

January 1, 2025

### TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

This letter is in response to your letter requesting information on the requirements for licensure of physicians and other allied health professionals and how primary verification of credentials is conducted by the Board. The following is provided:

## **All Professions:**

- Education Form in the application must be completed by the school and sent directly from the school to the Board.
- Licensure examination Scores must be sent directly from the examination agency to the board.
- A query of the Federation of State Medical Boards is done by the Board on all initial licensure and reactivation applications for physicians and physician assistants.

# **Physicians and Surgeons:**

- 2 yrs graduate training (US grads) Form in application must be completed by the hospital(s) and sent directly from the hospital to the Board.
- 2 yrs graduate training (International grads) Form in application must be completed by the hospital(s) and sent directly from the hospital to the Board.
- ECFMG certification (International grads) Applicant requests verification be sent directly from ECFMG to the Board.

<u>Federation of State Medical Boards, Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS)</u> - Verification of education/credentials through FCVS is accepted by the Board for physicians and physician assistants. The Federation of State Medical Boards submits FCVS profiles directly to the Board.

Sincerely,

Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine



## PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF MEDICINE

**Licensure Verification & Application Information** 

What licenses does the Board issue?

MD (Physician), CNM (Certified Nurse Midwife), PA-C (Physician Assistant), RT (Respiratory Therapist), AK(Acupuncturist), ATC (Athletic Trainer), POM (Practitioner of Oriental Medicine), PERF (Perfusionist), BH (Behavior Specialist), GC (Genetic Counselors), (PO) Prosthetist, (OH) Orthotist, (PD) Pedorthist, (OF) Orthotic Fitter

What is the period of time a license is valid in Pennsylvania?

2 Years—All licenses expire on the same date

What is the biennial period?

January 1, ODD to December 31, EVEN

Does the Board provide a grace period to its licensed practitioners when their license expires?

No

Is Continuing Education required by the Board?

Yes

Initial Licensure:

All licensees regulated by the Board must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.

All prescribers or dispensers applying for licensure/approval must complete at least 4 hours of Board-approved education consisting of 2 hours in pain management or the identification of addiction and 2 hours in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. Applicants must document, within one year from issuance of the licensure/approval, that they completed this education either as part of an initial education program, a stand-along course from a Board-approved course provider, or a continuing education course from an approved continuing education provider.

#### Renewal:

All licensees regulated by the Board must complete 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.

Additional Continuing Education is required for the following classes:

MD – Physician and Surgeons
RCP – Respiratory Care Practitioners
PERF- Perfusionists
CNM – Certified Nurse Midwife w/Prescriptive Authority
GC – Genetic Counselors
PO- Prosthetist
OH-Orthotist
PD-Pedorthist
OF-Orthotic Fitter

Specific requirements per license class are posted on the Board's website at www.dos.pa.gov/med



Yes

American – Verification of Medical Education Form

Can a license be renewed/reactivated prior to completion of continuing education? No Does the Board have a website where license information can be verified? Yes at www.pals.pa.gov/verify How often is the information on your website updated? Daily Is there a fee to obtain written verification of a license to another licensing board with issue date, expiration date, current status and possible disciplinary information and what is the fee? Yes Certification/Verification of Licensure - \$15 Requests must be submitted online at www.pals.pa.gov. Is the information on the website the same information that would be provided in a verification of licensure? Yes Are disciplinary actions available on the Board's website? Yes Is the information provided on the Board's website considered electronically secure as well as a primary source for license verification? Yes Is the Board's website considered a secure site? Yes How often is information regarding verification of licensure on the Board's website updated? 24-48 hours Is the Board's current Newsletter as well as previous versions available on the website? Yes If the applicant has a license in another state, do you verify current status (primary source verification directly from the licensing board to the PA Board) prior to issuing a license? Yes Does the Board verify all education/graduation (primary source verification directly from the school to the Board for both American and International Medical Graduates-physicians) prior to issuing a license?

International Medical Graduates - Diploma, Transcripts & Verification of Medical Education Form



Does the Board verify ECFMG certification, if necessary, (primary source verification directly from ECFMG to the Board) prior to issuing a license?

Yes

Does the Board accept the Federation of State Medical Boards FCVS credentials verification service?

Yes, for physicians and physician assistants However, Additional Documents Are Required

Does the Board conduct a query of the Federation of State Medical Boards on all initial applications and reactivations?

Yes

Does the Board verify examination scores (primary source verification directly from the examination agency to the Board) prior to issuing a license?

Yes

American – 2 years (PGY1 & PGY2) International Medical Graduates – 2 years (PGY1 &PGY2)

Can we obtain a list of all licensed practitioners on a CD/Disk/Emailed? Is there a fee?

Yes - Go to www.pals.pa.gov - Other Services - List Sales

Is disciplinary information available?

Yes – This information is available on the Board's website – <a href="www.pals.pa.gov">www.pals.pa.gov</a> - Verify a License – Disciplinary Search.

For copies of an action(s), contact the Prothonotary's Office at 717-772-2686

**Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine**