIP
City: State: Zip Code:

BIRTH DATE DAYTIME
PHONE            (           )                          

DUPLICATE or REPLACEMENT ($5 for each card ordered) – To apply for a duplicate or replacement Pennsylvania 
Fish and Boat Commission (PFBC) certificate, submit this form and payment. This selection is only for persons who 
have previously been issued permanent PFBC certificates.

OTHER CERTIFICATIONS ($10) – To convert a U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, U.S. Power Squadron or other course 
approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) to a PFBC Boating Safety 
Education Certificate, submit this form, a copy of the certificate and payment. If mailing the original, include a  
self-addressed, stamped envelope if you want your current certificate returned.

TEMPORARY to PERMANENT ($10) – To convert a temporary PFBC certificate to a permanent certificate, submit 
this form, a copy of your temporary certificate and payment.

HAIR COLOR ✓
Brown Black
Blond Red

Gray Other

PLEASE CHECK “✓“ THE APPROPRIATE SELECTION IN EACH COLUMN (choose only one each)

EYE COLOR ✓
Brown Gray 
Green Other

Blue

GENDER ✓
Male
Female

                             
Number of Certificates Ordered:    Amount Enclosed:  $                                                   (Do Not Send Cash)

Check or Money Order #                                    Payable to: Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission

Credit Card #                           -                 -                            -                              Exp. Date (ex. 05/2027)

Name as it appears on card (if different from above)

(Discover/MasterCard/Visa ONLY) AMERICAN EXPRESS IS NOT ACCEPTED             

I hereby certify, under penalty of law, that the foregoing information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. I understand that 
submission of false information in connection with this official application may be subject to criminal penalties under 18 Pa. C.S. Ch. 49 and 30 Pa. C.S. Ch. 9.

Applicant’s Signature or Parent/Guardian Signature if Applicant is Younger than 18 Years of Age
✓

Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission 
Bureau of Boating
PO Box 67000
Harrisburg, PA  17106-7000

 Please allow 4 to 6 weeks to receive your permanent certificate.Mail to:    
If card is not received, call 717-705-7851.

Street or P.O. Box No.:

MM/DD/YYYY:
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  Northwest Region 
11528 State Highway 98, Meadville, PA 16335
814-337-0444   Fax 814-337-0579
Counties: Butler, Clarion, Crawford, Erie, Forest, 
Lawrence, Mercer, Venango, Warren.

Southwest Region
236 Lake Road, Somerset, PA 15501
814-445-8974   Fax 814-445-3497
Counties: Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Cambria, 
Fayette, Greene, Indiana, Somerset, Washington, 
Westmoreland. 
Northcentral Region
595 East Rolling Ridge Drive, Bellefonte, PA 16823
814-359-5250   Fax 814-359-5254
Counties: Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, 
Elk, Jefferson, Lycoming, McKean, Montour, 
Northumberland, Potter, Snyder, Tioga, Union.

Southcentral Region
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Susquehanna, Wayne, Wyoming.

Southeast Region
P.O. Box 9, Elm, PA 17521
717-626-0228    Fax 717-626-0486
Counties: Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, 
Lancaster, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton, 
Philadelphia, Schuylkill.
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UNITED STATES COAST GUARD AUXILIARY: 
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www.americasboatingcourse.com
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PFBC Law Enforcement 
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Boaters who have a need to communicate with a Pennsylvania Fish 
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Monday through Friday. 
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Resource Protection 	 23
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HuntFish.PA.gov

•	 Publications 717-705-7835
•	 Boat Registration/Titling 866-262-8734
•	 Law Enforcement 717-705-7861
•	 Boating Safety Education 888-PaFish1 

(888-723-4741)                              
PLEASE NOTE: This information was prepared to provide boaters with 

information they need to know when operating watercraft on Pennsylvania 
waterways. It reviews the Commission’s boating regulations and includes 
information and tips to follow while boating. It does not present the actual laws 
and regulations. This handbook is the text for the Commission’s Pennsylvania Basic 
Boating and Boating and Water Safety Awareness courses. 

The Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission receives federal financial assistance 
from the United States Fish and Wildlife Service. Under Title VI of the 1964 Civil 
Rights Act, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans 
with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 and Title IX of the 
Education Amendments of 1972, the United States Department of the Interior 
prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or 
disability. If you believe that you have been discriminated against in any program, 
activity or facility, or if you need more information, please write to: Office of 
Diversity, Inclusion and Civil Rights Department of the Interior, 1849 C Street, NW 
Washington, D.C. 20240.

Persons with disabilities who wish to participate in a Pennsylvania Fish and Boat 
Commission program and who anticipate the need for special accommodations 
should telephone 717-705-7833. This publication is available on our website 
at fishandboat.com and may also be obtained as a computer file (alternate 
accessible format) by contacting the phone number above. People using a TTY 
should dial Pennsylvania Relay telephone number 711 to contact us. 10/2024

On the cover
Kayaking and 
paddleboarding 
at Marsh Creek 
State Park, Chester 
County. Photo-
PFBC archives.
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BOATING IN PENNSYLVANIA

Pennsylvania Fish and Boat 
Commission

The PFBC is responsible for promoting fishing 
and boating, and regulating and enforcing fishing 
and boating laws and regulations in Pennsylvania. 
Established in 1866, the PFBC is primarily funded 
by Pennsylvania’s boaters and anglers through boat 
registration fees and fishing license revenues. 

Pennsylvania's Boating 
Opportunities

Pennsylvania provides a diversity of recreational 
boating opportunities. The Commonwealth has over 
86,000 miles of rivers and streams ranging from 
small headwaters to large rivers. It has more than 
205,000 surface acres of natural lakes and constructed 
impoundments Lake Erie has 63 miles of shoreline 
and 735 square miles of waters within Pennsylvania's 
boundaries. The Delaware River provides 56 miles 
of tidal waters within Pennsylvania and access to the 
Atlantic Ocean. 

The number of recreational boats on Pennsylvania 
waters continues to increase. Motorboat and unpow-
ered boat registrations in Pennsylvania peaked in 
2012 at more than 332,000 and remains mostly sta-
ble. Over half of these registered boats are less than 
16 feet in length. Unpowered launch permit sales 
peaked in 2021 at 256,555 and leveled off. Many 
unpowered boats in Pennsylvania are launched at 
public or private access areas that do not require a 
boat registration or launch permit.  

Pennsylvania Water Trails
Pennsylvania Water Trails are boat routes suit-

able for canoes, kayaks, paddleboards and some 
motorized watercraft. Like conventional trails, water 
trails are officially designated recreational corridors 
between specific locations. Water trails are com-
prised of access points, boat launches, day use sites 
and, in some cases, overnight camping areas. From 
riffles to rapids, paddling these aquatic highways can 
be a great adventure. Information about water trails 
can be found at pecpa.org/water/pa-water trails.

Boat Motors and Hull Types
MOTORS

There are four primary types of boat motors:
1.	 Outboard motors vary in size and clamp onto 

the transom. The whole motor pivots on its 
mounting to aim the wash and steer the boat. 
The boat turns in the opposite direction that 
the tiller arm is pushed. Electric motors are 
outboards.

2.	 Inboard/outboard (or sterndrive) motors 
are bolted inboard, at the stern, with the drive 
unit through the transom. 

3.	 Inboard motors are mounted lower in the 
boat and farther forward than an inboard/
outboard. A rudder is used to steer. 

4.	 Jet motors use an engine to pump water 
through a nozzle at the stern, which pivots to 
steer the boat.

Many Pennsylvania lakes have specific motor-type 
and horsepower limitations. For more information, 
visit the Commission's website. 

BOAT HULL TYPES
There are two basic types of boat hulls:
1.	Planing hulls are flat-bottomed and skim 

across the water.
2.	Displacement hulls have round bottoms 

and plow through the water. They are more 
stable but not as fast as planing hull boats.

Most boats are a compromise between plan-
ing and displacement hulls (deep-V, modified-V, 
cathedral, etc.). There are also multiple-hulled 
boats such as catamarans and pontoons.

Boating Terminology
Aft- near or at the stern of the boat
Beam- the width of a boat, also the direction 

at right angles to the centerline of a boat 
Bilge- the lowest point of a boat’s interior hull 
Bow- the forward part (toward the front) of 

a boat

Draft- the vertical distance from the water-
line to the lowest point of the keel; it is the 
minimum depth of water in which a boat 
will float

Forward- aboard a boat, the direction to the 
front, to the bow

Freeboard- the vertical distance from the 
waterline to the gunwale

Gunwale- the upper edge of the side of a boat
Hull- the structural body of the boat; it does 

not include superstructure, masts or rigging
Keel- the main structural member of a boat; its 

backbone; the lateral area beneath the hull 
that helps to provide stability and reduce the 
sideways drift of a boat

Life Jacket- also known as a personal flotation 
device, vest or preserver

Port- looking toward the bow, the left side of 
the boat

Starboard- looking toward the bow, the right 
side of the boat 

Stern- the aft (back or rear) portion of the boat.
Transom- the transverse part of the stern 

(where an outboard motor is attached)
Waterline- the intersection of a boat’s hull and 

the water’s surface
USCG- United States Coast Guard
USPS- United States Power Squadrons

HULLS
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LEGAL REQUIREMENTS

Boat Operator Responsibilities
Boat operators are responsible for:
• 	 Knowing the rules and regulations in the 

areas where they boat. 
•	 Knowing the waters where they are boating.
•	 Having the required safety equipment for 

their watercraft.
•	 The actions of all persons on board their boats.

RULE OF RESPONSIBILITY 
DEFINED

NAVIGATION RULES United States Coast Guard 
(USCG), RULE 2, “RESPONSIBILITY” 

“2(a) Nothing in these Rules shall exonerate any 
boat, or the owner, master or crew thereof, 
from the consequences of any neglect to 
comply with these Rules or of the neglect of 
any precaution, which may be required by 
the ordinary practice of seamen, or by the 
special circumstances of the case.”

“2(b) In construing and complying with these 
Rules due regard shall be had to all dangers 
of navigation and collision and to any special 
circumstances, including the limitations of 
the boats involved, which may make a depar-
ture from these Rules necessary to avoid 
immediate danger.”

Boat Classification
Boats are classified according to length, which 

is the horizontal distance from bow (front) to stern 
(back) along the centerline. It excludes any projec-
tions that are not part of the boat’s hull such as an 
outboard motor or swim platform.

Classification determines the minimum required 
equipment. See page 11.

Boat Operation Requirements
In Pennsylvania, it 

is illegal to...
•	 Operate a water-

craft in a reckless, 
negligent or dan-
gerous manner.  
Boats must be 
operated at a rate 
of speed that does 
not endanger the 
life or property of any person.

•	 Operate a boat at greater than slow, no-wake 
speed within 100 feet of the shoreline, docks, 
launch ramps, swimmers or downed skiers, 
persons wading in the water, anchored, 
moored or drifting boats and floats. Slow, 
no-wake speed is the slowest possible speed 
of a motorboat required to maintain maneu-
verability, so the wake or wash created by the 
motorboat on the surface is minimal. The 
slow, no-wake zone for wake surfing activity 
is 200 feet. See page 19.

•	 Operate a motorboat less than 20 feet in 
length at greater than slow no-wake while a 
person is standing on or in the boat.

•	 Operate a motorboat at greater than slow, no-
wake speed with a person riding outside of 
the passenger carrying area or while a person 

Less than 16 feet    16 feet to less
than 26 feet

26 feet to less
than 40 feet

40 feet to
not more than

65 feet

	 Less than 16 feet (Class A) 
Includes jonboats, small runabouts and 
personal watercraft.

	 16 feet to less than 26 feet (Class 1)
Boats used for skiing, fishing and day trips.

	 26 feet to less than 40 feet (Class 2)
Large boats that usually include enclosed cabins.

	 40 feet to not more than 65 feet (Class 3)
Large boats with advanced features.

is riding on the bow decking, gunwales, tran-
som or motor covers.

•	 Operate a pontoon boat at any speed while 
a person is riding outside the passenger 
carrying area.

•	 Cause a boat to become airborne or to leave 
the water completely while crossing another 
boat’s wake when within 100 feet of the boat 
creating the wake.

•	 Weave through congested traffic.
•	 Operate faster than slow, no-wake when 

within 100 feet to the rear or 50 feet to the 
side of another boat that is underway, unless 
in a narrow channel.

•	 Operate within 100 feet of anyone towed 
behind another boat.

•	 Operate a motorboat with anyone sitting, rid-
ing or hanging on a swim platform or swim 
ladder attached to the boat.

•	 NEW REQUIREMENT: Operate a motorboat 
less than 26 feet at greater than slow, no-wake 
speed without an engine cut-off switch attached 
to the operator unless inside an enclosed cabin.

Homeland Security
Strict regulations have been issued relating to 

waterways for national security. Boaters must fol-
low these regulations or be exposed to serious 
penalties. Our mutual security, in part, depends on 
your diligence in reporting suspicious activities that 
you may encounter on the water.

REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL 
WATERCRAFT: 

•	 Stay at least 100 yards from all military, cruise 
line or commercial shipping boats. Violating 
the Naval Vessel Protection Zone is a felony 
offense, punishable by up to 6 years imprison-
ment and/or up to $250,000 in fines.

•	 You must operate at slow, no-wake speed 
within 500 yards of United States naval boats.

•	 Check with local authorities and refer to cur-
rent charts to identify and stay away from 
security zones and port operation areas.

•	 Generally, stay at least 100 yards from military 
areas, cruise lines and petroleum facilities. 
Also, stay away from dams and power plants.

At the request of the Captain of the Port 
or District Commander, an area may also be 
designated a Security Zone. This zone may be 
highlighted in magenta (pink-red coloration) on 
charts to better stand out and warn the public 

aa

OPERATE AT MINIMUM SPEED

001
Yards

  DO NOT                        ENTER

005
sdraY

Many waterways in Pennsylvania have special 
regulations such as electric motors only or horse-
power restrictions. For more information, visit the 
Commission's website.
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to stay clear. Unauthorized boats, without spe-
cific permission to enter, must stay out of these 
marked areas. Armed military, harbor police or 
civilian authorities securing these areas will con-
front violators. 

GUIDELINES:
•	 Do not stop or anchor beneath bridges or in 

a channel. If you do stop, be prepared to be 
boarded by patrolling authorities.

•	 Be observant and report any suspicious activ-
ity to USCG or local authorities.

•	 Always secure and lock your boat when not 
on board.

Minimum Age of Operation
The following age restrictions and boating 

education requirements apply to the operation 
of motorboats. 

Mandatory Boating Education
Boating safety education is important for both 

new and experienced boaters. Knowledgeable 
boaters are safer boaters. Boating courses are fun 
for the entire family. Online courses allow you to 
work at your own pace in the comfort of your own 
home. Classroom courses may be available at loca-
tions throughout the state. Boating safety education 
provides the foundation for safe recreational boat-
ing and should be considered as an introduction 
to safe boating practices. Boating regulations and 

conditions can be expected to change. Therefore, 
the PFBC encourages boaters to take additional 
boating and water safety courses through orga-
nizations such as the United States Coast Guard 
Auxiliary, United States Power Squadrons, 
American Sailing Association, United States 
Sailing Association, American Red Cross and 
American Canoe Association.

BOATING COURSES AND SAFETY 
CERTIFICATES

Boaters who successfully complete a PFBC-
approved boating course are issued a Pennsylvania 
Boating Safety Education Certificate, valid for a 
lifetime of boating safety. 

Boating Safety Education Certificates are required:
•	 To operate a personal watercraft
•	 For persons born on or after January 1, 1982, 

to operate boats powered by motors greater 
than 25 horsepower. 

Approved permanent Boating Safety Education 
Certificates for Pennsylvania residents must be 
issued by the PFBC. Out of state boaters must 
have a certificate issued for a course approved 
by NASBLA.

If you already have your Pennsylvania Boating 
Safety Education Certificate from the PFBC and 
you are applying for a duplicate or replacement 
certificate, you can get a new one for $5 each. To 
obtain one (or more) certificates, find the appli-
cation on page 2 of this booklet or download an 
application from our website.

If you do NOT have a Pennsylvania Boating 
Safety Education Certificate, but you have earned 
a certificate from the United States Coast Guard 
Auxiliary, United States Power Squadrons or 
another approved course, you must mail the 
original certificate issued to you for successfully 
completing that course along with the application 
on page 2 of this booklet to the PFBC or down-
load the application from our website. The cost for 
your new, permanent Pennsylvania Boating Safety 
Education Certificate is $10.

CLASSROOM AND  
INTERNET COURSES

Approved classroom boating courses are available 
from the PFBC, United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, 
United States Power Squadrons and several other 
approved course providers. In addition, the PFBC 
has several approved online courses. Information on 
these providers and their courses is available on the 
PFBC’s website. In some cases, there are fees for the 
courses in addition to the permanent Boating Safety 
Education Certificate fee of $10.

Life Jackets
Personal flotation devices 

(PFDs, life jackets, life preserv-
ers, life vests and throwable 
devices) are the most important 
piece of equipment on a boat; 
life jackets are the best defense 
against drowning. Each person in the boat must 
have a wearable, USCG-approved life jacket! 
The Commission urges all boaters to wear life 
jackets at all times. 

Since boating conditions can change quickly 
and without warning (increasing your chance of 
unexpectedly falling into the water), boating with-
out wearing a properly fitted life jacket is danger-
ous. Trying to put on a life jacket while in the water 
is difficult and nearly impossible in moving water.  

LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS:
•	 All boats must have a USCG-approved wear-

able life jacket on board for each person.
•	 In addition to wearable life jackets, boats 16 

feet and over must have a USCG-approved 
throwable device (ring buoy, life ring or 
buoyant seat cushion) on board. Canoes, 
kayaks and paddleboards, regardless of 
length, are not required to carry a throw-
able device. 

•	 Life jackets must be used in accordance with 
any requirements on the approval label. 

•	 All life jackets must be in good and service-
able condition and legibly marked showing 
the USCG approval number. This means 
the life jacket must be fully functional, 
free of tears or defects in the material. 
All buckles, straps, zippers and other clo-
sures must be operable. 

•	 Wearable life jackets must be “readily 
accessible,” which means that they are out 
in the open ready to wear or that they are 
stowed where they can be easily reached. 
Throwables devices must be “immediately 
available,” which means that the device shall 
be within arm’s reach of the operator or pas-
senger while the boat is operated and can-
not be in a protective covering. A life jacket 
that is sealed in its original packaging is not 
readily accessible or immediately available. 

•	 Life jackets must be the appropriate size for 
the person intended and adjusted to wear.

•	 A throwable device may not be used as a 
substitute for a wearable device.

	

All PWC (personal 
watercraft) operators, 
regardless of age, must 
have a Boating Safety 
Education Certificate. 
Persons 11 years of age or 
younger may NOT operate. 
Persons 12 through 15 
years of age may NOT 
operate with any  	
passengers on  board 15 
years of age or younger or 
rent a PWC.	
None

Persons 11 years of age or 
younger may NOT operate.
Persons born on or after 
January 1, 1982, may not 
operate unless 	they have 
obtained and have in pos-
session a Boating Safety 	
Education Certificate.

0-25hp

Greater
than 25hp

PWC

HP OF MOTOR	 RESTRICTIONS OF USE
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WEARABLE LIFE JACKETS
•	 Life jackets should be inspected regularly 

for tears and damage. If damage is present, 
do not repair the life jacket. Throw it away. 
Repairs to a life jacket may be the weak spot 
that causes a drowning. 

•	 Inflatable life jackets must be checked fre-
quently and maintained according to the 
manufacturer’s recommendations to ensure 
correct operation.

•	 Life jackets must be used in accordance with 
any requirements on the approval label.

•	 Life jackets with old type identification (e.g. 
Type I, Type II, Type III and Type V) are still 
usable as long as life jackets are in good and 
serviceable condition.

WHO MUST WEAR A LIFE JACKET?
•	 Children 12 years old and younger on 

Commonwealth waters when underway in 
any boat 20 feet or less in length and in all 
canoes, kayaks and paddleboards are required 
to wear a life jacket. 

•	 On Pittsburgh District United States Army Corps 
of Engineers lakes (only), everyone in boats less 
than 16 feet in length and in all canoes, kayaks and 
paddleboards are required to wear a life jacket.

•	 All water skiers and anyone towed behind boats, 
personal watercraft operators and passengers 
and sailboarders (windsurfers) are required to 
wear a life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not 
acceptable for these activities.

•	 Boaters are required by law to wear life jackets 
on boats less than 16 feet in length or any canoe, 
kayak or paddleboard during the coldwater 
months from November 1 through April 30.

LIFE JACKET WEAR REQUIRED FROM NOV.1 TO APRIL 30
Boaters must wear a life jacket in boats less than 16 feet in length or any canoe, 
kayak or paddleboard. Recreational boating fatalities that occur in Pennsylvania from 
November through April are primarily due to the effects of cold water immersion. When 
water temperatures are less than 70 degrees F, cold water shock is a major factor in boating 
fatalities. Victims who wear a life jacket when exposed to cold water have potentially life-
saving advantages such as insulation from the cold, buoyancy for victims who are unable 
to tread water and reduced risk of aspiration of water. In an effort to reduce the number 
of fatalities related to cold water immersion, the Commission has amended regulations 
to require life jackets be worn while on small and unstable boats during the period most 
noted for cold water temperatures. 

THROWABLE DEVICES
Throwable device–
minimum 16.5 pounds of 
buoyancy, designed to be 
grasped, not worn.

SPACING–HYPHEN OR EQUIVALENT SPACE 
BETWEEN 3 PARTS OF YOUR NUMBER

 WITHIN 6
INCHES

PLACEMENT ON BOAT:
PAINTED OR ATTACHED TO 
EACH FORWARD HALF OF BOAT

DISPLAY REQUIREMENTS
The letters and numbers must:
•	 Read from left to right.
•	 Be painted or permanently attached to each side on the forward half of the boat, 

where no other number may be displayed.
•	 Be of bold, block letters in good proportion.
•	 Be of a contrasting color to the background.
•	 Be at least 3 inches high.
•	 Be nearly as vertical as possible and easily observed.
•	 Be separated by a hyphen or space equal to the width of any letter or number 

except “I” or “1.”
•	 Have a current registration decal within 6 inches on the same level (before or 

following number).

MAKE SURE THE LIFE JACKET 
FITS—THE “TOUCHDOWN” TEST

For a life jacket to work properly, not only does 
it need to be on your body, it should fit properly 
as well. A properly fitting life jacket is more com-
fortable (meaning you are more likely to wear it), 
but more important, it functions better. Life jack-
ets that are too large can ride up or even come off 
when you are in the water.

It’s easy to check a conventional life jacket for 
proper fit—just put it on. The life jacket should fit 
you snugly with all zippers, straps, ties and snaps 
correctly secured. With a partner behind you, raise 
your arms like you are signaling a touchdown in a 
football game. Have the partner lift the jacket by 
the shoulders. The jacket should come no higher 
than your chin. If the jacket covers your face or 
comes off—that’s what would happen in the water. 
In this case, tighten the straps or use a smaller size. 

Boat Numbering and 
Registration

Boats propelled by machinery and electric motors 
must be numbered, regardless of length and type 
of motor. Boats excluded from numbering include 
unpowered kayaks, sculls and sailboards, docu-
mented vessels and boats with a valid temporary 
certificate. Documented vessels used for recreation-
al purposes must be registered. In Pennsylvania, 
large pleasure boats, usually called yachts, are docu-
mented with the USCG. These documented vessels 
must be registered but need only display a valid 
registration decal.
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Note: All powered and titled boats used for 
pleasure are taxable. 	Proof of payment of sales 
tax is required at the time of registration. 

Launch Permits
Unpowered boats (canoes, kayaks, rowboats, 

stand-up paddleboards, etc.) can be launched 
at Commission lakes and access areas or 
Pennsylvania State Parks and Forests if they 
display a boat registration, Commission launch 
permit or Pennsylvania State Parks launch 
permit. Pennsylvania State Parks recognize boat 
registrations and Commission launch permits. 
An unpowered boat may have a registration OR 
launch permit, but it is not required to have both. 
The Commission does 
NOT recognize launch 
permits from other states. 
A Commission launch 
permit can be purchased 
on the PFBC’s website.

Boat Titling
A certificate of title is a legal document that 

proves ownership. Boat titling is different from 
boat registration, because a certificate of regis-
tration does not prove ownership. A certificate 
of title requires all owners of a boat to sign off 
on their interests when selling and provides 
the purchaser with proper documentation for 
titling and registering a boat. Application forms 
are the same ones used for boat registration and 
are available at county treasurers, certain boat 
dealerships, on the PFBC website, at PFBC’s 
headquarters in Harrisburg and at the PFBC 
regional law enforcement offices.

Boat titling is required for all inboard motor-
boats (regardless of length) and personal water-
craft with a model year of 1997 or newer AND 
all outboard motorboats 14 feet or more in 
length with a model year of 1997 or newer. At 
the request of the owner, the Commission will 
issue a title to any boat, regardless of the length, 
power source or year the boat was manufac-
tured. However, once a title is issued, that boat 
must remain titled by future owners. Also, 
anyone with a boat currently titled in another 
state must obtain a Pennsylvania title when 
Pennsylvania becomes the state of principle use, 
regardless of the age, size or length of the boat.

For titling fees, go to fishandboat.com.
Boat titling assures the buyer of a boat that 

the seller has clear ownership of a boat offered 
for sale. Some lenders won’t finance a boat with-
out a title, so securing a loan to purchase a boat 
may be easier if the boat is titled. Boaters who 
register and title their boats have more security. 
In the event of boat theft, such boats are easier 
to identify (see page 17).

BOAT REGISTRATION 
EXPIRATION DATE CHANGE

As a customer service enhancement, the 
Pennsylvania State Legislature passed a law in 
2022 to align the boat registration period with the 
calendar year. The boat registration expiration date is 
included on your renewal notice and will be included 
on your registration card and validation decals. 

STATE OF PRINCIPAL OPERATION
Boats must be registered in the state in which 

the boat is primarily operated. If the boat is water-
borne (including time at a marina slip or mooring) 
on Pennsylvania waters more than on waters of 
another state, it must be registered in Pennsylvania, 
regardless of where the owner lives. Reciprocal 
privileges are granted to boats with valid registra-
tion in other states for up to 60 days. 

Note: A Pennsylvania Use Tax is charged for any 
boat owned by a Pennsylvania resident if that boat 
is at any time brought into the Commonwealth, 
regardless of where it is registered. There is an 
exception for casual sales of unpowered boats. 
Credit is given for tax paid to other states.

BOAT REGISTRATION FORMS
A Boat Registration Renewal Application is 

mailed to boat owners prior to the expiration 
date. If one has not received the form, boat own-
ers should write to the Division of Licensing and 
Registration or go to:

 

A Duplicate/Replacement Certificate of Regis-
tration can be obtained for $3 through the Division 
of Licensing and Registration. Go to the Comm-
ission’s website to download the form (PFBC-732).

A Change of Address form (PFBC-732) must be 
filed within 15 days at the Division of Licensing 
and Registration. This office must also be notified 
within 15 days if a boat is lost, stolen, destroyed, 
abandoned or sold. 

To transfer boat ownership, form REV-336 
must be completed and signed by the appli-
cant and registered owner(s). If the registered 
owner(s) is/are not available, a bill of sale, 
signed by the registered owner(s), may be 
substituted. Sales tax payment must still be col-
lected if applicable. It is unlawful for a person 
purchasing or acquiring a previously registered 
boat to operate that boat in Pennsylvania until 
the registration is transferred to the new owner. 

A receipt is issued by authorized agents when 
the boat is registered, so the boat can be used 
immediately. It is valid for 60 days. 

BOAT REGISTRATION 
All motorboats and boats powered 

by electric motors must be registered. 
Unpowered boats (canoes, kayaks, 
rowboats, stand-up paddleboards, 
etc.) can be launched at Commission 
lakes and access areas or Pennsylvania 
State Parks and Forests if they display a 
boat registration, Commission launch 
permit or Pennsylvania State Parks launch permit. 
Pennsylvania State Parks recognize boat registrations 
and Commission launch permits. An unpowered 
boat may have a registration OR launch permit, but 
it is not required to have both. The Commission 
does NOT recognize launch permits from other 
states. A Commission launch permit can be 
purchased online.

 Registrations are renewed on a 2-year cycle 
and expire on December 31 of the second year. 
Registrations are valid when issued by the 
Commission and online messengers. Application 
forms are available at county treasurers, certain 
boat dealerships, on the PFBC website, at the 
PFBC’s headquarters in Harrisburg and at the 
PFBC regional law enforcement offices.

For boat registration fees, go to the Commission's 
website or use the QR code under "Boat Registration 
Forms" on this page.

Note: Boats with unpowered boat registrations 
may NOT be equipped with gasoline or electric 
motors or any other mechanical propulsion and 
be operated on Pennsylvania waterways.

Upon the completion of the application and 
the payment of the fee, a registration card and 
two validation decals will be issued. The certifi-
cate of boat registration is your registration card 
and must be on board the boat during operation. 
The certificate also shows the boat registration 
number that must be displayed on the boat. 
The Pennsylvania registration number, issued 
with the original certificate of boat registration, 
stays with the boat as long as it is registered in 
Pennsylvania. It is the boat owner’s responsibil-
ity to purchase the numbers and letters to display 
the registration number on the boat.

Display the number and validation decal 
on the bow of the boat as shown on page 7. No 
other number may be displayed on either side of 
the bow. These numbers may not be removed, 
altered, tampered with or defaced, except by the 
owner or representative. Documented vessels as 
well as kayaks, sculls, sailboards and other low-
volume boats of similar design are exempt from 
the display of numbers, but they must display the 
validation decal. Inflatable boats may carry their 
numbers and validation decal on boards lashed 
to each side of the bow. Canoes are not exempt 
and must display the numbers and the decal.

fishandboat.com
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Capacity Plates
A boat's capacity plate provides important 

information about the boat including maximum 
weight capacity, maximum horsepower, maxi-
mum person capacity by number and maxi-
mum persons capacity by weight. Individuals 
being towed behind a boat (e.g. waterskiers, 
tubers, kneeboarders, wake surfers, parasailers, 
etc.) are considered to be passengers and must 
be counted in regard to the boat’s maximum 
passenger capacity.

Hull Identification 
Number (HIN)

This number is federally required and is 
located on or near the boat transom’s upper star-
board (right) side. Also, the HIN is hidden by the 
manufacturer on the boat for recovery purposes. 
HINs are 12 characters in length and may be 17 
characters on newer boats.

Night Operation and Lights
All boats must show required running lights 

between the hours of sunset and sunrise and 
during periods of restricted visibility such as 
fog and heavy rain. During such times, no other 
lights may be displayed, except those that can-
not be mistaken for the required lights or do not 
impair their visibility or distinctive character, or 
interfere with keeping a proper lookout. A sail-
boat operating under power and sail must dis-
play the proper running lights for a powerboat. 
Navigation lights are restricted to the colors red, 
green and white. Navigation lights are designed 
to identify the type of boat and its situation 
(underway, direction of travel, at anchor, etc.) on 
the water. Boats underway include drifting boats. 
Night boaters should carry spare bulbs, fuses, 
batteries and a flashlight.

The navigation lights required for boats are 
determined by the boat’s length and whether it 
is powered by machinery, sail, paddles or oars. 

ACBF0930A686

Key to Month 
of Production
A=January
B=February
C=March
D=April
E=May
F=June
G=July
H=August
I=September
J=October
K=November
L=December

ACB
Manufacturer's

ID Code

86
Model

Year

A6
Month, Year

of Production

F0930
Production
or Serial #

Type of Boat	 Length	 Figure
Powerboat 	 < 12 meters	 1, 2 or 3
Powerboat 	 12 - 20 meters 	 1 or 2
Sailboat (sail only) 	 < 20 meters 	 4, 5 or 6
Sailboat (sail only) 	 Any	 4, 5 or 6
Sailboat (sail only) 	 < 7 meters	 7B This is a white light either hand-held or installed 		
			   ready to be displayed in time to avoid a collision.
Manually powered 	 Any 	 7A This is a white light either hand-held  or installed 		
			   ready to be displayed in time to avoid a collision.
Anchored 	 Any 	 7C This is an all-round white light visible for at least 		
			   2 miles and displayed where it can best be seen.   
			   An anchor light is not required but highly recommended 		
			   when anchored in a special anchorage area.  

The charts on this page show which lights are required.
         Conversions:  7 meters = 23', 12 meters = 39’4", 20 meters = 65’6"   < = less than

DOCKING LIGHTS: It is illegal to use docking lights while underway, except when 
docking and the boat is traveling at slow, no-wake speed and is within 100 feet of 
approaching a dock, a mooring buoy or the shoreline. A docking light is a flood or 
spotlight type of light permanently installed or permanently mounted on a motor-
boat that is used to illuminate a boat’s forward course of travel.

No boat shall be 
loaded beyond its 
safe carrying capacity. 
Observe and under-
stand the capacity plate.
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 77TH MERIDIAN TIME: SUNRISE AND SUNSET AT HARRISBURG
EASTERN STANDARD TIME and EASTERN DAYLIGHT TIME when in effect.

Dates Rise  Rise  Rise  

Jan 1-5 7:30  4:54 May 4-10 5:59  8:09

Sept  14-20 6:51 

 

7:12Jan 6-12 7:30  4:59 May 11-17 5:52  8:16

Sept  21-27 6:57 

 

7:01Jan 13-19 7:28  5:06 May 18-24 5:46  8:23

Sept   28-Oct 4 7:05 

 

6:47Jan 20-26 7:24  5:15 May 25-31 5:42  8:28

Oct 5-11 7:11 

 

6:38Jan 27-Feb 2 7:18  5:24 Jun1-7 5:39  8:33

Oct 12-18 7:19 

 

6:27Feb 3-9 7:12  5:32 Jun 8-14 5:37  8:37

Oct 19-25 7:26 

 

6:17Feb 10-16 7:04  5:40 Jun 15-21 5:38  8:40

7:34 

 

6:08Feb 17-23 6:55  5:47 Jun 22-28 5:39  8:41

Nov 2-8 6:42 

 

5:00Feb 24-Mar 1 6:45  5:56 Jun 29-Jul 5 5:42  8:41

Nov 9-15 6:50

 

4:53Mar 2-8 6:34  6:04 Jul 6-12 5:47  8:39

Nov 16-22 6:58 

 

4:48Mar 9-15 7:23  7:12 Jul 13-19 5:52  8:35

Nov 23-29 7:06 

 

4:44Mar 16-22 7:12  7:19 Jul 20-26 5:58  8:30

Nov 30-Dec 6 7:13 

 

4:41Mar 23-29 7:00  7:26 Jul 27-Aug 2 6:03  8:24

Dec 7-13 7:20 

 

4:41Mar 30-Apr 5 6:47  7:35 Aug 3-9 6:10  8:16

Dec 14-20 7:25

 

Apr 6-12 6:38  7:41 Aug 10-16 6:17  8:07

Dec 21-27 7:28 

 

4:47Apr 13-19 6:27  7:48 Aug 17-23 6:24  7:57

Dec 28-31 7:30 

 

4:51Apr 20-26 6:17  7:55 Aug 24-30 6:31  7:46  

Apr 27-May 3 6:08  8:02 Aug 31-Sept 6 6:38  7:34

Sept 7-13 6:44 7:24

4:43

Oct 26-Nov 1

Set Dates SetSet Dates

80 78 77 76 7579

    Times
of Sunrise
and
Sunset at 
Harrisburg, 
    PA

80 78 77 76 7579
+12 Min. + 8 Min. + 4 Min. 0 Min. - 4 Min. - 8 Min.

MERIDIAN MAP (77th Meridian Time)

ERIE

CRAWFORD

WARREN McKEAN POTTER TIOGA BRADFORD
SUSQUEHANNA

WAYNE

PIKE

LACKAWANNA

WYOMING

LUZERNE

VENANGO

FOREST
ELK CAMERON

CLEARFIELD

JEFFERSON
CLARION

MERCER

LAWRENCE

BUTLER

CAMBRIA
INDIANA

SOMERSET

WESTMORELAND

ALLEGHENY

WASHINGTON

FAYETTE
GREENE

SULLIVAN

LYCOMING
CLINTON

MONROE

NORTHAMPTON

LEHIGH

BUCKS

SCHUYLKILL

COLUMBIAMONTOUR

SNYDER
NORTHUMBERLAND

BERKS
MONTGOMERY

PHILADELPHIA

CHESTER
DELAWAREBEDFORD

FULTON

HUNTINGDON

BLAIR

FRANKLIN
ADAMS YORK

LANCASTER

LEBANON

DAUPHIN

CUMBERLAND

PERRY

JUNIATAMIFFLIN

CENTRE

ARMSTRONG
BEAVER

UNION CARBON

Sound-producing Devices
Motorboats less than 65 feet in length 

must carry some mechanical means of 
making a sound signal. This device 
may be hand-, mouth- or power-
operated. An athletic coach’s whistle is 
an acceptable device for small motor-
boats. Operators of unpowered boats 
(canoes, kayaks, rowboats, paddleboards) 
are required to carry a device capable of sounding 
a prolonged blast for 4-6 seconds that can be heard by 
another boat operator in time to avoid a collision. An ath-
letic coach’s whistle is acceptable.

Visual Distress Signals (VDS)
According to USCG navigation rules, boat operators 

are required to render assistance to a boat in distress to 
the extent they are able. When operating on federally 
controlled waters, boaters must carry VDS devices. 
This includes boats navigating on federal waters such 
as coastal waters, the Great Lakes (including Lake Erie), 
territorial seas and bodies of water connected directly to 
any of these up to the point where the body of water is less 
than 2 miles wide. 

In Pennsylvania, VDS devices are required only for boats 
operating on Lake Erie. Between the hours of sunset and 
sunrise, boats less than 16 feet in length must carry VDS 
suitable for use at night. Boats 16 feet and over in length 
must, at all times, carry devices suitable for day use and 
devices suitable for night use or devices suitable for use 
both day and night.

Approved day-use-only devices include orange smoke 
(hand-held or floating) and orange signal flags. Flares are 
approved for both day and night use. If flares are selected, 
a minimum of three must be carried. Three day/night 
signaling devices meet both requirements.

All VDS must be USCG approved, have legible approval 
numbers, be in serviceable condition and be readily 
accessible. VDS are not acceptable if the expiration date 
has passed. Though only required on Lake Erie, VDS are 
practical safety items for all boaters to carry. 

Flares are of short duration. Use them only when another 
boat is in sight. When igniting a flare, hold it over the water 
on the downwind (leeward) side. Flares are not toys. Use 
them only in an emergency.

CAP
EXPIRATION DATE

HAND-HELD FLARE

RED HAND-HELD 
FLARE

CG APPROVAL NUMBER

RED METEOR
FLARE

3' X 3'
DISTRESS FLAG

RED 
PARACHUTE FLARE

ORANGE 
HAND-HELD

SMOKE SIGNAL

USCG-APPROVED 
ELECTRIC SOS 

DISTRESS LIGHT



11Pennsylvania Boating Handbook				                                               	 fishandboat.com

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS

Minimum Required Equipment
Ensure boats are equipped with the proper safety equipment. The chart below provides a summary of the minimum equipment for boats. For more 

information, go to fishandboat.com.

Fire Extinguishers
Fire extinguishers are classified by letters and 

numbers. The letter indicates the type of fire the 
unit is designed to extinguish. For example, a type B 
extinguisher is meant to put out flammable liquids, 
and type C is for electrical fires. The number stands 
for the amount of extinguishing agent in the unit. 

Acceptable portable fire 
extinguishers for marine 
use are classified as B-I, 
B-II, 5-B or 20-B. One 5-B 
is equivalent to one B-I 
extinguisher, and one 20-B 
is equivalent to two 5-B extinguishers.

Motorboats 26 feet or more in length are required 
to carry hand portable fire extinguishers. Motorboats 
less than 26 feet in length, powered by an outboard 
motor and not carrying passengers for hire are not 
required to carry fire extinguishers unless boats have 
one or more of the following conditions:

•	 Closed compartments under seats where por-
table fuel tanks may be stored

•	 Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or not 
completely filled with flotation material

•	 Closed living spaces
•	 Closed storage compartments in which flam-

mable materials are stowed
•	 Permanently installed fuel tanks
Fire extinguishers must be in good and serviceable 

working condition including:
•	 Not expired
•	 Pressure gauge reading or indicator in the oper-

able range or position, if applicable
•	 Lock pin firmly in place
•	 Discharge nozzle clean and free of obstruction
•	 No visible sign of significant corrosion or damage

Fire Extinguisher Use
Fire extinguishers must be immediately available and 

installed (mounted away from the fuel source). They 

Pull pin

Aim at base of fire

Squeeze handle

Sweep side to side 
using short bursts,
1⁄2 to 1 second each

Carburetor Backfire Flame Control
Gasoline engines except outboards must have an 

approved (USCG, SAE or UL) backfire flame control 
on the carburetor to prevent ignition of gasoline 
vapors in case the engine backfires. It should be 
maintained regularly and can be cleaned with hot, 
soapy water or a commercial cleaner.

Noise Restrictions and Muffling 
Devices

Boat motors must be equipped with an efficient 
muffling system or device in good working order. 
Most boats and motors that come directly from the 
manufacturer are adequately muffled. It is illegal for a 
boat to be so loud that it is an extraordinary annoyance 
or distraction to people in the vicinity of that boat. Boat 
exhaust systems may not be modified in any manner 
that will reduce or eliminate the effectiveness of the 
muffler or muffler system. 

Cutouts (muffler bypasses) are illegal in Pennsylvania. 
Boats without a muffler or muffling system must be 
backfitted before being operated.

A
B
C

Recommended Equipment 
(NOT REQUIRED BY LAW)
  Paddles or oars                                     		
  Anchors with sufficient line                    	
  Dock lines                                             			 
  Extra clothing			 
  Food and water              	 		
  Marine radio or cellular phone			 
  Tool kit with spare spark plugs            	
  Flashlight                                              			 
  Portable fire extinguisher		                       
  Bailer 
  Fenders		
	First aid kit
	Charts and compass
	Sunscreen and sunglasses
	Spare fuses and bulbs
	Gas can
	Extra line or throw bag
	Visual distress signals
		  (required on Lake Erie)











         










must be fully charged, in 
usable (good) condition and 
inspected regularly. Make 
sure everyone on your boat 
knows the location of the 
fire extinguisher and its use. 
Operation of a fire extin-
guisher is rather simple. Just 
remember PASS.

EQUIPMENT Less than 16 feet 16 to less 
than 26 feet

26 to less 
than 40 feet

40 to not more 
than 65 feet

LIFE JACKETS One USCG-approved wearable life jacket for each person on board. Life jackets must be properly sized, 
serviceable and readily accessible. 

THROWABLE 
FLOTATION DEVICES

Not required. One throwable device must be carried on board. Canoes, kayaks and 
paddleboards, regardless of length, are not required to carry a throwable device.

SOUND-
PRODUCING 
DEVICE

Means of making a sound signal audible for 1/2-mile. A whistle or horn must be readily accessible to the boat 
operator. An athletic coach’s whistle is acceptable.

NAVIGATION 
LIGHTS

Boats must use navigation lights from sunset to sunrise or during periods of reduced visibility. A signal light 
or flashlight is acceptable for unpowered boats.

PORTABLE FIRE 
EXTINGUISHER 

At least one 5-B portable fire extinguisher. Not required 
if boat has no compartments or fixed fuel tanks.

At least two portable 
5-B fire extinguishers 
or one 20-B.

At least three 
5-B portable fire 
extinguishers or one 5-B 
and one 20-B.

ENGINE CUT-OFF 
SWITCH

If equipped, use of engine cut-off switch required 
when operating at greater than slow, no-wake speed 
unless operator is in fully enclosed cabin.

Not required.

VENTILATION Boats with inboard gas-powered engines must be equipped with an efficient natural or mechanical bilge 
ventilator. Blower(s) should be operated for 4 minutes prior to starting or restarting engine(s).

MUFFLING DEVICE Efficient muffling device is required to prevent excessive or unusual noise.

BACKFIRE FLAME  
CONTROL

One approved device on each carburetor of all inboard gasoline engines.

VISUAL DISTRESS  
SIGNALS–VDS  
(required only on  
Lake Erie)

USCG-approved VDS for 
night use are required 
only for operation from 
sunset to sunrise.

USCG-approved VDS for day use and night use are required at all times.

From November 1 to April 30, boaters are required to wear life jackets on boats less than 16 feet in length 
or any paddleboard, kayak or canoe.
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Safe boat operation is coupled with prepa-
ration, prevention and practice. Each time 
before you start out on your next boating 
trip, follow these guidelines for maintenance, 
departure, trailering, launching and retriev-
ing, docking, rules of navigation, night opera-
tion and anchoring.

Pre-departure Checklist 
To ensure a safe and problem-free boating 

experience, make a checklist of items similar to 
the one below, and use it before each trip:
 	 Life jackets: Examine each life jacket for 

condition and ensure you have the cor-
rect number and sizes, appropriate for the 
intended activity on board.
	Weather: Check the weather forecast for 

the area and time frame you will be boating.
	Float plan: Be sure to leave a float plan 

with a family member, friend, neighbor or 
a marina operator. See page 24.
	Fuel: Make certain you have enough fuel 

and know where you can refuel. Use the  
1/3 rule: 1/3 tank for your trip, 1/3 tank to 
return to dock or launch ramp and 1/3 tank 
for emergency use.
	Battery and fire extinguishers: Be sure 

the engine battery is fully charged and your 
fire extinguishers are properly charged.
	Boat check: Use the checklist under 

“Preventative Boat Maintenance” to make 
sure your boat is in safe, operable condition.
	 Conduct an onboard safety discus-

sion with passengers: Everyone on board 
needs to know in advance what is expected 
of them and where they can find needed 
equipment. The discussion should include 
information on the location and proper 
use of life jackets (PFDs), fire extinguish-
ers, visual distress equipment and first-aid 
kit. Explain emergency procedures; rules 
prohibiting discharging waste overboard; 
basic operation of the marine radio (if one 
is installed); other items such as boat opera-
tion, weather and/or water conditions, 
anchoring procedures, docking and line 
handling and the dangers of falling over-
board and being struck by the propeller.

Preventative Boat Maintenance
Inspecting your boat and equipment before 

you launch or leave the dock can prevent many 
possible problems. Examine onboard safety 
equipment including life jackets and throwable 
devices (sizes and condition), fire extinguishers, 
bailers, anchor, motor, fuel, electrical systems, 
through-hull fittings and accessory attachments. 
Follow the owner’s manual for regular mainte-
nance on the boat and equipment; this will mini-
mize problems afloat. Here are some other tips:

Hull condition: 
•	 Check for any cracks or crazing.
•	 Ensure the hull sounds solid.
•	 Pull on the transom to ensure that it is solid.
•	 Make sure there is a drain plug and it is 

in place.
•	 Drain all water from the engine compartment.
•	 Check the bilge for any water. Check for 

cracks around the fittings, above and below 
the waterline and around chain plates, 
cleats, etc.

Rigging and sails:
•	 Check for signs of 

wear or fraying.
•	 Repair small tears 

or open seams by 
taping or sewing.

•	 Keep lines clean and 
store in a dry area 
out of the sun.

Engines, fuel 
tanks and lines, mechanical:
•	 Follow the manufacturer’s maintenance plan.
•	 Check for fuel leaks from the tank, carburetor, 

engine compartment and fuel lines.
•	 Check hose connections for leaks or cracks, 

and make sure hose clamps are secure.
•	 Examine the ignition safety switch and 

lanyard for wear and proper operation.
•	 Check for proper operation of steering and 

other controls.
•	 Drain the fuel tank at the end of 

the season or use a fuel stabilizer.

Check for signs of wear  
and corrosion:
•	 Check for cracks or leaks.
•	 Check for firm hoses, free of leaks, and use 

double clamps.
•	 Make sure the backfire arrestor is attached 

and serviceable.
•	 Check belts, the battery for corrosion and 

anything unusual.

Leave a Float Plan
Let others know before you go: A float plan 

should be filled out and left with a reliable 
person before you leave on all boating trips. 
The plan lets others know where you are going, 
when you expect to return, who is going with 
you and what emergency measures or rescue 
organization should be notified in the event 
you do not return as scheduled. Remember 
to contact the person you left the float plan 
with when you return. In addition to leaving a 
paper copy of a float plan behind, many boaters 
are also providing e-mail versions of their 
float plan with others. Complete the float plan 
available on the Commission's website or page 24 
before going boating, and leave it with a friend. 

Trailering
Trailering is a package deal, which includes the 

boat, trailer, hitch and tow vehicle. Everything 
must be compatible. The tow vehicle hitch 
must match the trailer ball. The hitch should be 
mounted to the frame of the towing vehicle. Do 
not use bumper hitches. Trailer tires must have 
sufficient load-bearing capacity and be appropri-
ate for the trailer. Practice is a key aspect of traile-
ring. Before taking your boat on the road, use an 
empty parking lot to practice turning, parking 
and backing up. Before towing your boat:

•	 Check your tires.
•	 Make sure your wheel bearings are greased.
•	 Ensure the trailer hitch is firmly on the 

trailer ball, and it is latched and secured 
with a pin or lock.

•	 Cross and attach the trailer safety chains to 
the tow vehicle in an “X” pattern. Trailer safe-
ty chains should not drag (required by law).

•	 Make sure your lights work with your vehi-
cle (required by law).

•	 Secure the winch, other tie down straps 
and any loose items. 

•	 Always carry a spare tire for your trailer.
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Launching and Retrieving
Prepare your boat well away from the boat 

ramp, so you do not block ramp traffic. Before 
you launch, it is helpful to make sure you have 
not missed any important points:

•	 Put the plug in.
•	 Raise the motor.
•	 Disconnect trailer wiring and tie-downs.
•	 Tie a line to the bow to maintain control of 

the boat.
•	 Slowly back your boat trailer into the water, 

and set the emergency brake.
•	 Disconnect and secure the winch and safe-

ty chain from the bow.
•	 Push or motor the boat off the trailer while 

somebody holds the bow line.
Retrieval is the opposite of launching.

Boarding
Stability is important when boarding a small 

boat. Wearing a life jacket when boarding is a 
common sense safety precaution. Passengers 
should steady the boat from the dock or shore 
while the operator boards. Maintain three points 
of contact when boarding and moving about 
a boat. Once in, the operator should steady the 
boat for others. When boarding, everyone should 
keep his or her weight as low and as close to the 
boat’s center as possible. Holding onto the gun-
wales is the best way for boarders to keep steady.

Equipment and gear should be loaded onto the 
boat one item at a time, handing it to someone 
already on board. The load should be evenly dis-
tributed and secured, so it doesn’t shift. 

Boat Trim
Boat trim (the way a boat floats) is vital in a 

small boat. Weight should be distributed in the 
boat to keep the bow light. Keep the boat from 
listing (leaning to one side) by distributing 
weight equally from side to side. Sudden, sharp 
turns should be avoided, and the boat’s capacity 
must never be exceeded.

Boat Handling
All boats handle differently, and inexperienced 

operators need hands-on practice with a capable 
teacher to become proficient in handling their 
boat. A motorboat is most easily maneuvered 
going against the current or wind. When moving 

with the current, the boat must be going faster 
than the speed of the current to maintain control 
and maneuverability. Boats do not have brakes. 
To reduce speed quickly, the motor should be put 
in reverse and power applied. Stopping in this 
manner requires practice to avoid water washing 
in over the stern. Consult the owner’s manual for 
proper procedures.

Docking
Docking is a difficult maneuver, especially for 

the new boater. Learning to dock also requires 
practice with a capable teacher. When docking, a 
boater must keep in mind that the boat’s steering 
mechanism is located at the stern (back), which 
will move first, followed by the bow (front of 
the boat). Docking is similar to landing an air-
plane; you must encounter a fixed object but do 
so softly without inflicting damage. At the same 
time, environmental conditions such as current, 
wind and waves can make your approach more 
complicated.

Depending on the situation, docking proce-
dures vary. Fenders, mooring lines, a boat hook 
and a heaving line should be ready. The approach 
to the dock should be planned. If possible, the 
boat should be headed into the current and/or 
wind to slow down and to more easily control 
it. A common method when docking in current 
is to slip the boat sideways bit by bit toward the 
dock, pier or slip. When docking correctly, the 
boat feels like it is moving in slow motion. After 
docking, a line should be secured from the dock 
to the bow of the boat. The current will hold the 
boat against the dock while the remaining lines 
are tied off.

A docking light is a flood or spotlight type 
of light permanently installed or permanently 
mounted on a motorboat that is used to illumi-
nate a boat’s forward course of travel. For specific 
information on illegal use of docking lights, see 
page 9.

DOCKING TECHNIQUES
Although there are subtle docking differences 

between propulsion systems and watercraft, 
the following guidelines apply to most docking 
conditions:

1.	 Survey the dock: Look for moving 
boats and traffic, available hands and the 
locations of cleats or pilings.
2.	 Visualize your approach: Determine 
which side is better. Identify what lines you 
intend to use and who will do what. 
3.	 Plan an exit strategy: If things don’t go 
according to plan, back out and try again 
rather than continue a flawed approach. 

Also, consider approaching from another 
direction or selecting another dock. Plan 
for a no-escape situation: if you get into 
a situation from which escape is difficult, 
use spring lines with dock hands or fel-
low boaters on the dock to help keep you 
in control.
4.	 Approach slowly: Docking is no place 
for speed. Relax and stay focused.
5.	 Use only the power necessary to move 
the boat and maintain control. Alternating 
between idle speed in gear and drifting in 
neutral is one way to slow your movement. 
Apply brief bursts of power to help with 
steering and then shift to neutral to limit 
your speed.
6.	 Deploy boat fenders or other devices 
to protect the hull.
7.	 Use a boat hook to pull the boat closer 
to dock. If someone is available, hand them 
a line. Do not jump from the boat to dock. 

Additional docking tips for specific 
situations. 

With wind or current ahead: Approach at a 
moderate angle (about 15 to 20 degrees) 
slowly and with fenders and lines at the 
ready. As you touch the dock, reverse 
power to halt your advance and hand a line 
to a dock hand. If no dock hand is avail-
able, use a boat hook or have a crew mem-
ber step (not jump) from the boat to the 
dock to secure the line.

With wind or current behind: In this situ-
ation, your big concern is pin wheeling. 
If the wind or current takes the stern, do 
not tie the bow first. Slow your approach 
by throttling back. Your angle should be a 
slight 5 to 10 degrees—coming alongside 
the pier. Reverse throttle slightly to still 
your approach; tie an aft quarter spring line. 
Then, tie your bow; tie remaining lines.

With wind or current off the pier: This is 
more challenging. You will need to increase 
the angle of your approach and use just 
enough power to reach and hold the dock. 
Have a crew member toss the line to a 
dock hand or carefully step on the dock 
to secure the line. You will be using power 
against a spring line to pull the boat par-
allel to the dock and hold it until you are 
secured by lines. 

With wind or current toward the pier: Line 
up next to the pier, and let the wind take 
you in.
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•	 Nun buoys: These are cone-shaped 
red buoys with even numbers and 
mark the edge of a channel on a 
boaters starboard (right) side when 
entering from the open sea or head-
ing upstream.

•	 Can buoys: These are cylindrical-
shaped green buoys with odd 
numbers and mark the edge of the 
channel on your port (left) side 
when entering from the open sea 
or heading upstream.

Information and regulatory mark-
ers are used to alert boaters of various 
warnings and regulatory matters. These regulatory 
markers are white can buoys with orange shapes and 
black lettering.

SAFE SPEED
A boater’s speed of operation will vary accord-

ing to the weather, water conditions, time of day or 
night, other boat traffic and individual boat char-
acteristics. Safe speed allows the operator to be in 
control and take correct action to avoid a collision.

RISK OF COLLISION
A risk of collision exists when there is the 

possibility that two boats will arrive at the same 
point on the water at the same time. The first 
indication of a risk of collision is when one operator 
notices that another boat has a constant bearing (or 
constant relative position) and a decreasing range 
(the other boat is getting closer). When this occurs, 
the Rules of the Road make one boat either a stand-
on (privileged) boat or a give-way (burdened) boat 
(explanation follows). The risk of collision ends 
when both boats have avoided the collision by 
proper action under the rules and are moving safely 
away from each other.

Departing
When departing, your boat will naturally 

point into the current or wind—whichever is 
dominant. If the current is strong, be prepared 
to counter it, especially if there are boats astern 
of you.

Untie the line and toss it from the bow, mak-
ing sure the line is far enough away that it won’t 
foul the propeller. It’s easiest if a member of your 
crew does this for you, because you may need to 
apply some power in forward gear to maintain 
your position. If you have to do this yourself, get 
to the helm quickly to take control. Do not apply 
propulsion and leave the helm to go to the bow.

Once you’re free, drift backward until you 
have clearance. Apply light forward throttle 
while also turning to go around rather than over 
the mooring line. Once you’ve moved to the side, 
power away. 

Boat Navigation Rules
The navigation rules contained in this hand-

book are a summary for which a boat operator 
is responsible on inland waterways and Lake 
Erie. Additional and more in-depth rules apply 
regarding various types of waterways (such as 
International Waters and Western Rivers) and 
operation in relation to commercial boats and 
other watercraft. It is the responsibility of a boat 
operator to know and follow navigation rules. 
In states where Inland Rules do not apply, the 
equivalent International Waters, Western Rivers 
or Great Lakes rule(s) may be substituted. For a 
complete listing of the navigation rules, refer to 
the document “Navigation Rules” published by 
the USCG (COMDTINST 16672.2 Series). This is 
available through the United States Government 
printing office or online at www.navcen.uscg.gov. 
Refer to the state laws where you intend to boat for 
state-specific navigation requirements.

The purpose of the navigation rules (rules of 
the road) is to prevent collisions. Since there are 
no traffic lines and few signs on the water, boat 
operators must make choices. Common sense is 
required, but boaters must also know the rules of 
the road. Operators are responsible for:  

•	 The safety of all passengers in the boat.
•	 The boat’s wake and any damage caused 

by it.
•	 Maintaining a proper lookout and operat-

ing at a safe speed for the conditions.
•	 Using good seamanship, which is the foun-

dation of the navigation rules.

PROPER LOOKOUT
Boat operators must maintain a proper look-

out at all times when operating a boat. Collisions 
and other types of accidents can be avoided by 
scanning around the boat for swimmers, other 
boats and obstructions. Listening for dangerous 

situations is also a part of maintaining a proper 
lookout. Passengers should be asked to assist.

AIDS TO NAVIGATION (ATON)
 The closest things to 

signs on the water are aids 
to navigation (ATON). The 
purpose of ATON is to help 
boaters avoid problems on 
the water and for navigation 
when used in combination 
with a nautical chart. ATON 
includes buoys and daymarks 
(or dayboards). The United 
States Aids to Navigation 
System has been adopted by 
the Commission for use on all 
Commonwealth waters. Boaters should learn this 
system and presume nothing. Navigational aids 
are often moved by the Coast Guard, the PFBC, 
storms, heavy currents or vandals.

In the United States Aids to Navigation System, 
markers designate the edges of a channel and 
the direction of open water. The colors of these 
markers are important. Red markers indicate 
that boaters should navigate with the markers 
on their starboard (right) side when traveling 
upstream. Remember the slogan “Red, Right 
Return” to find your way home to port. Green 
markers indicate that boaters should navigate 
with the markers on their port (left) side when 
traveling upstream. Red markers have even num-
bers, and green markers have odd numbers.

To aid visibility, these buoys may also have 
lights that match their color. Further distinction 
between buoys is recognized by their shape: 

CONTROLLED AREA!
Area as indicated in 
circle such as speed limit, 
no �shing, no anchoring, 
ski only, slow-no wake, 
no prop boats or no ski.

MOORING BUOY
White with re�ectorized 
blue band. May have 
white light or re�ector.

BOATS KEEP OUT!
Nature of danger may 
be placed outside 
crossed diamond 
such as dams, 
swim areas or rapids.

DANGER!
Nature of danger may 
be indicated inside the 
diamond shape such as 
rocks, shoals, dams, 
construction or stumps.

INFORMATION
Tells directions, distances, 
places, food, repairs, supplies 
and other non-regulatory 
messages.

MID CHANNEL
Lateral System.
Pass close on
either side.

CHANNEL
Lateral System. 
Buoy on starboard 
side facing upstream.

CHANNEL
Lateral System. 
Buoy on port side
facing upstream.

8

9
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OVERTAKING (PASSING) SITUATIONS     
The boat being passed is the stand-on boat. It must maintain its course and speed while the 

overtaking (give-way) boat passes by. The overtaking boat is always the give-way boat, and it may 
pass on either side.

CROSSING SITUATION
  All boats have a danger zone from dead ahead (12 o’clock) to 4 o’clock (112.5 degrees) starboard (the 

right). In a crossing situation, the boat in the danger zone (ahead and to the right) is the stand-on boat. 
The give-way boat must stop or slow down and let the stand-on boat continue on. If the give-way boat 
does not take the required action in this situation or any of the other situations, then the stand-on boat 
operator must be prepared to take action to avoid a collision.

STAND-ON AND GIVE-WAY BOAT 
Under the Rules, the stand-on boat is required to 

maintain its course and speed. The give-way boat 
is required to stop or slow down or, when overtak-
ing, to pass the other boat in a safe manner. Under 
no circumstances should the stand-on boat assume 
that the give-way boat is going to take the action 
required to avoid a collision. Both operators are 
required to avoid a collision in any situation. 

CHANGE IN BEARING - DECREASING RANGE

3300

3300

3300

0100

300 YARDS

400 YARDS

100 YARDS

100 YARDS

CONSTANT BEARING - DECREASING RANGE

PORT

STARBOARD

STARBOARD

PORT

GIVE-WAY
BOATGIVE-WAY

BOAT

1 BLAST

1 BLAST

Rules for Power-driven Boats 
Underway
HEAD-ON (MEETING) SITUATION 

When two boats meet head-on, both boats are 
required to turn starboard (to the right) to avoid 
the other. At night, a head-on situation exists 
when both the red and the green running lights 
are seen at the same time. Lights required on boats 
are explained previously in this handbook. Sound 
signals used when maneuvering are explained on 
this page.

STAND-ON
BOAT

GIVE-
WAY

BOAT

"DANGER ZONE"
FROM DEAD AHEAD
TO 112.50 or 22 1/20  
ABAFT THE
STARBOARD BEAM

STARBOARD

PORT
GIVE-WAY

BOAT

STAND-ON
BOAT

PORT

STARBOARD

1350

Sound Signals
Sound signals should be made when 

within hearing distance of another boat 
to indicate your intentions when meeting, crossing or 
overtaking another boat. Your signal should receive 
a response signal from the other boat indicating their 
agreement or disagreement with your intentions.

Short Blast- 1-second duration  	
Prolonged Blast- 4 to 6 seconds duration
1 Short Blast- I intend to leave you on my port side 

(boat turns right).
2 Short Blasts- I intend to leave you on my starboard 

side (boat turns left).
3 Short Blasts- I am operating in reverse (astern 

propulsion).
5 or More Short Blasts- Doubt or danger—the 

danger signal is used when the other boat's 
intentions are not understood or where the other 
boat's indicated course is dangerous.
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Marine weather (WX-1, WX-2, WX-3) sta-
tions broadcast the latest available weather 
information from the National Weather Service 
continually. Forecasts are updated every 6 
hours or more often as conditions require.

Anchoring
It is essential that every boater becomes 

proficient in anchoring. Some anchoring 
considerations include:

•	 Type and weight of the boat
•	 Character of the bottom in the area you 

are boating (rocky, sandy)
•	 Average depth of the water
•	 Strength of the wind and current
•	 Diameter of the anchor line
There are different types of anchors: kedge 

for rocks and heavy grasses, burying for sand 
and mud and mushroom for permanent 
moorings. The two questions boaters should 
ask themselves about anchoring are: which 
type of anchor will they need and how much 

rode (the length of the 
anchor line) is necessary.

Anchors hold best 
when the pull of the rode 
on the anchor is as near 
to horizontal as possible. 

Other Important Rules of  
the Road

•	 A power-driven boat must give way to any 
sailing boat that is under sail only (no aux-
iliary power propulsion). 

Exceptions:
•	 When a sailboat is overtaking a power-

driven boat, the power-driven boat is 
the stand-on boat and maintains course 
and speed while being overtaken.

•	 When a sailboat is approaching a 
boat at anchor, the power-driven boat 
remains anchored.

•	 In narrow channels, recreational boats 
under 65 feet long must not hamper the 
operation of large boats that cannot operate 
outside the channel. Boats should operate 
as near to the outer limit of the channel that 
lies on its starboard (right) side as is safe 
and practicable.

•	 Boats restricted in their ability to maneu-
ver, such as tugs with barges, ferryboats, 
commercial fishing boats with nets or lines 
out or boats at anchor, are stand-on boats.

•	 Boats not under command (usually because 
of mechanical problems and are unable 
to steer) or constrained by their draft are 
stand-on boats.

•	 On a river, a boat operating upriver (against 
the current) gives way to a boat operating 
downriver (with the current). A boat oper-
ating across the current gives way to boats 
operating both upriver and downriver.

VHF Radio
A VHF (very 

high frequency) 
radio is used to 
c om mu n i c ate 
with other boaters, the Coast Guard, commercial 
boats, draw bridge tenders and lock operators. 
A VHF is not required to be USCG approved. 
Recreational boaters are not required to carry 
VHF radios, but they are highly recommended 
on larger waters such as Lake Erie. The Federal 
Communications Commission (FCC) regulates 
their use. Recreational boats less than 20 meters 
in length are NOT required to have a station 
license to operate a VHF radio unless they travel 
to foreign ports or transmit to foreign stations. 
Use of a VHF radio is enforced by the USCG. 

There are many channels on the VHF, but rec-
reational boaters are given access to only a few.

RODE IS THE LENGTH OF THE ANCHOR LINE AND CHAIN.
SCOPE IS THE RATIO OF LENGTH OF ANCHOR RODE IN USE TO THE VERTICAL DISTANCE

FROM THE BOW OF THE VESSEL TO THE BOTTOM OF THE WATER.

BOW ABOVE WATERLINE 2 FT.

DEPTH
OF WATER

8 FT.

RODE=7  X 10 FT.  

SCOPE 7 : 1

CROWN

FLUKES

SHANK

STOCK

HEAD

RING

KEDGE

PLOW TYPE

MUSHROOM

DANFORTH

STARBOARD

PORT

GIVE-WAY
BOAT

(powerboat)

STAND-ON
BOAT

(sailboat)
PORT

STARBOARD

The holding power of an anchor increases 
as the scope ratio increases. A ratio of 7:1 is 
standard; 10:1 is better in rough water. For 
example, if boating in 8 feet of water and 
the bow is 2 feet above the waterline, 70 feet 
of rode is recommended. Boaters should 
carry at least two anchors. A smaller, lighter 
anchor is good for use in calm weather and 
for positioning a boat, and a larger anchor 
is best for bad weather or when anchoring 
overnight. Never anchor from the stern, 
especially in current or waves. The anchor 
line should be tied to the bow. The end of the 
anchor rode (called the bitter end) must be 
secured to the boat

To anchor, the boat should be headed 
into the wind or current. The engine is then 
reversed, or the boat is allowed to back off. 
When the boat begins to drift backward, 
lower the anchor from the bow (front of the 
boat). No one should be standing on any part 
of the anchor line. When about a third of the 
rode is out, the rode is tied off to a forward 
cleat to make the anchor dig into the bottom. 
Once the anchor digs in, the remaining rode 
is let out. A sight bearing is then taken on 
some stationary objects to make certain that 
the anchor is not dragging on the bottom.

6	 intership safety communications only
9	 commercial and non-commercial intership, 
	 ship to coast and alternate calling channel
13	 ocean-going boats, bridge tenders, tugs while towing, locks
16	 distress safety and calling, call Coast Guard, establish general contact
24-28, 84-88 	 public telephone calls (to call the marine operator) 	
68, 69, 71 and 78 	 non-commercial intership and ship to coast (recreational boat working channels)
72 	 non-commercial intership only	
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ENTER 
LOCK

DAM

BUOYS DURING

 RECREATION SEASON

ENTER 
LOCK

BUOYS

RESTRICTED AREA

RESTRICTED AREA

Anchors can also be used as safety devices in an 
emergency situation. The operator may drop the 
anchor quickly to avoid running aground in the 
event the boat loses power. Make sure the anchor 
and line are stored in an easily accessible place.

Exercise caution when “weighing” (pulling up) 
anchor. The combination of anchor pull, current 
and weight can swamp a small boat. The anchor 
should be lifted as vertically as possible. As it is 
lifted, it can be washed. Take care that it does not 
hit the side of the boat.

Locks and Dams
In Pennsylvania, locks and dams are located on the 

Three Rivers in and near Pittsburgh (Monongahela, 
Allegheny and Ohio rivers). The dams provide a 
navigable channel for river traffic. Locks are a means 
of passing boats through the dams. The locks in 
Pennsylvania are built and maintained by the United 
States Army Corps of Engineers.

At locks, the lockmaster is in control and will sig-
nal your boat to enter with a horn or a light system. 

There are priorities (of boats) set for safe and 
efficient passage:

•	 military craft
•	 mail boats
•	 commercial passenger craft
•	 commercial tows
•	 commercial fishermen
•	 pleasure boats
Before entering a lock, the boat should stop at 

least 100 yards from the lock entrance.  The lock-
master can be signaled by the boater with a long 
and short blast of the horn, on the marine radio 
(channel 13) or with a signaling device on the 
lock wall. Once the lockmaster has been signaled, 
the boat must stay clear of the lock chamber until 
signaled to enter. Fenders and mooring lines (mini-
mum of 75 feet) should be ready. Once inside the 
chamber, the lock lines are adjusted with the water 
levels. The boat must not be tied fast to the lock 
wall. Life jackets should always be worn. 

UPSTREAM

DOWNSTREAM

CURRENT

CURRENT

DOWNSTREAM

1.  Gate Open

2.  Boats Enter 3.  Gate Closed

6.  Gate Open

4.  Gate Closed

5.  Lock filled to higher level

UPSTREAM
7.  Boats Exit

HOW LOCK SYSTEMS OPERATE–REVERSE PROCEDURE
FOR DOWNSTREAM LOCKAGE

Boat Theft
Small boats are vulnerable to theft. Titled boats 

are easier to identify and much more difficult to 
sell illegally. Boat dealers and other purchasers are 
more certain that someone offering a titled boat 
for sale has the legal right to do so.

TYPICAL FIXED-CREST DAM

LIGHT SYSTEM 
THE ONE THAT IS FLASHING IS THE LIGHT TO OBEY.

1.   Red - Stand clear, do not enter.
2.   Amber - Approach the 
	 lock under full control.
3.   Green - Enter the lock.
4.   Amber/Green - 

	 Enter the lock with caution.

BOAT AND MOTOR THEFT 
PREVENTION CHECKLIST
	Secure it. Store your boat and motor in a 

secure location. Use a hitch lock to secure 
your boat trailer. Lock your outboard 
motor to your boat with a motor lock or 
chain and padlock.
	Mark it. Use an engraving tool to mark your 

boat, motor and marine equipment with a 
unique identification (driver’s license number, 
etc.). Hide your engraved identification in a 
location where it is not easily found.
	Record it. Keep a record of your boat and 

motor’s make, model and serial numbers.
	 Report it. Immediately report any theft 

to your local police and the Pennsylvania 
Fish and Boat Commission, Division of 
Licensing and Registration, Harrisburg, at 
866-262-8734. Reporting your loss to the 
police and the PFBC may lead to its recov-
ery in the event someone attempts to sell or 
register it.
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Paddlesports
Canoeing, kayaking and stand-up paddle-

boarding are popular recreational water sports in 
Pennsylvania. There are dangers that can be less-
ened with knowledge, preparation and practice. 
Primary hazards are capsizing, swamping or just 
falling out of the boat. Keep in mind that pad-
dling is a “get wet” sport.  

PADDLING TIPS
•	 Wear your life jacket. On average, 80 per-

cent of all recreational boating fatalities hap-
pen to people who are not wearing a life jacket.

•	 Expect to get wet and dress properly. Even 
the best paddlers sometimes capsize or 
swamp their boats.

•	 Be prepared to swim. If the water looks too 
hazardous to swim in, don’t go paddling.

•	 If you capsize, hold on to your boat, unless 
it presents a life-threatening situation. 

•	 Scout ahead whenever possible. Know the 
river. Avoid surprises.

•	 Be prepared for the weather. Get a forecast 
before you go. 

•	 Wear wading shoes or tennis shoes with 
wool, polypropylene, pile or neoprene socks.

•	 Never take your boat over a low-head dam.
•	 Portage (carry) your boat around any sec-

tion of water about which you feel uncertain.
•	 Never boat alone. Boating safety increases 

with numbers.
•	 Keep painter lines (ropes tied to the bow) 

and any other ropes coiled and secured.
•	 Never tie a rope to yourself or to another 

paddler, especially a child.
•	 Kneel to increase your stability before enter-

ing rougher water, like a rapid.
•	 If you collide with an obstruction, lean 

toward it. 
•	 Leave a float plan. It’s a written state-

ment that details your intended trip and is 
provided to a relative, friend, neighbor or 
marina operator. Include specifics about 
the boat, equipment, crew and departure 
and arrival times. 

Personal Watercraft (PWC)
PWCs are defined as boats less than 16 feet 

in length that use an inboard engine powering a 
water jet pump as their primary source of propul-
sion, designed to be operated by a person sitting, 
kneeling or standing in other than the conven-
tional manner of boat operation. Other boats 
may use jet propulsion, however, these boats are 
not considered a PWC.

These boats are fast and maneuverable and 
can be operated in relatively shallow water. 
PWC operators are involved in a disproportion-
ate number of boating accidents. Collisions are 
the most common type of accident reported and 
are usually caused by the operator not keeping a 
proper lookout or operating the boat in a reckless 
manner. Many of these accidents are caused by 
people new to PWC operation, and nearly all of 
these accidents are avoidable.

PWC operators must follow the same laws and 
regulations as other boaters.  Pennsylvania regula-
tions require that PWC operators must:

•	 Wear life jackets at all times. All passengers 
must also wear life jackets. Inflatable life jackets 
are not acceptable. 

•	 Carry a fully charged fire extinguisher on 
board (see fire extinguisher section).

•	 Carry a sound-producing device on board.
•	 Attach the cut-off 

switch safety lanyard 
to clothing, body or 
life jacket. The pur-
pose of the switch 
is to stop the engine 
in case the operator 
falls off.

Furthermore, it is illegal:
•	 For anyone to operate a PWC without having 

in one’s possession a Boating Safety Education 
Certificate. See page 2 on how to obtain a 
certificate.

•	 To rent a PWC to anyone 15 years of age or 
younger. No one less than 16 years of age may 
operate a rented PWC.

•	 To operate a PWC from sunset to sunrise. See 
page 10 for timetable.

•	 For a PWC with a capacity of three or less to tow 
more than one person on a boat-towed device.

•	 For anyone 11 years of age or younger to oper-
ate a PWC.

•	 For anyone 12 through 15 years of age to oper-
ate a PWC with any passengers on board 15 
years of age or younger.

PWC Characteristics 
•	 Jet pump propulsion, which eliminates a 

rudder or exposed propeller
•	 Steerable nozzle, located at the stern of 

the boat
•	 Cut-off switch and safety lanyard, which stops 

the engine when the operator falls off the PWC
PWCs are highly maneuverable. Releasing the 

throttle (or slowing the engine) usually eliminates 
the ability to steer the craft.

PWC Operation
PWC operators should be responsible and 

considerate of others around them. Noise is the 
most common complaint against PWC operators. 
A PWC must be equipped with an efficient muf-
fling system in good working order, which cannot 
be bypassed or altered. Courteous PWC operators 
will vary their areas of operation to reduce repeti-
tive course tracking, stay away from shorelines 
and be aware of all boats and people in the area 
of operation.

Everyone who operates a PWC should read the 
owner’s manual and become familiar with the 
craft before going out on the water. Practice is 
essential for safe PWC operation. PWC operators 
must connect the safety lanyard to both the cut-
off switch on the PWC and their life jacket, body 
or clothing. If the operator falls off, the operator 
should re-board the craft from the rear. PWCs 
have both “main” and “reserve” fuel tanks. Switch 
the fuel selector on your craft to “reserve” when 
the “main” tank has been used and head to shore 
to refuel. Safety gear, including gloves, eye protec-
tion, footwear and wetsuit or dry suit for protec-
tion against cold water, is not required by law but 
advisable for PWC operators. 

PA 0000 BD

BOATING ETIQUETTE
Courteous boat operation is key to having a 

great day on the water. Remember to:
•	 Be mindful of other boaters and anglers. 	
•	 Maintain a safe distance while operating 

and making a wake.
•	 Be mindful of your noise level. Sound trav-

els far on the water.

Gear Up for Adventure
Don't Forget 

to Wear 
Your 

Life Jacket!
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sharp lookout for swimmers and div-
ers at all times.

A diver down flag is displayed from 
a float during diving operations. This 
flag is red with a white diagonal stripe 
running from the top of the staff to 
the opposite lower corner.

The code flag alpha is a blue and white pen-
nant, and boats must display this flag during 
dive operations if they are restricted in their 
ability to maneuver. 

Boats not engaged in diving operations shall 
remain at least 100 feet from areas displaying the 
diver down flag or boats displaying the code flag 
alpha. 

Sailing
Sailing is another popular form of boating 

in Pennsylvania. Sailboaters may have different 
requirements than other boaters. They should 
be familiar with the operation and navigation 
requirements found in this handbook. Navigation 
lights are required after dusk and during periods 
of restricted visibility.

Sailboaters should stay off the water during 
storms and periods of extremely high winds. 
They should also be aware of overhead power 
lines. Life jackets should be worn at all times. 

Another type of sailing boat, the sailboard 
(windsurfer) is a single or double-hulled boat with 
jointed mast (surfboard with a sail). Sailboard 
operators in Pennsylvania must wear a life jacket. 
Inflatable life jackets are not acceptable.

Hunters and Anglers
Hunters and anglers who use a boat as a 

platform to hunt or fish must remember that 
they are boaters too. Often, these types of boat-
ers get so involved with their sport they forget 
to follow all boating regulations such as proper 
safety equipment, boating laws and the rules of 
the road. When fishing from a boat, remember 
to load your boat properly, remain seated, wear a 
life jacket and keep an eye on the weather. Never 
anchor from the stern (back), and stay with your boat 
if it should capsize.

Hunting from a boat is fun but can be danger-
ous. Fall weather is changeable and can be dead-
ly for the boating hunter. Water temperatures 
are typically much colder during traditional 
hunting seasons. The hunter usually hunts from 
a small boat with a flat bottom. These boats are 
poorly suited for rough water. Life jackets appro-
priate for hunting should be worn at all times. 
Please be aware of the mandatory cold 
weather life jacket wear regulation, effective 
November 1 through April 30–see page 7.

OTHER WATER ACTIVITIES

Boat-towed Watersports
Boat-towed watersports include activities that 

involve being towed by a boat or riding in or on 
the wake of a boat such as waterskiing, wake surf-
ing, kneeboarding and tubing. Participants in all 
of these types of activities are required to wear a 
USCG-approved life jacket. Inflatable life jackets 
are not acceptable for anyone towed behind a 

HAND SIGNALS
SPEED OK CUT MOTOR MAKE ANOTHER LOOP

SPEED UP STOP RETURN TO 
LAUNCH

SLOW DOWN SKIER OK SKIER IN WATER

GO RIGHT, GO LEFT

boat. Persons engaged in barefoot, jump or trick 
skiing or wake surfing may elect to wear, at their 
own risk, a wetsuit designed specifically for that 
activity. A USCG-approved life jacket must be car-
ried in the boat for each skier electing to wear the 
special water-ski wetsuit. Inflatable life jackets are 
not acceptable for anyone towed behind a boat.

In addition to the operator, a competent observ-
er must be in the boat in a position to observe the 
progress of the person being towed. A competent 
observer is a person who has the ability to assess 
when a person being towed is in trouble, knows 
and understands hand signals and is capable of 
helping the person being towed.

•	 To prevent propeller-related accidents, turn 
off your engine before picking up boat-towed 
watersports participants from the water.

•	 Boat-towed watersports are prohibited between 
sunset and sunrise.

•	 Boat-towed watersport participants are also 
considered passengers and count in the 
boat’s total capacity.

WATER-SKIING HAND SIGNALS

•	 It’s unlawful to operate a boat when it is loaded 
with passengers (including individuals being 
towed behind a boat) or cargo beyond its safe 
carrying capacity.

•	 Skiers may start from the shore or dock if boat 
traffic permits. Skiers may not return to the 
shore or dock under power.

•	 Installation of ski ramps and jumps requires a 
permit from the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat 
Commission. Mooring or drifting within 100 
feet of a ski ramp or jump while it is in use is 
prohibited.

•	 Kite skiing and parasailing are permitted only on 
waters where unrestricted skiing is permitted.

•	 It is legal to tow more than one boat-towed 
device except when locally prohibited. Tow 
ropes may not exceed the following lengths (as 
measured from the boat’s transom):

•	 Conventional water-ski- 80 feet  
•	 Parasails- 300 feet
•	 Nonreleasable kite ski- 50 feet 
•	 Releasable kite ski- 500 feet

•	 It is unlawful to operate a motorboat at any 
speed with a person or persons sitting, riding 
or hanging on a swim platform (teak surfing) or 
swim ladder attached to the motorboat, except 
when launching, retrieving, docking or anchor-
ing the motorboat.

•	 It is unlawful to operate a motorboat at any speed 
when towing a person on water skis or other 

devices using a tow rope of 20 
feet or less (as measured from the 
boat’s transom). The minimum 
tow rope length does not apply to 
wake surfing.
•	 Boats engaged in the activ-
ity of wake surfing are limited 
to slow, no-wake speed when 
within 200 feet of the shoreline, 
docks, launch ramps, swimmers, 
downed skiers or other boat-
towed watersports participants, 
persons wading in the water, 
anchored, moored or drifting 
boats, and other marked areas.
•	 Motorboats propelled by 
an outboard motor, inboard/
outboard motor or water jet  
are prohibited from towing a 
person in or on the wake of 
the boat.

Swimming and 
Diving

Swimming is prohibited at 
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat 
Commission lakes and access 
areas. Boaters should keep a 
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The tidal cycle is the high tide followed approxi-
mately 6 hours later by low tide (two highs and two 
lows per day). The tidal range is the vertical distance 
between high and low tides. The tidal range varies 
from 1 to 11 feet in Pennsylvania on the Delaware 
River. Boaters should consult tide tables for times of 
high and low tides. 

Dams
Dams on our rivers aid navigation, produce 

power and prevent flooding. Keep away from 
dams! Dangerous currents above the structure 
can draw boats into water going over or through 
a dam. Areas below a dam are also extremely haz-
ardous to boats because of strong recirculating 
currents and turbulent waters.

The most dangerous hazard on a river is a low-
head dam. There are hundreds of such dams on 
rivers and streams throughout Pennsylvania, and 
dams are true “drowning machines.” 

Water going over a dam creates a back current 
or undertow that can pull a boat into the turbu-
lence and capsize it. This hydraulic can trap and 
hold a person or boat. Many dams are not marked 
and are almost impossible to see from upstream. 

State law requires that many low-head dams 
in the Commonwealth be marked with signs 
and, when practical, buoys upstream and 
downstream from these dangerous structures. 
The signs detail restrictions for boating, swim-
ming and wading and hazards posed by the 
dam. Restrictions are enforced by the PFBC 
Waterways Conservation Officers. Dams must 
be avoided and may be located by checking 
water trail guides, maps and the PFBC’s website.  

Weather
Weather can cause boaters problems. Having a 

mishap in cold water or in a remote area can result in 
hypothermia or other problems. Getting caught in a 
storm can have serious consequences. Never under-
estimate the weather.

Factors that determine weather conditions can 
be observed and measured. These factors include 
temperature, barometric pressure and wind. Weather 
affects the condition of open water and can change 
suddenly. Check local forecasts the night before going 
boating and again in the morning. The National 
Weather Service typically issues a new marine fore-
cast every 6 hours on designated VHF radio channels.

Ventilation and Fueling
Gasoline fumes are heavier than air and will set-

tle to the lowest part of the boat’s interior hull, the 
bilge. All motorboats except open boats must have 
at least two ventilator ducts with cowls (intake 
and exhaust). Exhaust blowers are part of most 
boat ventilation systems. Permanently installed 
fuel tanks must be vented.

Most boat explosions occur from improper 
fueling. Portable gas tanks should be filled on 
the dock or pier, not on board. The vent on the 
tank should be closed and the gas pumped care-
fully, maintaining contact with the nozzle and the 
tank’s rim. Any spills should be cleaned up, the 
tank secured and the vent reopened.

When filling inboard tanks, everyone should 
be sent ashore and the boat closed up. All electri-
cal systems should be shut off. After filling up and 
before starting the engine, the blower should be 
run for at least 4 minutes. Take appropriate pre-
cautions to prevent spills. Avoid discharging oil 
and gas from your boat’s bilge. Toxic substances 
must be disposed of properly. Noncompliance 
may result in fines.

Boaters should routinely check for leaks in fuel 
lines and fittings, frayed wiring and improperly 
rigged electrical systems.

Carbon Monoxide
Carbon monoxide (CO) gas is a potentially deadly 

by-product of your boat’s engine. Each year boat-
ers are killed or injured by carbon monoxide. 
Stay away from exhaust areas, and do not swim 
near exhaust vents. Never enter an enclosed area 
under a swim platform, where exhaust is vented. 
Only one or two breaths of the air in this “death 
chamber” can be fatal. Keep air moving through 
the boat to avoid problems.

Symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning 
depend on exposure. Brief exposure may produce 
shortness of breath, mild nausea and mild head-
aches. Moderate levels of CO exposure may cause 
death if headaches, dizziness and light headed-
ness symptoms persist for an extended period 
of time. High levels of CO may be fatal, causing 
death within minutes. If you suspect someone is 
experiencing CO poisoning, move the individual 
to fresh air immediately and call 9-1-1. 

Running Aground
Keep a sharp lookout when traveling on waters 

that have shallow areas to avoid running aground. 
Navigational charts, buoys and depth finders can 
assist in this task. If you run aground and the impact 
does not appear to cause a leak, follow these steps to 
refloat the boat:

•	 Do not put the boat in reverse. Instead, stop 
the engine and lift the out-drive.

•	 Shift the weight to the area farthest from the 
point of impact.

•	 Try to shove off the rock or bottom.
If this fails, contact help.

Water Hazards
It is important that boaters know the waters they 

are boating. Information about local hazards can be 
obtained by physically viewing their proposed route, 
consulting local boating sources and utilizing web 
resources such as the PFBC website.

MOVING WATER: Safety on the water depends 
on developing respect for the power of water. The 
power of current is deceptive and should be taken into 
account by all boaters. A strainer is an obstruction in 
the water (such as a tree branch) that allows water to 
pass through but will hold and trap boats and boaters. 
Rivers and rapids are rated with the International 
Scale of River Difficulty (Classes I - VI), which is 
a guide established by the American Whitewater. 
Parts of rivers can have a different class rating than 
the overall river’s rating. The rating for any river will 
vary as water flow increases or decreases because of 
seasonal conditions.

WIND AND WAVES: The 
definition of wind is “moving air 
that is described by the strength and 
the direction of its source.” Wind 
acts on the surface of the water, 
creating waves. The greater the force 
and duration of the wind, the bigger 
the waves will be. Large waves in big 
water can place small craft in dan-
ger. When crossing waves or another 
boat’s wake, head into the waves or 
wakes at an angle (45 degrees) to 
reduce pounding.

Large bodies of water such as oceans or Lake 
Erie provide different challenges and dangers than 
moving water. Large, relatively shallow lakes, such 
as Lake Erie, may develop large waves faster than 
deeper, similar waters. Small inland boats should 
not venture out on large waters such as Lake Erie

TIDES AND TIDAL CURRENTS: Tides 
and tidal currents affect where a boater can travel or 
anchor safely. They also affect how long it takes to get 
to a destination, the speed needed to arrive at a given 
time and the heading that must be maintained.

Tides are the vertical rise and fall of ocean water 
(and waters affected by the ocean) caused by the 
gravitational pull of the moon and sun. The moment 
the tide changes direction is known as “slack water.”  
“High tide” is the highest level a tide reaches during 
ascending waters, and “low tide” is the lowest level a 
tide reaches during descending waters.

Exhaust Ports
Swim Platform

STAY AWAY!STAY AWAY!

HYDRAULIC
SECONDARY 
HYDRAULIC BOIL

LOW-HEAD DAM



21Pennsylvania Boating Handbook				                                               	 fishandboat.com

SAFETY AND RESCUE

Signs that dangerous weather may be approach-
ing include:

•	 Clouds gathering, darkening and increas-
ing in size

•	 A sudden temperature drop, a rapid wind 
shift or change in speed

•	 Static on the AM band of the radio (may 
indicate an approaching thunderstorm)

•	 A drop in the barometric pressure (check 
a barometer)

IF A STORM IS NEAR...
In a small boat, put on your life jacket and head 

for the nearest shore. Beach your boat and 
find shelter on the downwind (leeward) side 
of the land.

In a large boat, put on your life jacket and start 
your engine or secure your sails (whichever is 
applicable). Stow anything that is unnecessary. 
Secure your dinghy (if you have one) and turn 
on your running lights. Close up the boat and 
decide what to do. If land is near, head for it. 
If not, you may have to ride out the storm. Do 
so by keeping your bow (front) headed into 
the waves, wind and/or current. If your motor 
fails, a sea anchor on a line from the bow will 
keep the boat into the waves. A bucket will 
work as a sea anchor in an emergency.

Capsizing and Falls Overboard
Many boating accident deaths are caused by 

capsizing. If a small, open boat capsizes, every-
one should take a head count, check for injury and 
stay with the boat. Most small boats have enough 
flotation to keep from sinking. If possible, the boat 
should be turned upright and the water bailed out. 
It can then be paddled to shore. It is also possible to 
paddle a swamped boat to shore. If a boat capsizes, 
everyone should stay with the boat.

SWAMPING AND CAPSIZING
If you do capsize or swamp the boat, stay with the 

boat and make sure everyone has a life jacket. 
Stay calm. If the boat can be righted, bail out 
as much water as possible, get in and paddle 
towards shore. If your boat capsizes or you fall 
overboard in moving water, such as a river, get 
in the self-rescue position with your feet point-
ed downstream and near the surface to avoid 
potential head injury and foot entrapment.

FALLS OVERBOARD
Falls overboard are dangerous situations. People fall 

overboard even when wind and seas are calm. 
The shock of falling into the water, especially 
cold water, can be life-threatening. Wearing a 
life jacket can be your only source of survival.  
The best means of survival is to already have a 
life jacket on and stay with the boat.

PREVENTION
•	 When getting into or moving around in a 

small boat, always maintain three points of 
contact, keeping your weight low and close to 
the centerline. Don’t overload your boat.

•	 Do not allow passengers to stand in small 
boats, including canoes and kayaks, or sit on 
foredecks, gunwales, engine boxes, seat backs 
or transoms. Small boats, especially canoes 
and kayaks, are more likely to capsize when 
someone stands up.

•	 Watch crew members and frequently check 
that everyone is aboard.

•	 Wear deck-gripping shoes (bare feet have poor 
traction).

•	 Avoid rough water and weather conditions 
whenever possible.

•	 Practice a procedure for recovering someone 
lost overboard. Toss a life jacket over the side 
while moving. Test to see how long it takes to 
stop the boat, turn and retrieve the life jacket.

Propeller Strikes
When people and 

motorboats share the 
same water, propeller 
strikes can and do occur. 
A typical recreational 
propeller can rip an 
average person from head 
to toe in less than one-
tenth of a second. MOST 
PROPELLER STRIKES CAN BE PREVENTED!

Before starting your boat: 
•	 Put on your life jacket!
•	 Walk to the stern and look in the water to make 

certain there is no one near your propeller 
(people near the boat’s propeller may not be 
visible from the helm).

•	 Attach your engine cut-off switch lanyard to 
your life jacket. If the lanyard is removed from 
the switch, the engine will shut off.

Educate passengers: 
•	 Explain the dangers of a motorboat running 

into a swimmer.
•	 Show the location and danger of the propellers 

and all safety equipment.
•	 Turn off the engine if anyone is near the prop 

to prevent injury.
•	 Establish clear rules for swim platform use, 

boarding ladders and seating (if possible, pas-
sengers should remain seated at all times).

•	 Talk about safety procedures and emergency 
action plans.

•	 Discuss preventing falls overboard: 
•	 Maintain three points of contact, keep 

your weight low and close to the centerline 
(balance issues may occur).

•	 Watch crew members and frequently 
check that everyone is aboard.

•	 Wear deck-gripping shoes (bare feet have 
poor traction).

•	 Avoid rough water and weather conditions 
whenever possible.

•	 Limit alcohol use and discuss physical 
effects resulting from on water activities.

•	 Discuss swamping and capsizing prevention. 
•	 Don’t overload your boat.

If capsizing occurs, stay with the boat and make 
sure everyone has a life jacket. Stay calm. If the boat 
can be righted, bail out as much water as possible, 
get in and paddle towards shore. If capsized or over-
board in a river, swim downstream, feet first, to avoid 
potential head injury and entrapment.

Keep a lookout: 
•	 Assign a passenger to keep watch around the 

propeller area of your boat when people are in 
the water.

•	 Never allow passengers to board or exit your 
boat from the water when the engine is on or 
idling (your propeller may continue to spin). 
Turn the engine off.

•	 Be especially alert when operating in congested 
areas, and never enter swimming zones.

•	 Take extra precautions near boats that are tow-
ing skiers or tubers.

•	 Never permit passengers to ride on the bow, 
gunwale, transom, seat backs or other locations 
where they may fall overboard.

•	 Children should be watched carefully while 
onboard.

Consider purchasing propeller safety devices for 
your boat. A variety of safety devices are avail-
able to help prevent propeller strikes.

EMERGENCY ACTION FOR  
FALLS OVERBOARD AND 
PROPELLER STRIKES

Rescue and Survival
  No one should ever count on being rescued. Boaters 

must be prepared for mishaps on the water. Drowning 
can occur within a few feet of safety. Even those who 
cannot swim can save a life if they know some basic 
rescue techniques.

1.	 Shout “Man Overboard” immediately.
2.	 Signal for assistance from passengers, crew or 

other boaters. Have someone call for assistance 
over the radio, if available.

3.	 Stop the boat immediately.
4.	 Toss a life jacket to the person overboard or 

any item that will float such as an empty ice 
cooler. Even if the person is wearing a jacket, 
it will help improve visibility and provide addi-
tional flotation. 

5.	 Assign someone to constantly point at the 
person in the water. Never let the victim out 
of sight.

6.	 Avoid running the person over.
7.	 Approach against the wind, waves or current.
8.	 Come close to the victim.
9.	 Shift into reverse to stop forward motion.

10.	 Put engine in neutral gear or shut off the 
engine to stop the propeller from turning. It 
may be safer to trail a life jacket on a line astern 
and circle until the person can grasp it.

11.	 If the boat has a low freeboard, bring the per-
son over the transom. Be alert for hot motors, 
exhaust pipes and carbon monoxide.

12.	 High freeboard, use a swim platform or ladder 
and rig a sling, rope ladder or knotted line. 

13.	 A non-powered boat must be stabilized before 
attempting to bring the victim into the boat.
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follow. The person may feel claustrophobic, panicked 
and confused. Cold water greatly reduces the victim’s 
ability to hold his or her breath, control breathing and 
impairs the ability to swim. 

Hypothermia
Hypothermia is the lowering of the body’s core 

temperature. It is a factor in many fatal boating acci-
dents. Cold water robs the body of heat much faster 
than cold air of the same temperature.  

Hypothermia begins with shivering and a loss of 
feeling in the extremities. Cold, blue skin, decreased 
mental skills and slurred speech are common symp-
toms. Unconsciousness can be followed by death. 
Warm layered clothing, a life jacket and eating high-
energy foods will help prevent hypothermia.

FOUR STAGES OF COLD WATER 
IMMERSION 

Cold water shock is a rapid development of a 
number of shock responses caused by cold water 
immersion that can result in sudden drowning.

1.	 Initial cold shock (first 3-5 minutes):  
Sudden immersion in cold water causes the gasp 
reflex; this can result in water inhalation, hyper-
ventilation, changes in heart rate and rhythm, 
changes in blood pressure and panic. All of 
these reactions may result in death, especially for 
those with pre-existing heart conditions.

2. Short term swim failure (3-30 minutes):  
Cold water saps energy, and arms and legs 
become weak.  Movement is difficult and slow.  
Death can occur by drowning, as the victim 
can no longer stay afloat.

3. Long term hypothermia (30 minutes +):  
The body loses heat to cold water 25 times 
faster than cold air. The body becomes hypo-
thermic when it loses heat at a rate faster than 
it can generate heat. Continued exposure leads 
to unconsciousness and death.  At this stage, 
death may occur without drowning.

4.	 Post immersion collapse:  
	 This stage occurs during or after rescue.  

The body is still hypothermic, and death 
may occur due to complications from inhal-
ing water or lowered body temperature.

FIRST AID FOR HYPOTHERMIA
1.	 Get the person out of the water or weather as 

quickly as possible.
2.	 Replace wet clothing with dry clothing. 

Wrap the person in blankets to warm the 
person slowly.

3.	 Handle hypothermia victims gently and 
do not give anything by mouth if they are 
unconscious. Never give alcohol to a hypo-
thermia victim.

4.	 Get medical help as soon as possible.

COLD WATER SURVIVAL
•	 Wear a life jacket. Flotation coats also offer 

insulation from the cold. 
•	 Wear clothing that still insulates when wet 

such as wool, fleece or other synthetics.
•	 If you know you are about to fall into cold water, 

cover your mouth and nose with your hands, so 
you don’t inhale water.

•	 Do not remove your 
clothing. 

•	 Get back into or climb 
on top of the boat.

•	 If you can’t get out of 
the water and shore 
is too far, get into the 
Heat Escape Lessening 
Posture (HELP).

RESCUE SEQUENCE
1. 	Self rescue: The rescuer should try to talk the 

person in trouble into self-rescue and avoid 
endangering themselves unnecessarily.

2.	 Reach: A fishing rod, shirt, towel, branch, oar, 
pole, boat hook or other object can be used to 
reach out to the victim. If nothing is available 
and the victim is within arm’s reach, the rescuer 
should lie flat and extend a leg to the victim, 
pulling them to safety.

3. Throw: If the vic-
tim is too far for 
the reach rescue, 
the rescuer should 
throw a rope, life 
jacket, empty jug, 
ice chest, gas can 
or anything else 
that will float to 
the victim. Rescue 
line bags are 
excellent items to 
keep on a boat. 

4.	 Row: The rescuer 
may boat out to 
the victim and 
extend an oar or paddle. The victim should be 
brought back onboard over the stern (back) of 
the boat. They should be pulled onboard as care-
fully as possible. If it isn’t possible to bring them 
onboard, the rescuer should have them hold on 
to the boat or hold them until help arrives.

5.	 Go: Swimming rescues are for trained lifesav-
ers only. A swimming rescue should never be 
tried until all other basic rescue methods have 
been ruled out. Rescuers who must swim to a 
victim should wear a life jacket and take a float-
ing object with them to extend to the victim. 
Rescuers should avoid personal contact with 
the victim unless they have had lifeguard train-
ing. Even then, it is used only as a last resort.

The method of rescue depends on the rescuer’s 
training and skill, the condition and location of the 
victim, the equipment available and what addi-
tional support is available at the scene.

Cold Water Shock
Cold water shock is a major factor in boating fatali-

ties. It happens when someone is suddenly immersed 
in cold water. The water does not have to be freezing; 
cold water shock often occurs in water temperatures 
above 50o F. 

The body’s first response to cold water shock 
is usually an involuntary gasp (torso reflex). 
Hyperventilation (rapid breathing) and breathlessness 

THROW

REACH

Alcohol and Boating
When on a boat, the effects of alcohol are magni-

fied and cause reduced judgement. Combined with 
stresses from wind, motion and heat, your ability to 
think and perform basic tasks needed to safely oper-
ate your boat may become impaired. It is illegal to 
operate a boat while under the influence of alcohol or 
a controlled substance. Alcohol is prohibited on land 
and water at all state parks and at most United States 
Army Corps of Engineers projects. Pre-arrest breath 
tests can be used by officers to determine the prob-
ability that a boat operator is under the influence. A 
blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more is con-
sidered to be over the legal limit (0.02% blood alco-
hol concentration for minors). Penalties include loss 
of boating privileges, significant fines and imprison-
ment. An officer can stop a boat and arrest. 

Courtesy Vessel Safety Checks
A Vessel Safety Check (VSC) is a free courtesy 

examination of private recreational boats to verify 
the presence and condition of safety equipment 
required by state and federal regulations. The boat 
examiner is a trained member of the United States 
Power Squadrons or the USCG Auxiliary. Persons 
whose boats fail the examination are informed 
of all shortcomings, so they may correct them 
and be given a chance for reexamination and the 
awarding of the decal. Boats that pass may display 
the distinctive VSC decal, which entitles the boat 
owner to discounts at some marine dealers (see 
website for details). Learn more about VSCs or 
arrange a free VSC by visiting www.cgaux.org/vsc.

Boating Accidents
Each operator of a boat involved in a boating 

accident must stop, render assistance and offer 
identification if doing so will not endanger your-
self or passengers. If the accident results in a death 
or disappearance, the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat 
Commission must be notified immediately, followed 
by a written boating accident report within 48 hours. 
If the accident results in an injury that requires treat-
ment beyond first aid, a written boating accident 
report must be submitted within 48 hours. If the 
accident results in damage to the boat or other prop-
erty exceeding $2,000 or if there is a complete loss of 
the boat, a written boating accident report must be 
submitted within 10 days. All reports are confiden-
tial and for the use of the Commission for boating 
safety purposes only. Boating Accident Report Forms 
(PFBC-260) are available on the Commission’s web-
site. Reports must be sent to: Pennsylvania Fish and 
Boat Commission, Bureau of Boating, P.O. Box 67000, 
Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000.
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Pre-plan your trip: find pumpout locations on 
the PFBC website or look for the waterway sign 
below that indicates their availability. 

Littering and Pollution
Plastic bags, discarded fishing line and other 

garbage kill fish, waterfowl and wildlife. Before 
throwing away six-pack rings, snip each circle 
with scissors. Once the rings are cut, no animal 
can get caught in the rings. In Pennsylvania, it 
is unlawful for any person to litter. If something 
blows out of your boat, go back and remove the 
object(s) from the water. Cigarette butts tossed 
in Pennsylvania waters is considered littering. 
Properly dispose of all litter, and report water 
pollution.

If you see any source or indication of pollu-
tion, such as dead fish, call the PFBC’s Pollution 
Hotline at 855-FISH-KIL, or the Department of 
Environmental Protection at 800-541-2050, or 
the appropriate PFBC regional office. During 
after-hours, weekends and holidays, call the 
Department of Environmental Protection at 
717-787-4343.

WASTE, OIL AND TRASH 
DISPOSAL IN PENNSYLVANIA
AND FEDERAL WATERS

It is illegal to discharge sewage or other human 
waste, oil or trash into any state or federally con-
trolled waters. Sewage carries disease and other 
pollutants harmful to people, aquatic plants and 
animals. Trash thrown into the water can injure 
swimmers and wildlife alike. It can also plug 
engine cooling water intakes.

Law Enforcement
Enforcement of boating 

laws and regulations, along 
with providing for safety on 
Pennsylvania waters, is the 
responsibility of the PFBC’s 
Waterways Conservation Officers. Some of the 
waters of the state are also patrolled by other 
agencies such as the Bureau of State Parks, United 
States Army Corps of Engineers, USCG and the 
National Park Service.

Boaters approached by a patrol boat with its 
blue light flashing must reduce speed to slow, 
no-wake and yield the right of way to the patrol 
boat. The operator shall stop when requested to 
do so by a law enforcement officer. Violators can 
expect enforcement action. Persons who violate 
boating laws and regulations are subject to arrest, 
and upon conviction, the boat operator may be 
found guilty of a summary offense or misde-
meanor. The penalty can be a fine and/or jail 
sentence. The PFBC is also authorized by law to 
revoke, suspend or deny the boating privileges of 
persons who are convicted of violating the boat-
ing laws and regulations. Persons whose boating 
privileges are subject to revocation, suspension 
or denial will be notified in writing and given the 
opportunity for a hearing.

PFBC Lakes and Access Areas
Any boat, powered or unpowered, using a 

PFBC lake or access area, must display a current 
registration or launch permit. Inflatable boats 
less than 7 feet in length or which are not con-
structed of durable fabric and do not have at least 
two separate buoyancy chambers are prohibited.

Overnight mooring is permitted if the boat 
has a current registration. Boats may be moored 
from March 1 through November 30 at desig-
nated areas. Launch permits do not allow these 
same privileges.

The following acts are prohibited on the 
PFBC property:

•	 Camping, building or maintaining fires
•	 Picking, cutting or digging flowers, 

plants, shrubs or trees
•	 Swimming at Commission access 

areas or in Commission-owned lakes
•	 Leaving trash, garbage or debris, 

except as placed in containers 
provided for such purposes and 
accumulated only during the use of 
Commission property

•	 Removing or defacing any sign, poster 
or property

•	 Overnight sleeping in boats, 
automotive vehicles, tents, campers 
or the like

•	 Blocking driveways, access roads or 
launch ramps

•	 Parking in undesignated areas
While on Commission property, dogs must be 

licensed and under control. When the dog is on a 
lawn area, trail or parking lot, it must be on a leash 
not to exceed 6 feet in length. The maximum num-
ber of dogs that an owner or handler is permitted 
to have on Commission property at one time is 
two. Droppings must be immediately scooped and 
disposed of off Commission property. The owner or 
handler is responsible for the conduct of the dog.

To learn more about amenities and accessibility 
of PFBC properties, see page 20 of the Pennsylvania 
Fishing Summary and visit fishandboat.com.

Permits
All tournaments, regattas, races, parades and 

exhibitions must be authorized by the PFBC or 
Coast Guard. An application must be filed with 
the Commission at least 60 days prior to such 
event. Forms are available from the Bureau of 
Law Enforcement.  

A ski ramp, floating dock, swim dock or other 
floating structure must have a permit from 
the Commission to be placed on any waters. 
Waterway markers, including signs and buoys, 
must have a permit from the Commission. 
Permit applications (PFBC 277) can be found on 
the Commission's website.

Marine Sanitation Devices 
(MSD)

The Water Quality Act of 1987 requires the 
installation of an MSD on all boats with installed 
toilet systems operating in the navigational waters 
of the United States. Marine toilets are a source of 
pollution if not designed correctly. 

They must be of a sealed construction, so no 
waste can be discharged from the toilet directly 
or indirectly into the water. All MSDs must be 
USCG approved. Portable toilets are not con-
sidered installed toilets. Direct overboard dis-
charge of portable toilet waste is a violation of 
state water regulations.

Discharge of sewage, treated or untreated, 
is prohibited in all fresh water impoundments 
lying entirely within the boundaries of the state. 
When boating on these waters, if your watercraft 
is equipped with an installed toilet system, it must 
be removed, sealed or drained into a holding 
tank, which can be carried or pumped ashore for 
disposal at an approved sewage treatment system. 

PFBC TOLL-FREE HOTLINE

See WATER POLLUTION
or POACHING? REPORT IT!

855-FISH-KIL

RESOURCE PROTECTION
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RESOURCE PROTECTION

The Refuse Act prohibits throwing, discharging or 
depositing any refuse matter of any kind (including 
trash, garbage, oil and other liquid pollutants) into the 
waters of the United States.

Discharge of oil and other hazardous substances:
•	 Regulations issued under the Federal Water 

Pollution Control Act require all boats with 
propulsion machinery to be able to retain oil 
mixtures on board.

•	 Discharge of oil or hazardous substances is 
prohibited. The penalty for illegal discharge may 
be a fine of up to $10,000.

•	 Dumping oil into the bilge of the boat without 
means for proper disposal is also prohibited. Fuel 
spills can be removed using absorbent bilge pads.

DISCHARGE OF OIL PROHIBITED
The Federal Water Pollution Control Act 

prohibits the discharge of oil or oily waste upon 
or into any navigable waters of the United States. 
The prohibition includes any discharge, which 
causes a film or discoloration of the surface 
of the water or causes a sludge or emulsion 
beneath the surface of the water. Violator’s 
are subject to substantial civil and/or criminal 
sanctions including fines and imprisonment.

FLOAT PLAN
Complete this information before going boating and leave it with a 
reliable person. When you return, remember to contact that person.

1.	 Contact Name:

Address:

Phone:

E-mail:

2.	 Boat Type:

Color:

Length:

Registration Number:

Choose one:
Inboard

Outboard

Canoe/kayak/SUP

3.	 Operator Name:

Phone:

Passenger Name:

Phone:

Passenger Name:

Phone:

Passenger Name:

Phone:

4.	 CB:		                  VHF:

5.	 Automobile Make/Model:

Color:

License Plate Number:

Parked at:

6.	 Leaving From:

Date:			   Time:

Returning To:			 

Date:			   Time:

7.	 Stop 1:

Stop 2:

Stop 3:

Stop 4:

8.	 Emergency Contact (if not returned by):

Date:	                                     Time:

Name/Relationship:

Phone:

(Location)

(Time)

(Location)

(Time)

(Location)

(Time)

(Location)

(Time)

Sail

Other

(Yes)          (No) (Yes)          (No)

•	 Oil waste must be disposed at an approved 
reception facility. On recreational boats, a 
bucket or bailer is adequate for temporary 
storage prior to disposing of the oil waste at 
an approved facility.

•	 Notify the Coast Guard immediately if your boat 
discharges oil or a hazardous substance into the 
water. Call toll-free 800-424-8802. Report the 
discharge’s location, color, source, substances, 
size and time observed. You must also call the 
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental 
Protection and report the discharge.

•	 If boating on federally controlled waters and 
your boat is 26 feet or longer, you must display 
a 5- x 8-inch placard made of durable material, 

fixed in a conspicuous place in the machinery 
spaces or at the bilge pump control station, stating 
the following:

Digital Float Plan:

fishandboat.com
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BOAT AND GEAR CLEANING REQUIREMENTS

Bighead, Silver and Black Carp are invasive carp. It 
is unlawful to possess, introduce or import, transport, 
sell, purchase, offer for sale or barter these species in 
Pennsylvania. These species pose a significant threat 
to the biodiversity of native species and habitat, along 
with imposing safety risks to boaters.

Invasive carp had a devastating impact in the 
Mississippi River system and now pose this threat 
to the Great Lakes Basin. As AIS, these fish do not 
naturally occur in Pennsylvania waters and would 
only occur if transported and released.

These carp species are a threat due to their large 
size (some can grow to more than 100 pounds and  
5 feet in length), reproductive success, habitat damage 
and large, year-round food consumption. In addition, 
Silver Carp, when startled, can jump up to 10 feet out 
of the water, striking boaters and causing severe injury.

For more information and to report sightings or 
catches of these fish species and other AIS, go to 
fishandboat.com. 

Grass Carp are also known as invasive carp. 
Diploid Grass Carp are banned from stocking in 
Pennsylvania, but Triploid (sterile) Grass Carp are 
allowed to be stocked in lakes and ponds with a 
PFBC-approved permit.  

STOP INVASIVE CARP!

Boat and Gear Cleaning Requirements
Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) are plants and animals that have been introduced into new ecosystems and have environmental, 

recreational, economic or health impacts. These invaders may damage equipment and compete with native species. Anglers and 
boaters may unknowingly introduce AIS into new waters. 

It is unlawful to transport any plants, fish or other aquatic life from one body of water to another. It is unlawful to release unused 
bait into the waters you are fishing. Dispose of unused bait in a trash can.

CHECK
Inspect every inch of your boat, trailer 

and fishing gear before leaving any body 
of water. Remove and leave behind plants, 
mud and aquatic life. 

Check your boat
•	 Anchor and line
•	 Live wells
•	 Motor lower unit
•	 Hull and bilge
•	 Trailer hitch, rollers, lights and axle
•	 Life jackets
•	 Swimming floats, water skis, 

wakeboards and tubes

Check your fishing gear
•	 Shoes or boots
•	 Clothing
•	 Fishing vests
•	 Fishing rod, reel and line
•	 Hooks and lures
•	 Tackle boxes

Remove
•	 Visible plants
•	 Fish or other aquatic animals
•	 Mud and dirt

Do not transport any potential hitchhiker, 
even back to your home. Remove and leave 
them at the site you visited.

DRAIN
Drain water from all equipment before 

leaving the area you are visiting. Some 
species may live for months in water that has 
not been removed.

•	 Motors
•	 Jet drives
•	 Live wells
•	 Compartments
•	 Boat hulls
•	 Bilge
•	 Shoes, boots and waders
•	 Bait buckets
•	 Life jackets
•	 Swimming floats, water skis, 

wakeboards and tubes
•	 Kayaks (pull open plugs)

CLEAN
Many AIS are microscopic and can't be 

seen. It's important to clean your gear even 
if it doesn't appear to have anything on it. 
Follow the cleaning instructions below after 
the water has been removed.

•	 Use hot (140° F) water to clean your 
equipment.

•	 Spray equipment with a high-
pressure washer. If hot water is not 
available, a commercial hot water car 
wash also makes an ideal location to 
wash your boat, motor and trailer.

•	 Freezing gear for at least 6 hours will 
kill most AIS.

DRY
Dry everything before entering new 

waters. Allow equipment to dry to the touch, 
and then allow it to dry another 48 hours. 
Thick and dense material like life jackets and 
felt-soled wading gear will hold moisture 
longer, take longer to dry and can be more 
difficult to clean.

Tips for New Zealand Mudsnails:
•	 Freeze gear for a minimum of 6 hours.
•	 Soak gear in hot (>120 Fahrenheit) water for at 

least 5 minutes.
•	 Soak gear in a 1:1 solution of Formula 409 

Degreaser Disinfectant and water. Other 
typical AIS disinfection methods and other 
409 brand products are not effective in killing 
New Zealand Mudsnails.

A Waterways Conservation Officer may order: 
•	 The removal of aquatic plants or prohibited species from a watercraft, trailer or water-related equipment before transport or before immersing 

in Commonwealth waters.
•	 Confinement of the watercraft at a mooring, dock or other location until the related equipment is removed from the water.
•	 Removal of a watercraft from a Commonwealth water to remove prohibited AIS if the water has not previously been known 

to be infected with that species. Find lists of known waters of the Commonwealth with AIS in the United States Geological 
Survey's Nonindigenous Aquatic Species database.

•	 A prohibition of a watercraft into a Commonwealth water when the watercraft has aquatic plants or prohibited AIS attached 
or when water has not been drained or the drain plug not removed.

•	 Decontamination of a watercraft, if possible, on site.

YOU ARE REQUIRED TO
STOP AQUATIC HITCHHIKERS!

nas.er.usgs.gov

REMOVE THE PLUG

Trailer Lights     Bilge            Axle           Rollers             Hitch

Dock Lines/Ropes   Live Wells                                   Anchor

Motor
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Learn more about boating safety 
at FishandBoat.com




