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Labor Law Enforcement

Prevailing Wage Minimum Wage Child Labor Wage Payment

Apprenticeship 
and Training Seasonal Farm Medical Pay Personnel File Industrial 

Homework

Equal Pay
Prohibition of Excessive 

Overtime in Health Care (Act 
102)

Construction Workplace 
Misclassification (Act 72) Act 75 E-Verify
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Minimum Wage and Overtime
A c t  o f  1 9 6 8 ,  P. L .  1 1 ,  N o .  5

• The Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Act, as amended in 2006, 
establishes a fixed Minimum Wage and Overtime Rate for 
employees in Pennsylvania. It also sets forth compliance-
related duties for the Department of Labor & Industry and for 
employers.

• In addition, the Minimum Wage Act provides penalties for 
noncompliance.
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Overtime Exemptions
• There are categories that qualify for an 

overtime exemption. When coupled with the 
salary dollar amount threshold, there are no 
limits to the number of hours these employees 
work so as long as the salary is being paid 
consistently.

• Executives, administrative, and professionals
• This is currently enforced by the federal United 

States Department of Labor
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Tipped Employees
A t ipped employee  works  in  an  
occupat ion  that  ‘customar i ly  and 
regular ly ’  rece ives  t ips

• The MWL regulations set the amount per 
month that someone must receive to be 
considered a tipped worker

• Some examples: Hospitality, catering, 
restaurants, bartending, salon workers
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Minimum Wage 
Regulation Changes
T h e  n e w  re g u l a t i o n  c l a r i f i e s  t h a t  a n  
e m p l o y e r  c a n  o n l y  t a ke  a  t i p  c re d i t  
fo r  e m p l o y e e s  t h a t  m a ke  $ 1 3 5  p e r  
m o n t h  i n  t i p s .

• Under federal law and previous PA law, the 
rate was $30 a month.

• Since $135 is a higher standard than federal 
threshold, the PA requirement will apply.
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How the Tipped Wage Works
A n  e m p l o y e r  n e e d s  t o  e n s u re  t h a t  a l l  e m p l o y e e s  
re c e i ve  t h e  Pe n n sy l va n i a  m i n i m u m  w a g e ,  
c u r re n t l y  $ 7 . 2 5  a n  h o u r.

• If an employees does not meet the definition of a tipped worker and does not receive 
$135 per month in tips, the worker does not qualify for the reduced $2.83 an hour 
minimum wage.

80/20 Rule
• PA now better aligns with federal regulation on tipped worker duties
• The long-followed standard of the 80/20 rule is now a regulation in Pennsylvania
Regulation permits employees to be a tipped employee as long as that employee does not spend more than 
20% of the 7-day previously established workweek performing duties that do not directly generate tips.
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Example 1
S a l l y  i s  a  s e r ve r  a t  a  re s t a u ra n t .  S h e  
n o r m a l l y  w o r k s  a b o u t  3 5  h o u rs  p e r  
w o r k  w e e k ,  o r  5  h o u rs  a  d ay.

• For the previous four weeks, the kitchen staff has 
been short. Sally has been working up to 2 hours daily 
doing dishes, helping prep cooks prepare meals, and 
cleaning facilities. She was doing her server duties for 
the other 3 hours. 

• By week’s end, she has worked 21 hours doing server 
duties and 14 hours doing kitchen duties.

• Since she has worked 40% of the workweek doing 
non-server duties, Sally must be paid $7.25 for all 
hours worked.
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Example 2
B o b  i s  a  b a r t e n d e r.  H e  h a s  b e e n  
w o r k i n g  a ro u n d  4 0  h o u rs  a  w e e k  
b u t  h a s  b e e n  t o l d  t h a t  h e  n e e d s  
t o  c l e a n  fa c i l i t i e s  a n d  m o p  t h e  
k i t c h e n  f l o o r  fo r  t h e  f i n a l  h a l f  
h o u r  e a c h  w o r kd ay.

• By week’s end, Bob will have worked 3.5 hours 
doing non tipped work.

• That constitutes 8% of Bob’s workweek performing 
non-tipped duties, therefore Bob can still be paid 
$2.83 so as long as he meets other qualifications of 
a tipped employee as previously defined
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Credit Card Deductions
C re d i t  c a rd  t i p  d e d u c t i o n s  a re a  c o m m o n  
o c c u r re n c e  i n  t h e  h o s p i t a l i t y  i n d u s t r y

• Occur when an employer deducts the credit card 
transaction fee percentage from a tip

• For example, if a server receives a $20 tip on a credit 
card, and the fee to the card company is 2%, the 
employer charges the employee $.40.

Under the new regulation, this is not legal 
under the Minimum Wage Act.
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Service Charges
• Sometimes, a hospitality business will add a 

“service charge” to a bill.
• These service charges are not tips, sometimes 

they are used for administrative purposes and in 
some cases do not even go to the employee.

The US DOL has previously stated that employers cannot use revenue 
derived from service charges to pay tips to employees.
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Service Charges Now 
Regulated
Pe n n sy l va n i a ' s  n e w  re g u l a t i o n  c o m p e l s  a n  
e m p l o y e r  t h a t  c h a rg e s  fo r  a d m i n i s t ra t i o n  o f  
a  b a n q u e t ,  s p e c i a l  f u n c t i o n ,  o r  p a c ka g e  d e a l  
s h a l l  n o t i f y  p a t ro n s  o f  t h e  c h a rg e  b y  
p ro v i d i n g  n o t i c e :
• In a statement or contract with patron and on a menu to the patron

• The notice must state that the charge is for administration and does 
not include a tip to be distributed to employee

• The bill must contain separate line item for tips
• Employer may distribute service charges to workers but not in the 

form of a tip.

BLLC: Updated Regulations 12



Tip Pooling
• Tip pooling is not a requirement, but an employer may utilize it as policy

• Employers need to notify tipped workers of tip pooling arrangement at establishment

• Tip pools can include both traditionally tipped and non-tipped occupations, with some 
exclusions.

W h o  M u s t  B e  E xc l u d e d  f r o m  a  T i p  Po o l :
 • Individuals with ownership or partnership interest in the business.

• Employees who meet any part of the executive employee duties test in federal code 29 C.F.R. Part 541.100 
(2)-(4).

• If an employer takes a tip credit, it must exclude any employee who does not spend at least 80% of their 
daily work performing duties that customarily or regularly generate tips.
• If employer pays everyone in the tip pool the minimum wage, it may include employees who do not 

spend at least 80% of their daily work performing duties that customarily or regularly general tips.
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PA Regulation
Changes
I R R C  A p p ro v e d  P ro p o s e d  Re g u l a t i o n s

• Published May 7, 2022
• Effective August 5, 2022
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Find More 
Information
V i s i t  o u r  U p d a t e d  R u l e s  
w e b p a g e  t o  f i n d :
• FAQs
• Updated Information 
• New Posters
All labor law posters, including new minimum 
wage and overtime publications are available 
for free on our Mandatory Postings page. 
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https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/Pages/Overtime-Rules.aspx
https://www.dli.pa.gov/Pages/Mandatory-Postings.aspx


Complaints & Investigations
• Minimum Wage cases trigger company wide audit.
• If workers are paid, cases are closed, and workers receive 

back wages.
• If employer does not pay, court action including claims 

before Magisterial District Judges or higher courts will 
occur.
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District Offices
Altoona District Office
1130 12th Avenue, Suite 200 
Altoona, PA  16601
814-940-6224 or
1-877-792-8198

Philadelphia District Office
110 North 8th Street, Suite 203
Philadelphia, PA  19107
215-560-1858 or 
1-877-817-9497

Scranton District Office
201 B State Office Building 100
Lackawanna Avenue
Scranton, PA  18503
570-963-4577
or 1-877-214-3962

Harrisburg District Office
1301 Labor & Industry Building
651 Boas Street
Harrisburg, PA  17121
717-787-4671 or 1-800-932-0665

Pittsburgh District Office
301 5th Avenue, Suite 350
Pittsburgh, PA  15222
412-565-5300 or 
1-877-504-8354
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Contact Us
Bureau of Labor Law Compliance

1-800-932-0665

RA-LI-SLMR-LLC@pa.gov 

www.dli.pa.gov

mailto:RA-LI-SLMR-LLC@pa.gov
http://www.dli.pa.gov/
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