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STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical Therapist
Licensed healthcare professionals who help injured or ill people

improve their movement and manage their pain.

Physical therapists are often an important part of the

rehabilitation, treatment, and prevention of patients with

chronic conditions, illnesses, or injuries. 

Physical Therapy Assistant

An individual certified by the state board to work under the

direction and supervision of physical therapists.
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Degrees:

Doctorate 

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical Therapist
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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States with 1 required examination 

States with 2 required examinations



Continuing Education Requirement 
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H
O

U
R

S

30 hours 28.49 hours

PA U.S
0

25

50

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

PA U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

30 hours

  0 CE hours 

20 - 29 CE hours/2 yrs

Good Moral Character Requirement 

6 States

41 States
1 State

CE Reporting Cycles

3 years

1 year

2 years
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STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical Therapist

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have

been adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

State has Good Moral Character
requirement for licensure:

  Yes

 No

 30 - 39 CE hours/2 yrs

40 CE hours/2 yrs

 80 CE hours/2 yrs *MA & ME do not have CE requirement
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$90.00

145.78

PA U.S

0

50

100
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*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles

PA

U.S.
Avg.
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Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $25.00

Missouri

HIGHEST:    $579.00

California

Fe
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$30.00

$185.97

PA U.S

0

50

100

150

PA

U.S.
Avg.

Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $47.00

Utah

MEDIAN: 

$140.00

MEDIAN:  

$165.00

HIGHEST:    $325.00

Maryland

15 States

35 States

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Annual

2020   

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Physical Therapist 

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity or Endorsement  

Alabama

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

District of

Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Maine

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi 

Montana

Nevada

New Hampshire

 Endorsement 

 Hawaii 

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 
Delaware

Louisiana

Missouri

New Mexico

South Dakota

Tennessee

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-
state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by
granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to
immediately endorse licensee from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with
substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and
without discipline against their license or criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from
a jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal requirements for licensure, then
the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license for a period of such time to
allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements, allowing them access to
gainful employment in the interim. 

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical Therapist

New Jersey

New York 

North Carolina

North Dakota

Oklahoma

Oregon 

Pennsylvania**

Rhode Island

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Reciprocity/Endorsement

Connecticut

Kentucky

Massachusetts

Nebraska

Ohio

Credentials

Alaska
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Degrees:

Associate's

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical Therapy Assistant
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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States with 2 required examinations



Continuing Education Requirement 
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30 hours

23.56 hours

PA U.S
0

25

50

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

PA
U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

24 hours

  0 CE hours 

10 - 19 CE hours/2 yrs

Good Moral Character Requirement 

7 States

39 States
1 State

CE Reporting Cycles

3 years

1 year

2 years
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STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical Therapy Assistant

State has Good Moral Character
requirement for licensure:

  Yes

 No

 20 - 29 CE hours/2 yrs

30 - 39 CE hours/2 yrs

  40 CE hours/2 yrs *CO, MA, and ME do not have CE requirement
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*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles
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Avg.
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Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $25.00

Missouri

HIGHEST:    $429.00

California

Fe
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$30.00

$150.03

PA U.S

0

50

100

150

PA

U.S.
Avg.

Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $47.00

Utah

MEDIAN: 

$140.00

MEDIAN:  

$127.50

HIGHEST:    $325.00

Maryland

17 States

33 States

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Annual

2020   

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Physical Therapy Assistant

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity or Endorsement  

Alabama

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

District of

Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Maine

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi 

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

 Endorsement 

 Hawaii 

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 
Connecticut

Delaware

Louisiana

Missouri

Oregon

South Dakota

Tennessee

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-
state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by
granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to
immediately endorse licensee from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with
substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and
without discipline against their license or criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from
a jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal requirements for licensure, then
the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license for a period of such time to
allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements, allowing them access to
gainful employment in the interim. 

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Physical Therapy Assistant

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York 

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon 

New Hampshire

Pennsylvania**

Rhode Island

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Reciprocity/Endorsement

Massachusetts

Credentials

Alaska



Alabama
http://pt.alabama.gov/

Alaska
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub
/PT-OTStatutes.pdf

Arizona
https://ptboard.az.gov/resources/laws

Arkansas
https://www.arptb.org/pdf/rules_regs.pdf

California
http://www.ptbc.ca.gov/laws/laws.shtml

Colorado
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Physical_Ther
apy_Laws

Connecticut
http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?
a=3121&q=389468&dphNav_GID=1821

Delaware
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c026/

District of Columbia 
https://dchealth.dc.gov/

Florida
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?
App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-
0499/0486/0486.html

Georgia
http://sos.ga.gov/plb/acrobat/laws/15_Physical_Thera
pists_43-33.pdf

Hawaii
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/hrs_461J-1-
17.pdf

Idaho
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title
54/T54CH22/

Illinois
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/
06801340sections.html

Indiana
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/T08440/A00060.PD
F?

Iowa
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-
Physical-and-Occupational-Therapy/Laws-and-Rules

Kansas
http://www.ksbha.org/professions/PT.shtml

Kentucky
http://pt.ky.gov/StatutesRegulations/Documents/KRS
%20KAR%20complete.pdf

Louisiana
https://www.laptboard.org/index.cfm/rules/practiceac
t

Maine
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/profe
ssions/physical_therapists/pdf/pt_pta_licensure.pdf

Maryland
https://health.maryland.gov/bphte/Pages/licensing.asp
x#mexam

Massachusetts
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-
boards/ah/regulations/

Michigan
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(sdzghzrii0viq3g1dgu
qttdy))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-
368-1978-15-178

Minnesota
https://mn.gov/boards/assets/ms%20148_tcm21-
284120.pdf

Mississippi
https://www.msbpt.ms.gov/secure/pdf/Final.Adoption.
Current.Regs.2015.pdf

Missouri
http://www.sos.mo.gov/cmsimages/adrules/csr/curren
t/20csr/20c2150-3.pdf

Montana
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/37_11.htm

Nebraska
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Physical-
Therapy.aspx

Nevada
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-640.html

New Hampshire
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/allied-health/physical-
therapy.htm

New Jersey
http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/pt/Pages/regulatio
ns.aspx

New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/uploads/files/Printable%20
2017.pdf

New York
http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/pt/part77.htm

North Carolina
https://www.ncptboard.org/documents/PracticeAct.pd
f

North Dakota
https://www.ndbpt.org/pdf/NDpractice_act.pdf

Ohio
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Physical-Therapy-Section

Oklahoma
http://www.okmedicalboard.org/physical_therapists/d
ownload/288/PTLAW.pdf

Oregon
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors68
8.html

Pennsylvania
http://www.dos.pa.gov/professionallicensing/boardsco
mmissions/physicaltherapy/Pages/default.aspx

Rhode Island
http://health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=236

South Carolina
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t40c045.php

South Dakota
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/Displa
yStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=36-10

Tennessee
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-
areas/health-professional-boards/pt-board/pt-
board/licensure.html

Texas
http://www.ptot.texas.gov/idl/6D2078FF-B6F0-ED66-
C84F-6E0493418534

Utah
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter24B/58-
24b.html

Vermont
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/26/038

Virginia
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther
_laws_regs.htm

Washington
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?
cite=18.74&full=true

West Virginia
http://www.wvbopt.com/documents/Title%2016%20Se
ries%201%20General%20Provisions%20for%20PT-
PTA%20-%20Effective%20June%2016%2020112.pdf

Wisconsin
https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/PT/Default.aspx

Wyoming
http://physicaltherapy.wyo.gov/

Sources:
State Licensing Boards

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY
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