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4. DELETING PARTNERS:
If any partners are being deleted, a statement from the deleted partner(s) must accompany your
application.  If you are unable to obtain the signature of the deleted partner(s), you must apply for an
initial (new) school license.  Be sure to return the existing current school license with a statement
indicating that you are unable to obtain the required deleted partner(s) signature.  If applying for
initial (new) school licensure, the school cannot be open/operating prior to inspection.

5.. CORPORATE APPLICANTS:
If applicant is a corporation, include a copy of the certificate of incorporation from the Pennsylvania
Corporation Bureau.  Be sure that the corporation is authorized to conduct business within
Pennsylvania.  To register the corporation, contact the Pennsylvania Corporation Bureau at 717-787-
1057.  A corporation is an individual and may be used for ownership of a school.

.    66.  FICTITIOUS NAME (TRADE NAME) REGISTRATION: 
If you will be using any name other than your own name, it would be considered a fictitious name 
and must be registered with the Corporation Bureau as a fictitious name.  You may contact the 
Corporation Bureau at 717-787-1057.  While the proof of registration of a fictitious name need not be 
submitted with this application, it is the school owner’s responsibility to ensure that a fictitious name 
is properly registered.  A fictitious name is not an individual identity and cannot be used for 
ownership of a school. 

7. SCHOOL ADDRESS CHANGE ONLY, SAME PHYSICAL LOCATION:
Licenses must be issued to the school’s physical address.  If the Post Office changes the school’s
designated address, but the physical location remains the same, the address change must be noted on
the licensing database.  There will be a fee to print the duplicate license with the revised address.

8. SCHOOL MANAGEMENT:
A. Every cosmetology school must designate a licensed cosmetology teacher as supervisor.  The
school supervisor is to ensure that the school conforms to requirements of the law.  This individual
shall possess a current teacher’s license issued by the Board and have either acquired 2,500 hours of
satisfactory experience as a cosmetology teacher or acquired 1,250 hours of satisfactory experience as
a cosmetology teacher and 1,800 hours of satisfactory experience as the designated person in charge
of a cosmetology salon.
B. A school may not have more than one teacher supervisor.  A person may not serve as supervisor of
more than one school at the same time.
C. The supervisor of the school must be readily available during regular business hours to bureau
inspectors. If a designated supervisor’s absence is to exceed two weeks, the supervisor shall notify
the board in writing of the absence and designate a temporary supervisor as well as display such
notice in the school.
D. In addition to the teacher supervisor, a school may also have an administrator (i.e. principal or a
corporate owner) who does not need to have a cosmetology teacher license.
E. The school may designate a night supervisor for administrative and accountability purposes but
this individual would not be regarded as the supervising teacher for the school.  Schools opting to
have this designation should notify the board for record keeping and inspection purposes but there is
no fee to file this information. This optional night teacher would not need to meet the regulatory
requirements for the supervisor teacher.
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9. SCHOOL CURRICULUM REQUIREMENT:

The Board’s Regulation SCHOOL CURRICULUM REQUIREMENT at 49 PA Code §7.129 sets forth
the breakdown of hours by subject for cosmetology curriculum.  These shall comprise 1250 hours for
cosmetology curriculum, 695 for a licensed barber, 500 hours for teacher curriculum, 300 for
cosmetician curriculum and 200 for a manicurist curriculum.  All schools must offer a cosmetology
curriculum.  Schools may also offer specialized curriculum.

If your school changes include changes to curriculum, be sure to include the appropriate changes
of these documents.  If a previously submitted document is not changing, there is no need to
resubmit.

    SCHOOL GENERATED INFORMATION AND PUBLICATIONS 

A. School catalog
B. Enrollment agreement (not needed for vocational technical school applications)
C. Organizational chart
D. Attendance records
E. School rules and regulations
F. Release form
G. Inventory of school equipment
H. List of instructional materials, audio-visual materials, and any other available

instructional materials
I. Forms used to record both written and practical progress for each course offered.
J. Curriculum and course outline for each course offered  (Refer to § 7.129 of the

Cosmetology Rules and Regulations as well as page 4 of this application for information on
preparing your curriculum and course outline)

K. Copy of diploma for each course offered
L. Consumer information that lists the following:

(1) Licensure and educational requirements for each course offered
(2) Non-discriminatory clause
(3) Tuition, student kit and other fees
(4) Admission requirements
(5) Graduation requirements

10. SCHOOL RATIO REQUIREMENTS:
For the purposes of classroom instruction, according to Section 6(a)(7) in no case shall there be less
than one teacher to each twenty-five pupils.
NUMBER OF TEACHERS IN CLASSROOM:        1      2       3      4      5   6  
NUMBER OF STUDENTS IN CLASSROOM:       25    50     75         100        125        150   

11. SCHOOL PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS:
§7.116 for each 25 student or less, the school shall have a minimum area of 2,750 square feet,
exclusive of office space and lavatory facilities, 750 square feet of which shall be devoted to
classroom instruction.  An additional area of 9 square feet to the classroom space is required for each
additional student.

NUMBER OF STUDENTS IN CLASSROOM:        25       50       75            100    
SQUAREFOOTAGE IN CLASSROOM:                2,750     2,975        3,200         3,425 
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12. SCHOOL STUDENT EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS (student kits):
All schools must meet the following minimum equipment requirements.  For each additional set of 25
students, supplies and equipment must be increased so that each student can practice in a safe and
efficient manner.

§7.115 school shall ensure that each
cosmetology student possess and maintains in
sanitary condition the following:

§7.115 school shall ensure that each esthetician
student possess and maintains in sanitary
condition the following:

- 1  shampoo cape
- 1 pair of scissors 
- 1 hair-cutting razor
- 2 brushes
- 6 combs
- 100 pin curl clips minimum 
- Complete tools for manicuring, including emery boards, pusher
and brush
- 1 pair of tweezers
- Carrying case of sufficient size to accommodate the equipment
and supplies used by the student
- 1 basic cosmetology textbook.  A book of questions and
answers is not considered a textbook

- 1 facial cape
- 2 spatulas
- 1 pair of tweezers
- 1 make-up kit
- Facial supplies 
- Carrying case of sufficient size to accommodate the equipment
and supplies used by the student
- 1 basic skin care/make-up textbook

§7.115 school shall ensure that each nail
technician student possess and maintains in
sanitary condition the following:

§7.115 school shall ensure that each natural hair
braider student possess and maintains in
sanitary condition the following:

- 1 polish kit 
- Complete tools for nail care, including emery boards, pusher
and brush
- Carrying case of sufficient size to accommodate the equipment
and supplies used by the student
- 1 basic nail technology text book

- 1 shampoo cape
- 1 comb-out cape
- 2 brushes
- 6 combs
- 100 pin curl clips minimum 
- Carrying case of sufficient size to accommodate the equipment
and supplies used by the student
- 1 basic natural hair braiding text book

13. SCHOOL FLOOR EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS (clinic room): 

§7.114 for each 25 students or less the school shall have a minimum of the following:

4 shampoo basins        8 hair dryers 
4 manicuring tables and chairs            4 closed containers for sanitized implements 
4 wet sterilizers         4 facial chairs 
4 complete sets of cold wave equipment         1 mannequin for each student 
12 styling stations, mirrors and chairs          1 locker for each student 
4 closed containers for soiled linen             3 closed waste containers 
1 linen cabinet         3 timer clocks 
2 sanitary towels per student    1 container for sterile solution for each manicuring table 
1 bulletin board with dimensions of at least 2 feet by 2 feet 
1 chalkboard with dimensions of at least 4 feet by 4 feet 
1 arm chair or usable table and chair for each student in the theory room 
Attendance records for each student 
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STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 

SCHOOL CHANGE APPLICATION 
PLEASE NOTE: this application is active for six months from the date of receipt in the Board office.  If the application has not 
been successfully processed by that time, it will be necessary to re-apply with a new fee. 

1 DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION 

SCHOOL NAME 
(Name must match 
  license): 

ADDRESS 

LICENSE 

TELEPHONE 

EMAIL 

� By checking this box I indicate that I prefer to receive notification regarding the school application processing via email
rather than US mail.  I will check my email account on a regular basis and I will accept email from ST-
Cosmetology@.pa.gov  

Providing an email address to the board will facilitate communications between board administrator and school personnel.  
Each school may provide multiple email address for all employees of the school who desire to receive emailed 
communications from the board administrator. 

2. TYPE OF CHANGE

Change of Some Partners in Ownership (no inspection required) ($69.00) 

Change of School Fictitious Name (return the license) (no inspection required)($69.00) 

Change of School Supervisor (no inspection required)($31.00) 

Adding a New Curriculum (no inspection required)($69.00)  

Change to Existing Curriculum (no inspection required)($69.00) 

Change in Square Footage at Same Location (inspection required) (submit sketch) ($125.00) 

Change of School Address Same Location- Postal or 911 Change  
     (RETURN THE LICENSE) (no inspection required)($5.00) 

Change of Location or Corporate Ownership (Please STOP.  Do not use this application.  
  Please submit the School License Application) 

Other change (no fee) – INDICATE CHANGE HERE: 

Mailing Address: 
State Board of Cosmetology 
PO Box 2649 

  
H

 
arrisburg, PA  17105-2649  

Courier Address: 
State Board of Cosmetology 
2525 N 7th Street, Suite 330
Harrisburg, PA 17110

Telephone: 833-367-2762
Fax:  717-705-5540 
E-mail: st-cosmetology@pa.gov 
Website:www.dos.pa.gov/cosmet

For processing staff use only: 
Application Number:  
Staff initials: 
 

STREET: 

CITY:       

STATE:       ZIP CODE: 

mailto:ST-Cosmetology@state.pa.us
mailto:ST-Cosmetology@state.pa.us
mailto:st-cosmetology@state.pa.us
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/cosmet
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3. EFFECTIVE DATE OF SCHOOL CHANGE
Please indicate the date the indicated school change became or will become effective: 

DATE:  

4. CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP TO ADD OR DELETE PARTNERS (return original 
license) 
Print the names of ALL owners (licensed or unlicensed).    If the school is owned by a corporation, include a copy of the certificate of 
incorporation and provide a list all corporate officers with their names and titles. Use additional pages if necessary.   
OWNERS/OFFICERS NAMES TITLE OWNER DISPOSITION 

  Delete  �      Add    � 

  Delete  �      Add    � 

  Delete  �      Add    � 

  Delete  �      Add    � 

5. CHANGE of SCHOOL TRADE NAME (Return original license) 
A school changing its name will need to attach a written statement from the School Board Administration detailing how the decision to 
change the name of the school came to be made.  There will be a fee to print the duplicate license. 

OLD NAME LICENSE NUMBER 

NEW NAME LICENSE NUMBER 

6. CHANGE of SQUARE FOOTAGE SAME LOCATION (Inspection required) 
        SUBMIT A SKETCH DETAILING THE CHANGES 
ORIGINAL TOTAL SQUARE FOOTAGE FOR 
ENTIRE SCHOOL 

NEW TOTAL SQUARE FOOTAGE FOR ENTIRE 
SCHOOL 

ORIGINAL SQUARE FOOTAGE FOR CLASSROOM 
TO BE CHANGED 

ADDITIONAL SQUARE FOOTAGE TO BE ADDED 

7. CHANGE OF ADDRESS SAME LOCATION (Postal Change) (No Inspection required) 

NEW SCHOOL ADDRESS 
(If changing address, be sure to 
provide your new address here. 
The ZIP code must remain the 
Same as previously submitted). 

8. STUDENT ENROLLMENT SCHOOL

STREET: 

CITY:       

STATE:      ZIP CODE: 
Please indicate total anticipated student
enrollment after indicated changes:

DAY:______________   EVENING: ______________
6 
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9. CHANGE of SCHOOL SUPERVISOR - COSMETOLOGY TEACHER
(Attach a copy of the teacher’s resume of experience) see §7.111(a)(2)(ii)

OLD SUPERVISING TEACHER LICENSE NUMBER 

*NEW SUPERVISING TEACHER LICENSE NUMBER 

Signature of new designee: 

*See Section 9 in instructions for supervisor teacher requirements. Resume required.

10. CHANGE of SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR (Non-licensee) see §7.111(1)(3)
Old Supervisor/Administrator TITLE 

New Supervisor/Administrator TITLE 

11. DESIGNATING NIGHT SUPERVISOR (No fee)
Old Night Supervisor (Teacher) LICENSE NUMBER 

New Night Supervisor (Teacher) LICENSE NUMBER 

12. CHANGE of SCHOOL CURRICULUM (Submit Relevant School Generated
Documents) Cosmetology must be taught in all schools.

TEACHER CURRICULUM  Remove  �    * Add  �  Increase hours  �     

NAIL TECHNICIAN CURRICULUM Remove  �    * Add  �  Increase hours  �     

ESTHETICIAN CURRICULUM Remove  �    * Add  �  Increase hours  �     

NATURAL HAIR BRAIDER CURRICULUM Remove  �    * Add  �  Increase hours  �     
*If adding curriculum, see section 10 of the instructions regarding documents to submit to board with changes.
If documents previously submitted to the board have not changes, there is no need to resubmit.

APPLICATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED 

UNLESS OWNER’S OATH (SECTION 13) 

IS COMPLETED
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13.  OWNER’S OATH 
    All owners must sign below.  If applicant is a corporation, all officers must sign. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

By signing below, I verify that this form is in the original format as supplied by the 
Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am 
aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information pursuant 
to 18 Pa. C.S.§4911. 

Additionally, I certify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best 
of my knowledge, information and belief, and that I am of good moral character.  I 
understand that any false statement made is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. §4904 
relating to unsworn falsification to authorities and may result in the suspension or 
revocation of my license or certificate. 

I further understand that if a bureau inspector determines that I have not correctly 
answered any questions provided within this application or if my school does not meet all 
requirements for licensure, authority to operate will not be given at the time of inspection 
and I will be responsible for all applicable re-inspection fees. 

 

                TRADE NAME OF SCHOOL: __________________________________ 
 
Owner/Officer Signature: ________________________________  Date:_________________ 
 
Owner/Officer Signature: ________________________________  Date:_________________ 
 
Owner/Officer Signature: ________________________________  Date:_________________ 
 
Owner/Officer Signature: ________________________________  Date:_________________ 
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