

ATTENTION: Emission Inspection School and Quality Assurance Officers

Vehicle Inspection Division Bulletin

November 2024

TOPICS IN THIS BULLETIN: 5,000-Mile Emissions Exemption Issuance and Required Documentation Documentation

The information regarding 5,000-Mile Emissions Exemption Issuance and Required Documentation has been updated and expanded in all applicable emission training manuals under the "Vehicle Exemptions" section of each applicable manual. These new versions supersede all previous publications. New versions of the affected manuals will include "11-18-2024" on the manual cover page, and in the file name. Previous versions have been removed from the Training portal website. Any printed or downloaded copies of previous versions can no longer be used. Information about 5,000-mile exemption requirements can be found in the Pennsylvania Code and Statutes, <u>Section § 177.101.(b)(12) Subject Vehicles</u>.

Vehicle Exemptions

SI24-01

Some vehicles are subject to the program but do not have to undergo emissions testing. These vehicles must, however, display a valid emissions sticker that is marked "EXEMPT." Below we will review the regulations to help in determining if a vehicle is considered exempt. Vehicles that qualify for this exemption include the following:

- New or current model year subject vehicles that have never been registered in Pennsylvania or any other jurisdiction before the current owner and have less than 5,000 miles on the odometer.
- Vehicles driven less than 5,000 miles in the previous 12 months as indicated by the mileage noted on their **safety inspection certificate** or by the **mileage recorded on the vehicle inspection data base** and which were owned by one individual for at least 1 year.

When qualifying a vehicle for a 5,000-mile exemption, you may only obtain previous mileage information from the back of the PA Safety Inspection Certificate (sticker) or from the PA Vehicle Inspection Database (VID) accessed by using the Previous Inspection History Report option in the Station menu on an approved and active emissions analyzer.

For each type of previous mileage source noted above, 12 months (365-days) must have passed since the qualifying previous inspection. The emissions station/inspector must retain proof of previous mileage source used in qualifying each vehicle for a 5000-mile exemption. This proof can be a copy/image of the front and back of the safety sticker that clearly shows all qualifying information, or a printout from the emission analyzer's previous inspection history report showing all qualifying information. Documentation must be attached to a copy of the 5000-mile exemption, **Sticker Issuance Report**, and both must be retained for Quality Assurance Officer review during the next emissions station audit.

Note: Previous mileage information cannot be obtained from the inspection station's files or from other documentation, such as repair or maintenance receipts; these are not acceptable previous mileage sources for determining 5,000-mile exemption qualification. Inspectors can only use the items listed in the regulations, as described above, to make this determination.

Regarding ownership, the vehicle owner is not required to provide proof of ownership for the year. Inspectors should take the word of the owner regarding ownership unless they have knowledge or proof to the contrary.

Please call the Inspection Station Operator hotline at 1-888-265-5909 if you have any questions.

Stephen J. Madrak, Director Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Laura J. Krol, Manager Vehicle Inspection Division