

Driver and Vehicle Services Update

Bureau of Motor Vehicles – Research and Support Operations Section P.O. Box 68031, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8031

This bulletin may be downloaded by visiting the Driver and Vehicle Services website at www.dmv.pa.gov.

Tom Wolf, Governor

Yassmin Gramian, Secretary

BULLETIN NO. 21-17

December 2021

SPECIAL EDITION

Short Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs)

Earlier this year, PennDOT became aware that registration plates were issued to some vehicles that did not conform to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS). A number of these vehicles are commonly referred to as mini-trucks. It is important that PennDOT make customers aware that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) does not endorse the use of mini-trucks on public highways as these vehicles are not manufactured to meet U.S. safety standards.

Therefore, PennDOT will send customers who had their mini-trucks titled for on-road a letter informing them of this information as well as providing them with three transfer options. Customers will also be made aware that they have the option to maintain their current title for the duration of their ownership of the vehicle; but, in the event they decide to sell or transfer the vehicle to another owner, the new owner will not be permitted to title the vehicle in Pennsylvania outside of the three options listed below.

Dependent upon how the vehicle is currently being used, it may be transitioned from an on-road title to one of the following three options, which may save the customer time and money:

- 1. Off Road Title –PennDOT will waive the fee to complete this transfer within 60 days of the mail date of the letter received by the customer. While this title will only allow the vehicle to be operated on private property (no public roadways), it is important to point out that, if this is the primary use of this vehicle, a current costs savings of at least \$67.00 per year may be realized by the customer as there will be no registration costs moving forward. Additionally, the vehicle will not be subject to an annual vehicle safety or emission inspection. If the customer opts to make this transition, they will need to complete form MV-41 and in Block D for vehicle data correction, check the box for "Body Type" and indicate in the correct to field "ORV" for off road vehicle. The customer will also need to return their current title. Both documents should be returned to PennDOT's Special Services Unit.
- 2. Farm Exemption Pennsylvania law allows any farm vehicle used exclusively upon a farm or farms owned or operated by the owner of the vehicle to apply for a farm vehicle 2-year certificate of exemption. While these vehicles do have specific restrictions for operation on the highway, the cost for the 2-year certificate of exemption for vehicles of 10,000 pounds or less is currently \$27.00 and the vehicle will not be subject to an annual vehicle safety or emission inspection. This exemption must be renewed every two years. For more information on these restrictions and this type of exemption, the customer may visit: https://www.dmv.pa.gov/VEHICLE-SERVICES/Farm-Vehicles/Pages/Titling-Registration-and-Exemption.aspx. To apply for the farm vehicle 2-year exemption, form MV-77A should be completed and returned to PennDOT's Special Services Unit along with the appropriate fee.

3. Antique Registration – The age of these vehicle is 25 years or older, if used for occasional transportation needs, and is not used to transport people or property for commercial purposes, the vehicle may qualify for an antique registration. Should the customer elect to transition the vehicle's registration to antique, PennDOT will waive the title fee to complete this transaction within 60 days of the mail date of the letter sent to the customer. This type of registration is considered a permanent registration and while the one-time antique registration fee of \$84.00 plus \$5.00 fee for local use (if applicable) will still apply, the registration will not need to be renewed moving forward. Antique vehicles are not subject to the annual vehicle safety inspection or emissions inspection. If the customer is interested in making this transition, form MV-11 should be completed and returned to PennDOT's Special Services Unit along with the appropriate fee.

Customer's wishing to transition their mini-truck to one of the above three options, should complete the appropriate form, attach any applicable fee, attach the current title if applicable, and return their packet to PennDOT's Special Services Unit at:

Department of Transportation Bureau of Motor Vehicles Special Services Unit P.O. Box 69007 Harrisburg, PA 17106-9007

Customers not wishing to transition their title should continue to follow the annual vehicle registration, vehicle safety inspection, and emission inspection requirements dictated by their vehicle title type and county of residence.