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Chiropractor

A licensed practitioner of chiropractic. 

Chiropractic is a branch of the healing arts dealing with the

relationship between the articulations of the vertebral column, as well

as other articulations, and the neuro-musculoskeletal system and the

role of these relationships in the restoration and maintenance of

health. The term shall include systems of locating misaligned or

displaced vertebrae of the human spine and other articulations; the

examination preparatory to the adjustment or manipulation of such

misaligned or displaced vertebrae and other articulations; the

adjustment or manipulation of such misaligned or displaced vertebrae

and other articulations; the furnishing of necessary patient care for

the restoration and maintenance of health; and the use of board-

approved scientific instruments of analysis, including X-rays. 
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Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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Degrees:

Doctorate 

States with 1 required examination 

States with 2 required examinations



Hours

< 24

24 - 32

32 - 40

40 - 50

> 50
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23 States

25 States

3 States

CE Reporting Cycles

Continuing Education Requirement 
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Chiropractor

24 hours

36.9 hours

PA U.S
0

50

100

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

H
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U.S.
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MEDIAN: 

36 hours

Training / Experience Requirement 
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*All chiropractors must complete
a practicum in order to obtain

their doctorate degree.

3 years

1 year

2 years

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have

been adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.



24 States
25 States

2 States

Renewal Cycles
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Chiropractor

Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $25.00

(Pennsylvania )

M E D I A N :  

$ 2 5 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 7 0 0 . 0 0

( N e w  M ex i c o)
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Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $100.00

(Indiana)

M E D I A N :  

$ 3 8 9 . 5 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 1 , 1 4 0 . 0 0

(C o n n e c t i c u t )

Biennial Annual

2020      

Triennial

*CO is excluded from the calculations for the average and median because Chiropractors are notified at
the time of renewal what the fee is and it is not public knowledge.

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity
or Endorsement  

Colorado

Connecticut

Idaho

Illinois

Iowa

Kansas

Maine

Maryland

Michigan

Montana

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New York

Rhode Island

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

 Endorsement 

Arkansas

Florida

Kentucky

New Mexico

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 

Alabama

Arizona

California

Delaware

District of Columbia

Georgia

Hawaii

Indiana

Louisiana

Massachusetts

Mississippi

Missouri

Nebraska

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania**

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards
and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensees
from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing
requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or
criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal
requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional licenses for a
period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements, allowing
them access to gainful employment in the interim.

THE STATE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

Chiropractor

*Alaska, Minnesota, North Carolina, North Dakota, and Texas do not specifically state endorsement
or reciprocity, but state that they license through "credentials" and "substantial equivalency".
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Observation Section 

The Following State Regulate
Chiropractor Assistants 

Alaska
Arizona
Florida

*Louisiana
Maine

Maryland
Mississippi

Nevada
New Jersey

North Carolina
North Dakota

Oklahoma
Oregon

South Dakota
Tennessee

* Certificate of chiropractic assistants to perform chiropractic x-ray functions.

States that do not have an individual Chiropractic
Licensing Board or Commission 

Illinois - State Medical Licensing Board

Kansas – Board of Healing Arts

Virginia - Board of Medicine



Alabama
http://www.chiro.state.al.us/

Alaska
https://www.alaskachiropracticsociety.com/

Arizona
https://chiroboard.az.gov/

Arkansas
http://www.arkansas.gov/asbce/

California
https://www.chiro.ca.gov/

Colorado
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Chiropractic

Connecticut
https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Public-Health-Hearing-
Office/State-Board-of-Chiropractic-Examiners/State-
Board-of-Chiropractic-Examiners

Delaware
https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/chiropractic/

District of Columbia 
https://dchealth.dc.gov/service/board-chiropractic

Florida
https://floridaschiropracticmedicine.gov/

Georgia
https://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/14

Hawaii
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/chiropractor/

Idaho
https://ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/BoardPage.aspx?
Bureau=CHI

Illinois
https://www.idfpr.com/profs/chiropractor.asp

Indiana
https://www.in.gov/pla/chiro.htm

Iowa
https://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-
Chiropractic

Kansas
http://www.ksbha.org/professions/DC.shtml

Kentucky
https://kbce.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Louisiana
http://www.lachiropracticboard.com/

Maine
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/prof
essions/chiropractors/index.html

Maryland
https://health.maryland.gov/chiropractic/Pages/index.
aspx

Massachusetts
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-of-
chiropractors

Michigan
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-
89334_72600_72603_27529_27531---,00.html

Minnesota
https://mn.gov/boards/chiropractic-examiners/

Mississippi
https://www.msbce.ms.gov/secure/index.asp

Missouri
https://pr.mo.gov/chiropractors.asp

Montana
http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/chi

Nebraska
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Chiropractic.aspx

Nevada
http://chirobd.nv.gov/

New Hampshire
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/chiropractic/

New Jersey
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/chi/Pages/default.
aspx

New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/chiropractic-
board.aspx

New York
http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/chiro/

North Carolina
https://ncchiroboard.com/

North Dakota
https://www.ndsbce.org/

Ohio
https://chirobd.ohio.gov/

Oklahoma
https://www.ok.gov/chiropracticboard/

Oregon
https://www.oregon.gov/obce/Pages/index.aspx

Pennsylvania
https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsC
ommissions/Chiropractic/Pages/default.aspx

Rhode Island
https://health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=250

South Carolina
https://llr.sc.gov/chiro/

South Dakota
https://doh.sd.gov/boards/chiropractic/

Tennessee
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-
areas/health-professional-boards/chiro-board.html

Texas
https://www.tbce.state.tx.us/

Utah
https://dopl.utah.gov/chiro/index.html

Vermont
https://governor.vermont.gov/boards_and_commissions
/chiropractic

Virginia
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.
htm

Washington
https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificate
s/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/Chiropractor/Licens
eRequirements

West Virginia
https://boc.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin
https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/BoardsCouncils/Chiropractic
/Default.aspx

Wyoming
https://chiropractic.wyo.gov/
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