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Act 89 – Consumer Price Index (CPI) Fee Adjustments Affecting 
Renewal Notices  

Act 89, which became law on November 25, 2013, biennially amends many sections of Title 75. 
Act 89 represents an investment in Pennsylvania’s future: increasing public safety, driving 
commerce, creating jobs, and providing reliable funding for our transportation needs without 
leaving the bill to our future generations.  

Based on the 2023 CPI, effective July 1, 2023, the act amends the following sections of 
the Vehicle Code: 

• Section 1927 fee for transfer of registration adjusts from $9 to $10 

• Section 1929 fee for replacement registration plates and Amateur Radio Operation 
registration plates adjust from $11 to $13 

• Section 1932 fee for duplicate registration cards, at any time other than at time or renewal, 
initial registration, transfer or replacement or registration plate adjusts from $6 to $7 

• Section 1952(a) fee for Pennsylvania Certificates of Title adjusts from $58 to $67 

• Section 1952(b) fee for Manufacturer’s or dealer’s notification adjusts from $5 to $6 

• Section 1953 fee for recording a lien adjusts from $28 to $33  

• Section 1955(a)(1) fee for paid information adjusts from $12 to $14 

• Section 1956(a) fee for certified paid information adjusts from $38 to $44 

• Section 1957 fee for return check transaction adjusts from $42 to $48 (fee is in addition to 
the $20 Uncollectible Check Penalty) 

• Section 1958(a) fees for inspection stickers are adjusted as follows: 
o Annual inspection stickers from $9 to $11 
o Semi-annual inspection stickers from $7 to $9 

• Section 1959(b) fee for additional places of business for messenger service adjusts from 
$107 to $122 

• Section 1959(c) fee for a transfer of a messenger service location adjusts from $22 to $25 

• Section 1960 restoration fees are adjusted as follows: 
o Restoration fees for motor vehicle registration suspensions due to violations 

related to Sections 1379 or 1786 adjusts from $98 to $112 
o Restoration fees for out-of-service orders adjusts from $79 to $90 

• Section 1961 fee for Secure Power of Attorney adjusts from $26 to $30 

• Section 7306 fee for reclaiming an abandoned vehicle adjusts from $56 to $64 
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In addition, CPI adjusts the issuance fees for a variety of registration plates: 

• Section 1332(a.1) (3) fee for vertical motorcycle registration plates adjusts from $23 to $26 

• Section 1340(a.1) fee for Vintage registration plates adjusts from $84 to $96 

• Section 1340(a.2) fee for Historic Military Vehicle registration plates adjusts from $81 to 
$93 

• Section 1341.1(b)(1) fee to personalize special issued registration plates adjusts from 
$112 to $128 

• Section 1341.1(b)(2) fee to personalize Severely Disabled Veteran, Disabled Veteran, 
Prisoner of War or Person with Disability registration plates adjusts from $56 to $64 

• Section 1345 fee for Medal of Honor registration plates adjust from $11 to $13 

• Section 1346 fee for Purple Heart and Purple Heart motorcycle registration plates adjust 
from $11 to $13 

• Section 1352 fee for Wild Resource Conservation registration plates adjusts from $38 to 
$41 

• Section 1352.2 fee for Pollinator Conservation registration plates adjust from $38 to $41 

• Section 1353 fee for Preserve Our Heritage registration plates adjusts from $57 to $62 

• Section 1353.1(b) fee for Pennsylvania Monuments registration plates adjusts from $57 to 
$62 

• Section 1355 fee for Pennsylvania Zoological Council registration plates adjusts from $57 
to $62 

• Section 1359 fee for Steelworker registration plates adjusts from $23 to $26 

• Section 1361(b) fee for Honoring Our Veterans Motorcycle registration plates adjust from 
$38 to $41 

• Section 1364(b) fee for Honoring Our Veterans registration plates adjusts from $38 to $41 

• Section 1364(c) fee for Honoring Our Women Veterans registration plates adjusts from 
$37 to $40 

• Section 1368 fee for Bronze Star for Valor adjusts from $10 to $11 

• Section 1368.1 fee for Soldier’s Medal registration plates adjusts from $22 to $25 

• Section 1368.2 fee for Presidential Service Badge registration plates adjusts from $22 to 
$25 

• Section 1368.3 fee for Legion of Merit registration plates adjusts from $22 to $25 

• Section 1369 fee for Distinguished Service Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, Navy 
Cross, and Air Force Cross registration plates adjust from $10 to $11 

• Section 1369.2 fee for In God We Trust registration plates adjusts from $23 to $26 

• Section 1369.3 fee for Veterans of an Allied Foreign Country registration plates adjusts 
from $22 to $25 

• Section 1369.4 fee for USA Semiquincentennial registration plates from $52 to $56 

• Section 1923 fee for Antique, Classic and Collectible registration plates adjust from $84 to 
$96 

• Section 1928 fee for Temporary registration plates adjusts from $17 to $19 



 

 

• Section 1930 fee for Legislative registration plates adjusts from $85 to $97 

• Section 1931(a) fee to personalize standard issued registration plates adjust from $85 to 
$97 

• Section 1931(b) fee for special organizational registration plates, including Pennsylvania 
Hunting Heritage and Pennsylvania Appalachian Trail registration plates adjusts from $28 
to $32 

• Section 1931.1 fee for Street Rod registration plates adjusts from $57 to $65 

The fees for the following special military registration plates adjust from $23 to $26: 

• Section 1348, Pearl Harbor Survivor  
• Section 1350, Korean War Veteran   
• Section 1350.1, Korean Defense Service  
• Section 1351, Persian Gulf War Veteran  
• Section 1356, Expeditionary Forces  
• Section 1357, World War II Veteran 
• Section 1357.1, U.S. Merchant Marine 
• Section 1360, Vietnam War Veteran 
• Section 1361(a), Veteran Motorcycle  
• Section 1362, Operation Iraqi Freedom  
• Section 1363, Operation Enduring Freedom  
• Section 1363.1 Afghanistan and Iraq Veterans 
• Section 1364(a), U.S. Air Force Veteran, U.S. Army Veteran, U.S. Coast Guard 

Veteran, U.S. Marine Corps Veteran, U.S. Navy Veteran and Veteran 
• Section 1364.1, U.S. Air Force, U.S. Army, U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Marine Corps, 

and U.S. Navy 
• Section 1365, Gold Star Family 
• Section 1366.1, Airborne Unit  
• Section 1366.2 Blue Star Family 
• Section 1366.3 Air Medal 
• Section 1367, Bronze Star  
• Section 1369.1, Combat Action Badge, Combat Action Medal, 

Combat Action Ribbon, Combat Infantryman Badge and Combat Medical Badge 

The new fees will be effective July 1, 2023. 
 

Please ensure that you charge the correct fee when completing applications impacted 
by these fee adjustments. Failure to charge the correct fee may result in the 
application being rejected for insufficient fees. 
 
For a complete listing of motor vehicle fees, please refer to Form MV-70s, “Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles Schedule of Fees.” The most current version of this form can be found on our 
website, www.dmv.pa.gov. 

 
Agents are required to ensure all their employees receive PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services update 

bulletins. This bulletin may be downloaded by visiting the Driver and Vehicle Services website at 
www.dmv.pa.gov.  

http://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-70S.pdf
http://www.dmv.pa.gov/
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