## STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION

## <u>CME REQUIREMENTS FOR</u> OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN VOLUNTEER LICENSE

- Effective January 1, 2015, Per Act 31 of 2014, two (2) hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license. Details and a list of Board-approved providers can be found at <a href="www.dos.pa.gov">www.dos.pa.gov</a>. Verification of completion must be sent electronically and directly from the course provider. It may take up to 7 days for the provider to submit the records to the Board's office.
- Effective January 1, 2017, Section 9.1(a)(2) of ABC-MAP\* requires that all prescribers or dispensers, as defined in Section 3 of ABC-MAP, complete at least two hours of continuing education in pain management, the identification of addiction or in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids as a portion of the total continuing education required.
  - The required continuing education is part of the total required and must be taken from a Board-approved continuing education provider.
  - \*The Achieving Better Care by Monitoring All Prescriptions Program Act (ABC-MAP) (Act 191 of 2014, as amended) is available on the Legislature's website at:
     <a href="http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/Ll/uconsCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&yr=2014&sessInd=0&smthLwInd=0&act=191">http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/Ll/uconsCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&yr=2014&sessInd=0&smthLwInd=0&act=191</a>

Volunteer physicians who hold **BOTH** an **active unrestricted** DO license and an **active volunteer** license must complete 100 credit hours of continuing medical education as outlined in the CME Requirements for Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon – Unrestricted License found on our website at <a href="https://www.dos.pa.gov/ost">www.dos.pa.gov/ost</a>.

Volunteer physicians who hold **ONLY** an **active volunteer** license (and the unrestricted license is in inactive/expired/active-retired status) are required to complete 20 hours of continuing medical education in the preceding biennial renewal period, which runs from November 1 of an even year through October 31 of the next even year. The 20 hours of CME can be completed in AOA Category 1-A, 1-B, or Category 2 or AMA Category 1 or 2.

NOTE: Volunteer hours worked at a clinic/facility are NOT acceptable for CME credit.

For additional information regarding continuing education course providers, the following websites may be helpful:

Pennsylvania Osteopathic Medical Association
American Osteopathic Association
Pennsylvania Medical Society
American Medical Association

www.poma.org
www.aoa-net.org
www.pamedsoc.org
www.pamedsoc.org
www.ama-assn.org/go/cme

Additional information regarding continuing education and a copy of the Board's rules and regulations may be found on our website at www.dos.pa.gov/ost.

PLEASE NOTE: THE BOARD DOES NOT RECOMMEND OR ENDORSE CME COURSES.

IT IS THE LICENSEE'S RESPONSIBILITY TO MAINTAIN/TRACK THEIR PERSONAL CME CREDIT HOURS. LICENSEE SHALL RETAIN PROOF OF COMPLETION OF CME FOR AT LEAST 2 YEARS AFTER COMPLETION OF THE CME OR AFTER THE COMPLETION OF THE BIENNIAL REGISTRATION FOR WHICH THE CME WAS REQUIRED, WHICHEVER IS LATER.