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PENNSYLVANIA'S
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Effective January 22, 2013
(43 P.S. §§ 40.1-40.14)

This presentation is intended as
general information and does not
carry the force of a legal opinion.
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4STORY

1849: Pennsylvania is among first states tg address
child labor by restricting work to 10 hours per day
and 60 hours per week.

1879: Pennsylvania commenced imposing fi
employing children in dance halls, saloons, ho
of prostitution and public exhibitions such as the
circus.

1885: Pennsylvania law prohibiting boys under 14
and girls of any age from working inside a coal mine.

1887: Pennsylvania law prohibiting minors under 12
from working in coal mines, mills and factories.

1889: Office of Factory Inspection established to
monitor industrial safety and child labor violations.

Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act
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1895: Compulsory Education Act enacted
mandating that children between 8 and 13
attend school for at least four months each
year.

1915: Pennsylvania Child Act passed.
Amended in 1935.

2013: Current Child Labor Act takes effect on
January 22, 2013.




PENNSYLVANIA'S CHILD
LABOR ACT COVERS:

Age Restrictions.
Work Permits.

Employer Duties.
Work Hour Limitations for Minors.
Prohibited Occupations.

u Exceptions to the Act — Sports

Attendant Services.

Children in Entertainment.
Volunteer Emergency Service.
Enforcement.

Violations.

Penalties.



Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act

PENNSYLVANIA'S
CHILD LABOR ACT
DOES NOT COVER:

Agriculture work that is not covered under the
federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

Domestic services in or about the parent’s or
guardian’s home.

Babysitting.

Performance of minor chores in or about an
employer’s private home including lawn care,
snow shoveling, and residential chores
performed by minors on a casual or infrequent
basis.



General Rule

AGE

RESTRICTIONS

A minor must be
at least 14 years
old to legally
work in
Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act

Newspaper delivery
for minors who are at
least 11 (delivery and

street sale and not
hauling newspapers
to drop centers,
newsstands or
distribution centers)
Allowed between

5:00 am and 8:00 pm

(School vacation 9:00

pm)

Work permits not
required for minors
who are at least 16

employed in the
distribution, sale,
offering for sale of

any newspaper.

Work permits are not
required for any
minor who can show
that they are working
independently of the
newspaper publisher.




WORK PERMITS

Minors under 18 must have a wallet-
size, transferable work permit issued by
an issuing officer.

Labor & Industry sets
standards for work permits.

An issuing officer is a
public school district

superintendent, principal To obtain a work permit, minors

or secretary of the school must:

district directors.

Issuing officers may refuse to
issue or revoke a work permit
because of inadequate academic
achievement.

Issuing officers are required to
cooperate with enforcement
officers, such as Labor & Industry,
with investigation and
enforcement of the Child Labor
Act.

Submit proof of age.

Submit a written verification
from their parent or legal
guardian acknowledging their
understanding of the duties
and employment hours and
granting permission to work
(if the minor is under 16).
Appear for inspection by
issuing officer. (Virtual
appearances are allowed).
Labor & Industry issues
Entertainment Permits.



EMPLOYER’S
DUTIES

Before hiring, verify the work permit and receive the
verified statement from parent or legal guardian.

Provide notification to the issuing officer:

* Within 5 days of the beginning of employment, submit written
notification containing the minor’s normal work duties and hours,
the minor’s age and the permit number.

* Within 5 days of the minor’s final day of employment, provide
written notice that the minor is no longer employed.

Display Child Labor Act abstract poster in
conspicuous place.

Keep records at the workplace:

Copy of the minor’s work permit, the original verified
permission statement and copy of letter sent to issuing
officer announcing minor’s employment.

A list of all minors employed at the workplace.

A schedule of workhours for all minors containing the
maximum hours each minor is permitted to work on each
weekday, their weekly total, the daily hours for
commencing and stopping work and the time allowed for
meals.

Records required under Pennsylvania’s Minimum Wage Act
including accurate records of the actual days, hours and
times that minor worked including breaks.
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HOURS

General Rules:

e Minors may not work for more than 5

continuous hours without a 30-minute
break.

* A minor may not work for more than 6
consecutive days, except for newspaper
delivery.

e Aregular school week is Monday through
Friday when school is in session.

* These hour rules do not govern
entertainment permits issued by Labor &
Industry.

Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act
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Hours for 16-
and 17-year-
old

During school (including summer school):

+ Between 6:00 am and 12:00 am.
* Eight hours maximum per day.
« 28 hour maximum per regular school week.

Vacations

«  May be employed until 1:00 am.
* 10 hours maximum per day.

* 48 hours maximum per week but minor must agree
to hours exceeding 44 hours.

« School vacation includes Saturdays and Sundays if a
vacation day precedes a Saturday or follows a
Sunday.

Camp counselors, counselor-in-training or junior counselor
during school vacations by a summer resident camp or a
conference or retreat operated by a religious or scout or
organization shall receive a 24-hour consecutive rest
period every 7 days. This does not apply to general
maintenance work or food service.

These hour restrictions do not apply to sports attendants
under Section 6 of the Child Labor Act.

These restrictions do not apply to minors who graduated
high school or who are exempt from public school
attendance because they are regularly engaged in any
useful and lawful employment or service during the time
public school is in session and who holds an employment
certificate.
11



HOURS for
14-and 15-year-olds:

During school year (including
summer school):

« Between 7:.00 am and 7:00 pm.

*  Three hours maximum on
school days.

* Eight hours maximum on
Saturday and Sunday.

* 18 hours maximum for the
regular Monday - Friday school
week (including summer
school).

School Vacations:

« Between 7:00 am and 9:00

pm.

* Eight- hour daily maximum.

* 40 hours maximum per week.

* School vacation includes

Saturdays and Sundays if a
vacation day precedes a
Saturday or follows a Sunday.

Exceptions:

May be employed until
10:00 pm on a farm by a
non-farmer in the hatching,
raising or harvesting of
poultry if the agricultural
occupation is not deemed
hazardous by the U.S.
Department of Labor.
Separate rules for
newspaper and periodical
delivery.

Employment is part of a
recognized school-work
program supervised by a
recognized school authority
if the work hours plus
school hours do not exceed
eight hours per day.

Work hours do not apply to
minors who provide sports-
attendant services under
Section 6 of the Child Labor
Act.

12



PROHIBITED
OCCUPATIONS

Any occupation or establishment designated as
hazardous and otherwise prohibited under the
federal Fair Labor Standards Act and its regulations
or the Pennsylvania Child Labor Act and its
regulations.

Violate the Child Labor Act's restrictions governing
its entertainment permits. (43 P.S. § 40.5)

At an establishment serving alcohol.
Exceptions to alcohol restrictions:

A minor who is at least 16 may work in part of

the establishment where alcohol is not served.

A minor at least 16 may serve food and clear
tables in a hotel, club or restaurant that has a
PLCB Sunday liquor license. Minor may not
dispense or serve alcoholic beverages.

A minor under 16 may work at a ski resort,
bowling alley, golf course, amusement park or
recreational establishment if the minor is not
working an area where alcohol is located or
served.

Students receiving instruction in a performing
art to perform an exhibition of the student is
not compensated and is under proper
supervision.

Labor & Industry website:

https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-

Relations/llc/Documents/child labor law prohibitions.pdf



https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/Documents/child_labor_law_prohibitions.pdf
https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/Documents/child_labor_law_prohibitions.pdf

MORE
PROHIBITED
OCCUPATIONS

1

N

’-'-—-—-
All ages: ’a‘
* Pilot, fireman or engineer upon a boat or
vessel.

 On arailroad or railway as a track repairman,
gate-tender, switch-tender brakeman,
fireman, engineer, motorman or conductor.

* In the manufacture of paint, color or white-
lead, poisonous dyes or compositions using
dangerous leads or acids.

Minors under 16 may not engage in youth peddling:

* Selling goods and services to customers
other than minor-employer’s
establishment such as customer
residences or place of business or public

places such and street corners and public
transportation stations.

Minors under 16 may not:

* Strip or sort tobacco.
*  Work on a scaffold.

e Workin a tunnel.

14



Sports Attendant
Services

Special exemption from Pennsylvania’s hour and
time restrictions.

Applies to minors employed to perform sport-
attendant services at professional sporting events:

 Pregame and postgame or practice setup of
balls, items and equipment.

* Supplying and retrieving balls, items and
equipment during a sporting event.

» Clearing the field or court of debris and
moisture during play.

» Providing ice, drinks, and towels to players
during play.

* Running errands for trainers, managers,
coaches and players before, during and after
a sporting event.

* Returning or storing balls, items and
equipment in clubhouse or locker rooms
after a sporting event.

Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act
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E NTE RTAI N M E NT Issued and enforced only by Labor & Industry:

« Section 5 of the Pennsylvania Child Labor Act
P E R M ITS contains extensive requirements, restrictions and
prohibitions.

Governs a minor engaged in a performance:

* Rendering artistic or creative expression in a live
performance, on the radio, on television, in a
movie, over the internet, in a publication or
through any other broadcast medium that may
be transmitted to an audience and any person
receives renumeration for the performance.
Includes rehearsals.

* Reality or documentary program that expressly
depends upon the minor’s participation, their
participation is substantial, and any person
receives remuneration.

« Substantial means the minor is a principal
subject of the reality or documentary
program or the minor participates in the
reality or documentary program for 10 or
more days in a 30-day period.

* Avreality program is a genre of program
that principally presents actual events and
generally features ordinary people and not
professional actors.

Special entertainment permits governing
professional acrobatic performances.



Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act

VOLUNTEER
EMERGENCY SERVICE
ORGANIZATIONS

An individual who is at least 14 and older may
participate in training and emergency service
activities for a volunteer emergency service
organization:

A volunteer fire company.

Volunteer ambulance organization.
Volunteer rescue organization.

Volunteer forest firefighting organization.

Volunteer organization of emergency
service personnel who are expected to
respond to medical emergencies or large-
scale disasters.

17



GENERAL PROHBITIONS
Volunteer Emergency
Services

All minors under 18 may not:

Operate a truck, ambulance or other
emergency vehicles.

Operate an aerial ladder, aerial platform or
hydraulic jack.

Use rubber electric gloves, insulated wire
gloves, insulated wire cutters, life nets or
acetylene cutting units.

Operate the pump of a fire vehicle while at the
scene of the fire.

Engage in forest fighting and forest fire
prevention. (Fair Labor Standards Act
Regulation, 29 CFR § 57.54(a)).

Enter a burning structure under any
circumstance including a training exercise,
except as allowed under Act 155 (effective Jan.
4, 2023).

Act 155:

Allows junior firefighters who are at least 17 on
the first day of class to participate in an interior
firefighting module with live burns.

Requires permission from the fire chief and the
minor’'s parent or guardian.

Requires supervision of a credentialed
Pennsylvania State Fire Academy Instructor.

This Act 155 exception does not apply to any

other firefighting training. 1



14- and 15-year-old
Emergency Volunteers

May engage in the

following:
* Training.
*  First Aid.

* Cleanup services at the scene
of the fire, outside the
structure and after the fire
was declared under control by
the fire official in charge.

May not engage in the
following:

Firefighting activities.
Operate high pressure hose
lines except during training
exercises. This is any water
hose used for fire suppression
with a pressure greater than
100 psi and any hydraulic
hose use for rescuer tools
with a pressure greater than
1,000 psi.

Ascend ladders except during

training exercises. 19



A minor who is at least 16 may continue serving in

H o u rs fo r answer to a fire call until excused by the individual

acting as chief of the fire company if

VOI u ntee r * The minor is a member of a fire company.
° ° e Answers a fire call while lawfully employed, and;
Firefighters

The call was received before midnight during a school
week or 1:00 am during vacations.

A minor who is 14 or 15 may engage in
permitted training or firefighting
activities until 10:00 pm before a school
day if the minor:

* Isa member of a volunteer fire company, and,

« Has the written consent of their parent or legal
guardian.

20




ENFORCEMENT

The Bureau of Labor
Law Compliance
investigates alleged
violations and
compliance with
Pennsylvania’s Child
Labor Act:

Investigative subpoenas.
Entering and inspecting an
establishment at any
reasonable time to ascertain
working conditions.
Interviewing workers.
Inspecting and obtaining
copies of any records,
documents or information
inany medium.
Prosecuting alleged
violations.

Other Enforcement Officers:

Chief school
administrator.
School attendance
officer.

Issuing officer.
Law Enforcement.

21



ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS

If an enforcement officer has reason to believe
that a minor is working without a permit or

engaged in work that violates the Child Labor
Act’s age restrictions, the enforcement officer:

* Shall demand that the employer furnish proof
of age within 10 days.

« Demand, within 10 days, that the employer
cease permitting or employing the minor.

A person’s failure to comply with either of these
demands constitutes, on its face, evidence of a
Child Labor Act violation.

22
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Child Labor Act Violations

* Violating any provision of the Child Labor
Act.

* Interfering with enforcement officer’s
duties.

« Compelling or allowing a minor to violate
the Child Labor Act.

« Failure to provide records to Labor &
Industry.

 Falsification of records.

Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act 23



Penalties:

Administrative Penalties:
« Up to $5,000 per violation.

« Order corrective action necessary to
address the violation.

 Right to hearing before neutral hearing
examiner and appeal to Commonwealth
Court.

Criminal Penalties:

« A $500 fine per violation for the first
conviction.

« A $1,500 fine and/or 10 days imprisonment
for subsequent convictions.

Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act
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Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, Bureau
of Labor Law Compliance:

Altoona Regional Office:

1130 Twelfth Avenue, Suite 200

Altoona, PA 16601-3486

Telephone: 1-877-792-3486 or 814-940-6225

Harrisburg Regional Office:

1301 L&l Building

651 Boas Street

Harrisburg, PA17120-0019

Telephone: 717-787-4671 or 1-800-932-0665

Philadelphia Regional Office:
110 North 8th Street, Suite 203
Philadelphia, PA 19130-4064
Telephone: 215-560-1858

Pittsburgh Regional Office:

301 5th Avenue

Room 350

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Telephone: 1-877-504-8354 or 412-565-5300

Scranton Regional Office:

201-B State Office Building

100 Lackawanna Avenue

Scranton, PA 18503-1923

Telephone: 570-963-4577 or 1-877-214-3962

Pennsylvania’s Child Labor Act 25




Pennsylvania Child Labor Act

Bureau of Labor Law Compliance
Website:
https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/

Labor-Management-
Relations/lic/child-
labor/Pages/default.aspx

Child Labor Act information.

Prohibited occupations.

Complaint forms.

Other laws and information on Pennsylvania’s labor
standards.

Pennsylvania State Fire Commissioner:

https://www.osfc.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Pennsylvania Department of Education:

https://www.education.pa.gov/Pages/Codes
%20and%20Regulations/Child-Labor-

Law.aspx

26


https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/child-labor/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/child-labor/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/child-labor/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/child-labor/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.osfc.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Pages/Codes%20and%20Regulations/Child-Labor-Law.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Pages/Codes%20and%20Regulations/Child-Labor-Law.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Pages/Codes%20and%20Regulations/Child-Labor-Law.aspx

	Slide 1: PENNSYLVANIA’S CHILD LABOR ACT  Effective January 22, 2013 (43 P.S. §§ 40.1-40.14)
	Slide 2: Agenda
	Slide 3: HISTORY 1849:  Pennsylvania is among first states to address child labor by restricting work to 10 hours per day and 60 hours per week.     1879:  Pennsylvania commenced imposing fines for employing children in dance halls, saloons, houses of pro
	Slide 4: 1895:  Compulsory Education Act enacted mandating that children between 8 and 13 attend school for at least four months each year.    1915:  Pennsylvania Child Act passed. Amended in 1935.  2013:  Current Child Labor Act takes effect on January 2
	Slide 5: PENNSYLVANIA’S CHILD LABOR ACT COVERS:   Age Restrictions. Work Permits. Employer Duties. Work Hour Limitations for Minors. Prohibited Occupations. Exceptions to the Act – Sports Attendant Services.  Children in Entertainment. Volunteer Emergency
	Slide 6: PENNSYLVANIA’S CHILD LABOR ACT DOES NOT COVER:
	Slide 7: AGE  RESTRICTIONS   
	Slide 8: WORK PERMITS  Minors under 18 must have a wallet-size, transferable work permit issued by an issuing officer.   
	Slide 9: EMPLOYER’S  DUTIES
	Slide 10: HOURS  General Rules:
	Slide 11: Hours for 16- and 17-year- old
	Slide 12: HOURS for 14-and 15-year-olds:
	Slide 13: PROHIBITED  OCCUPATIONS
	Slide 14: MORE PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS 
	Slide 15: Sports Attendant Services 
	Slide 16: ENTERTAINMENT PERMITS
	Slide 17: VOLUNTEER EMERGENCY SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS
	Slide 18: GENERAL PROHBITIONS Volunteer Emergency Services 
	Slide 19: 14- and 15-year-old Emergency Volunteers 
	Slide 20: Hours for Volunteer Firefighters
	Slide 21: ENFORCEMENT
	Slide 22: ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS 
	Slide 23: Child Labor Act Violations
	Slide 24: Penalties:
	Slide 25: Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, Bureau of Labor Law Compliance:   Altoona Regional Office: 1130 Twelfth Avenue, Suite 200 Altoona, PA 16601-3486 Telephone: 1-877-792-3486 or 814-940-6225  Harrisburg Regional Office: 1301 L&I Buildin
	Slide 26: Bureau of Labor Law Compliance Website: https://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Labor-Management-Relations/llc/child-labor/Pages/default.aspx 

